中文

PhD: Using terahertz waves to inspect solid-state battery electrolytes for scalable manufacturing

Project 2682 · University of Warwick · School of Engineering

Application workspace

Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.

Country or region
United Kingdom
Application deadline
2026-12-01 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Funding
Home-fee-status students only; full tuition, current UKRI-rate tax-free stipend (£21,805/year for 3.5 years full-time) and £5,000 RTSG. 2027/28 rates and personal eligibility need confirmation.

The research opportunity

This PhD will develop terahertz (THz) spectroscopy to characterise solid-state battery electrolytes and extend measurements from laboratory samples towards product-scale materials. The work focuses on manufacturing metrology: electrolyte microstructure affects transport, mechanical integrity and performance, while production needs faster ways to identify non-uniformity.

Research aims and methods

The project describes three stages: prepare and characterise conventional electrolyte materials with emerging THz spectroscopy; extend the method to product-scale samples; then add thermal control to investigate intrinsic conduction and relate microstructure to transport at longer length scales. The project description does not specify electrolyte composition, sample size or geometry, THz configuration or frequency, temperature window, calibration method, throughput target or quantitative success criteria.

A 2024 study cited for the project used THz time-domain spectroscopy (THz-TDS) and effective-medium theory to estimate density and porosity in NaSICON electrolyte pellets, with comparisons against Archimedes measurements and mercury porosimetry. This provides a method precedent; it does not establish that the PhD will use NaSICON or that product-scale inspection has been demonstrated. LiNa Energy is named as a close industry collaborator, but the project does not state whether the partner will provide samples, data, facilities, co-supervision, a placement or intellectual-property arrangements. Its current sodium-metal-chloride cells use a proprietary ceramic electrolyte; that context does not establish the PhD's material choice.

School, programme and training

The degree is awarded by the University of Warwick through its School of Engineering. The project is based at Warwick; LiNa Energy is described as an industry collaborator, not as the degree-awarding body or the student's employer. The award covers 3.5 years of full-time study. The general Warwick Engineering MPhil/PhD route describes 3–4 years full-time or up to 7 years part-time, normally with initial MPhil registration followed by a possible upgrade to PhD after satisfactory progress. Confirm the project-specific registration and upgrade plan. No dedicated training schedule or guaranteed access to particular facilities is stated.

Eligibility and application

The scholarship is restricted to applicants assessed as having Home fee status; nationality alone does not establish eligibility. The project lists a good 2:1 bachelor's degree or master's degree in Electronic Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Applied Physics, Physical Sciences or an equivalent subject. Experience in MATLAB/Python and signal processing, electromagnetics, battery technology, CAD or mechanical design is preferred, not a set of additional formal requirements.

The newer Warwick School of Engineering scholarship index lists a 1 December 2026 deadline and is dated 5 November 2026; the project detail page still shows 31 October 2026 and was last revised on 16 September. Use the later index entry as the current saved deadline record and confirm the application route and required documents. Admission and scholarship decisions are separate, and an unconditional offer is required before enrolment.

Funding and costs

The award covers full tuition, a UKRI-rate tax-free stipend currently listed as £21,805 per year for 3.5 years full-time, and a separate £5,000 Research Training Support Grant (RTSG) for research costs. Warwick's 2027/28 figures of £21,830 for the stipend and £5,258 for Home research fees are estimates, not confirmed award terms. Home fee status is assessed by Warwick. Its general living-cost estimate is about £13,632 per year, while student-visa maintenance amounts are minimum evidence requirements rather than full living budgets. Confirm the award letter, year-by-year fee and stipend coverage, Home eligibility, RTSG conditions and actual living costs before applying.

Research and application brief

Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.

Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.

Show report contents

PhD: Using terahertz waves to inspect solid-state battery electrolytes for scalable manufacturing

Quick Decision

This is a methods-led PhD in battery manufacturing metrology: it will develop terahertz (THz) spectroscopy to inspect solid-state electrolyte structure, extend measurements towards product-scale samples, and later add thermal control to connect microstructure with ion transport. It fits applicants interested in spectroscopy, materials characterisation and process quality more directly than applicants seeking a disclosed battery-cell chemistry or electrochemical-performance project. The advertised award is for Home-fee-status students only and covers tuition, a UKRI-rate tax-free stipend currently £21,805 for 3.5 years full-time, and a separate £5,000 research training support grant.

The current application deadline is 1 December 2026. Warwick’s School of Engineering scholarship index lists this project with that deadline; the entry is timestamped 5 November 2026 and the page footer says it was last revised on 5 November. The linked project page still says 31 October 2026, but its footer dates its last revision to 16 September. Use the later official index as the current deadline record. The application window is open as of the 6 November research date. Follow the index and its application instructions, and check Home-fee eligibility and the required documents before submitting. Current Warwick scholarship index · Older project detail page

The central technical uncertainty is the material and scale to be tested. A cited 2024 demonstration used THz time-domain spectroscopy (THz-TDS) on NaSICON electrolyte pellets; LiNa Energy’s current public description instead presents a proprietary ceramic electrolyte in sodium-metal-chloride cells. The project does not say whether it will study LiNa’s commercial material, NaSICON, or a broader set of conventional electrolytes. Clarify that distinction, the sample geometry and partner commitments at interview. 2024 THz electrolyte study · LiNa Energy technology

Recommendation: Promising with material uncertainties. The method-to-problem match and funding package are attractive, and the current official index lists a 1 December 2026 deadline, leaving the application window open on the 6 November research date. Home-fee assessment and the under-specified chemistry, product scale and partner access remain material conditions.

Research Problem and Doctoral Work

Solid-state electrolytes may improve battery safety and energy density, but their performance depends on microstructure, mechanical integrity and interfaces. Manufacturing also needs a fast way to detect non-uniformity as material moves from laboratory samples to larger products. The advertised project treats this as a measurement problem: THz methods could offer a non-destructive way to characterise material without relying only on slow, destructive inspection.

The disclosed work has three stages:

  1. Fabricate and characterise conventional electrolyte materials using emerging THz spectroscopy.
  2. Develop the method further for measurements on product-scale electrolytes.
  3. Add thermal control to probe intrinsic conduction and relate it to conduction at longer length scales, with the aim of linking microstructure and transport mechanisms.

LiNa Energy is named as a close collaborator. The description does not specify the electrolyte composition, sample size or geometry, THz configuration/frequency, temperature window, calibration method, long-range transport measurement, throughput target, or quantitative success criteria. It also does not state what LiNa will contribute beyond collaboration. The project should therefore be understood as proposed measurement and materials research, not as a confirmed placement or a defined test of LiNa’s current commercial cell.

What the existing papers establish

The closest direct precedent is Kiritharan et al. (2024). The authors combined THz-TDS with effective-medium theory to estimate density and porosity in NaSICON electrolyte pellets, then compared the estimates with Archimedes measurements and mercury porosimetry. This supports the feasibility of non-contact electrolyte characterisation and gives the new project a concrete baseline. It does not show that the technique already works at product scale, establishes the performance of other chemistries, or commits the PhD to NaSICON. Journal of Power Sources paper

Recent work by Dr Lin and collaborators shows method development across different materials. A 2025 study applied humidity-controlled THz-TDS to perfluorinated sulfonic-acid membranes, resolving water uptake and membrane swelling. A 2024 Nafion paper developed related measurements of water states under controlled humidity. These studies support experience with environmental control and material response, but humidity experiments on polymer membranes do not establish a thermal-control protocol for ceramic battery electrolytes. 2025 controlled-humidity study · 2024 Nafion study

A 2026 ACS Nano paper demonstrates high-throughput, contactless THz mapping of graphene conductivity during pH sensing, using spatial THz and Raman analysis. It is useful evidence of current work on mapping and throughput, but graphene sensing has a different material, measurement target and geometry. It is not proof that product-scale electrolyte inspection will meet a production-line speed or accuracy target. 2026 THz mapping paper

Battery-manufacturing reviews explain why the project’s scale-up goal matters: solid-state cells face processing, interface, contact and throughput challenges. Electro-chemo-mechanical reviews also show that microstructure, transport and mechanical stability interact. These sources strengthen the rationale for linking structure to conduction, while leaving the PhD’s specific measurements and chemistry open. Manufacturing strategies review · Electro-chemo-mechanical review · 2025 Nature Materials perspective

School, Programme and Field Context

The degree-awarding institution is the University of Warwick, through its School of Engineering. LiNa Energy is identified as an industry collaborator; the public material does not describe it as the degree-awarding body or an employer for the student. The general Warwick Engineering MPhil/PhD page describes a 3–4 year full-time route or up to 7 years part-time. It says students normally register first for an MPhil unless otherwise approved, then may upgrade to PhD subject to satisfactory progress. This scholarship itself specifies 3.5 years full-time, so confirm the exact registration and upgrade plan attached to this award. Warwick Engineering MPhil/PhD course

Warwick’s School of Engineering page reports that 93% of its complete REF 2021 submission was rated world-leading or internationally excellent; the course page also lists 6th for General Engineering in the Complete University Guide 2026. These are engineering-specific signals, with different assessment scopes. QS places Warwick =68 in the 2027 overall World University Rankings; that is an institutional ranking, not an engineering subject result. School of Engineering · Warwick research recognition · QS World University Rankings 2027

The course page describes an active research community and broad research themes spanning measurement, materials, batteries and predictive modelling. It does not promise access to every Warwick facility. THz research in Physics and battery research in WMG provide wider campus context, but the student’s allocated instruments, laboratories and cross-school access are not stated. No project-specific taught training plan is published. Warwick Ultrafast Photonics group · WMG Battery Materials and Cells group

Supervisor and Lab Assessment

Dr Hungyen Lin is an Associate Professor in Measurement and Precision Engineering. His profile describes THz and optical technologies for non-destructive sensing, imaging and characterisation of materials, devices and processes, including battery materials. His stated long-term aim is to translate laboratory measurements into quantitative tools for process monitoring and quality assurance, with industry engagement. The project’s metrology and manufacturing focus is a close match. Dr Lin’s Warwick profile

His profile also lists funded work on THz sensing of ion-exchange membranes and a prior RAEng project on electrolyte porosity. This adds relevant experience, but a previous grant does not confirm the present PhD’s equipment, samples or funding. The opportunity names LiNa Energy as a close collaborator but gives no co-supervisor, partner work package, placement, site access, intellectual-property terms or student contact schedule. Ask which of these are committed and how collaboration will be handled in practice.

Funding, Eligibility and Application

Item Published information Decision implication
Eligibility Home students only Warwick assesses Home fee status; citizenship alone does not establish it.
Academic background Good 2:1 Bachelor’s or Master’s in Electronic Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Applied Physics, Physical Sciences or equivalent Confirm the University’s equivalence decision.
Preferred experience More than one of MATLAB/Python and signal processing, electromagnetics, interest in battery technology, CAD/mechanical design is a plus These are preferred signals, not four additional hard entry requirements.
Award Full tuition, tax-free stipend currently £21,805 at the prevailing UKRI rate for 3.5 years full-time, plus £5,000 RTSG The research support grant is not living-cost income; confirm annual rates and permitted use.
Admission Full formal application; unconditional offer before enrolment Admission acceptance does not itself constitute a scholarship offer; award notification is separate.

Warwick’s 2026/27 PGR rates table lists a standard UKRI stipend of £21,805 and Home research fees of £5,238. The published 2027/28 figures—£21,830 stipend and £5,258 Home fees—are estimates rather than confirmed rates. The project says the stipend follows the prevailing UKRI rate, so ask for the year-by-year award terms and ensure the fee coverage matches the entire 3.5-year registration. PGR stipend and fee rates

Home fee status is assessed by Warwick using the information in the application. Its general guidance says this usually involves an unrestricted right to enter/remain and ordinary residence in the UK for three years before the course; eligibility pathways can differ, so nationality is not a substitute for an assessment. Warwick does not provide an advance fee assessment before an application is submitted. Home fee status guidance

For budgeting, Warwick’s general living-cost page gives an approximate £13,632 full-year estimate, last updated in October 2025. It is indicative rather than a PhD-specific budget. The university’s Student Visa guidance lists maintenance evidence of £1,171 per month through 29 November 2026 and £1,203 from 30 November, up to nine months; this is an immigration minimum, not a complete estimate of actual spending. Postgraduate researchers may apply for Warwick accommodation subject to eligibility and limited availability; current rent and availability need checking. Warwick living-cost estimate · Student Visa financial requirement · Postgraduate accommodation guidance

The general Engineering MPhil/PhD course lists a related 2:1 degree or a Master’s at merit level, IELTS 6.5 overall with no component below 6.0, and typically two academic references. Its application guidance says a concise research proposal of around 2–3 pages is generally sufficient. These are general course instructions; confirm which documents, English evidence and proposal are required for this fixed-project scholarship. Warwick Engineering MPhil/PhD application guidance

Applicant Fit and Preparation

The strongest fit is a Home-fee-status applicant with a relevant engineering or physical-sciences background who wants to work at the interface of THz instrumentation, solid-state materials and manufacturing quality. Prior experience in spectroscopy, electromagnetic measurement, materials characterisation, signal processing, ceramic processing or battery manufacturing would help make the proposed method credible. CAD or mechanical design may be useful if the project needs fixtures or larger sample geometries.

Keep the award’s formal academic threshold separate from the “plus” skills. An applicant need not claim expertise in every preferred area. A clear application could show one or two examples of measurement or modelling work, how data quality and calibration were handled, and how sample heterogeneity would affect a manufacturing measurement. If the applicant’s strongest work is in cell chemistry or electrochemistry, explain why the metrology and scale-up question is still the intended research focus.

Field Outlook and Career Context

The UK Battery Strategy sets a government vision for a globally competitive battery supply chain by 2030, while the 2026 Faraday Institution commission report stresses that investment and supply-chain growth remain conditional and calls for coordinated action and specialist workforce development. LiNa reports a Lancaster pilot manufacturing line and recent cell validation, which is relevant industry context but does not create a placement or job commitment for this PhD. UK Battery Strategy · Faraday Institution UK Gigafactory Commission · LiNa pilot-line announcement · UK batteries sector overview

If the research reaches product-scale measurement, its transferable skills could include THz instrumentation, materials characterisation, process monitoring and quality assurance for battery manufacturing. That is an inference from the research plan and sector sources. None of the sources gives a salary, a guaranteed role, a graduate-placement rate or a hiring forecast for this specific specialty. LiNa’s current technology page and 2026 update help frame possible industry context, but neither establishes the project’s material choice or sample access. LiNa current technology · LiNa 2026 technology update

Next Actions and Questions to Verify

Before Applying

  • Follow the current 1 December 2026 deadline on the School scholarship index revised 5 November. Confirm Home-fee status, admission documents and how the formal PhD application and separate scholarship decision are sequenced.
  • Request a Home fee-status assessment path and verify whether the candidate meets the scholarship’s Home-only condition.
  • Confirm the application portal, required proposal, references, transcripts, English evidence, unconditional-offer timing and separate scholarship selection process.

At Interview

  • Which electrolyte chemistries, compositions, sample geometries and product scales will be studied? Is the material LiNa’s current sodium-metal-chloride ceramic electrolyte, NaSICON or a comparison set?
  • What THz setup, frequency range, calibration, thermal-control conditions and complementary conductivity/porosity measurements are planned? What is the throughput or validation target?
  • What has LiNa agreed to provide—samples, data, co-supervision, lab/plant access, a placement or IP arrangements—and which commitments are documented?

Before Accepting an Offer

  • Obtain the formal scholarship letter confirming Home tuition coverage, the 3.5-year stipend schedule and rate changes, the £5,000 RTSG terms, registration route and any conditions.
  • Confirm whether registration starts at MPhil with an upgrade review, the expected training and progression schedule, the thesis timeline and how partner access is protected if material or facility plans change.

Evidence and Sources

Project, School and Programme

Supervisor, THz Methods and Battery Research

Funding, Costs and Sector Context

Sources

The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source

Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.

University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom

Bell Burnell Graduate Scholarship | Edinburgh PhD Nomination Route

The opportunity information describes 3.5 years of UKRI-rate stipend, full tuition contribution and research support for successful nominees. IoP makes the final decision and describes individually agreed awards, normally covering fees and living support for up to four years. Edinburgh also considers nominees for separate University-funded awards. The final funder, amount, duration, fee contribution (including international fee gap) and research grant are not guaranteed by internal nomination and must be confirmed.

2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)

University of East Anglia · United Kingdom

Mathematics PhD: p-adic group representations and arithmetic

The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, duration, tuition coverage and eligibility details are not specified; confirm the terms.

2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)

University of Birmingham · United Kingdom

PhD: How robotic metamaterial networks adapt after deployment

UK-home students only; tuition plus a UKRI-rate stipend currently £21,805/year for 42 months. International applicants need an alternative viable funding plan.

2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)