Edinburgh Physics and Astronomy PhD Scholarship for Black and Mixed-Black Heritage Applicants
Project 2671 · University of Edinburgh · School of Physics and Astronomy, College of Science and Engineering
Application workspace
Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Application deadline
- 2027-01-05 (confirm the exact time with the source)
- Funding
- Full tuition-fee contribution; 42-month tax-free stipend at UKRI rates; £4,200 research grant; international students’ own visa and NHS surcharge costs covered. The 2027/28 stipend, grant period, payment timing and reimbursement route are not specified.
The research opportunity
The University of Edinburgh’s Career Development Scholarship supports applicants of Black heritage, including the Black, Black British, Caribbean or African categories and the specified mixed or multiple backgrounds that include them. The award can support a Physics or Astrophysics PhD, but it does not define a single doctoral research question, assign a supervisor or guarantee a particular advertised project. Applicants should choose a current research area and confirm that a suitable project and supervisor are available.
The stated award includes a full tuition-fee contribution, a 42-month tax-free stipend at UKRI rates, and a £4,200 research grant. For international students, the scholarship page also says the student’s visa and NHS surcharge costs are covered. The page does not specify the 2027/28 stipend amount, whether the research grant is annual or for the full award, or when visa and surcharge costs are paid or reimbursed.
Applicants must complete two steps before the deadline for their chosen route: apply to the Physics or Astronomy PhD through the University Degree Finder, then submit the separate Career Development Scholarship eligibility form after receiving a Unique University Number. The deadlines are 5 January 2027 for Astronomy/Astrophysics and 22 January 2027 for Physics. Late applications are not accepted. Interviews are expected in February 2027; unsuccessful scholarship applicants may be considered for other School funding, but another award is not guaranteed.
The application guidance asks candidates to state their research area, likely topic and intended supervisor. Supporting documents include degree certificates and transcripts, two academic referees, and English-language evidence where applicable; references are submitted by the referees. Contact the Graduate School at GradSchool.Physics@ed.ac.uk. The source input separately names Dr Mark Williams, but does not establish his specific role in this scholarship.
Research and application brief
Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.
Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.
Show report contents
Edinburgh Physics and Astronomy PhD Scholarship for Black and Mixed-Black Heritage Applicants
Quick Decision
Recommendation label: Strong but verify fit. This is a cross-area scholarship for applicants who meet the published Black-heritage eligibility definition and are applying to a Physics or Astrophysics PhD at the University of Edinburgh. The current award page states full tuition, a 42-month tax-free stipend, £4,200 for research costs, and candidate visa and NHS surcharge costs for international students. It does not define one doctoral research question or assign a supervisor. Applicants must make a separate PhD application and complete a CDS eligibility form, both before the deadline for the chosen route: 5 January 2027 for Astronomy/Astrophysics or 22 January 2027 for Physics. The immediate decision is therefore which current research area and potential project to pursue, followed by confirmation of supervisor availability, eligibility and the two-step submission process. (Scholarship terms; application guidance)
Research Problem and Doctoral Work
This opportunity funds a category of PhD places, not a single advertised scientific project. The scholarship supports four programme routes—Astrophysics, Particle Physics, Nuclear Physics and Condensed Matter Physics—while its application guidance directs candidates to identify a research area such as Astronomy, Hard or Soft Condensed Matter, Physics Education Research, Nuclear Physics, Particle Physics Experiment or Particle Physics Theory. Those labels describe the School's breadth; they are not a list of topics guaranteed to be available to a particular award holder. (Scholarship terms; current research opportunities)
The doctoral work, methods and technical feasibility depend on the project selected through the relevant programme. The School currently lists potential projects across those research areas and says projects are normally advertised in autumn for a January deadline. The list should be checked again for the 2027/28 intake: neither the scholarship page nor the opportunity itself guarantees a specific problem, dataset, experiment, collaboration, facility or output. (PhD research opportunities)
School, Programme and Field Context
The degree-awarding institution is the University of Edinburgh. The opportunity is administered through its School of Physics and Astronomy in the College of Science and Engineering; no joint award or external degree-awarding partner is stated. Physics and most School research are based at King's Buildings, while Astronomy and Astrophysics PhD researchers are associated with the Institute for Astronomy at the nearby Royal Observatory, Edinburgh. (School contact details; School facilities and research community; Nuclear Physics PhD programme)
For research context, the School reports that in REF 2021 it ranked 4th in the UK and 1st in Scotland for research power based on the quality, scale and breadth of its research; it reports 97% of outputs rated 4*/3* and 46% rated 4*. These are School-level research indicators, not a ranking of each PhD subject, project or prospective supervisor. The School describes three institutes—Astronomy; Condensed Matter and Complex Systems; and Particle and Nuclear Physics—alongside Physics Education Research and interdisciplinary centres. (Research overview and REF summary; research institutes and centres)
The School's postgraduate page describes shared office or laboratory space within research groups, access to high-performance computing through EPCC, first-year course choices that may include Scottish Universities Physics Alliance provision, skills courses, conference participation and opportunities for some students to teach. These are School-level descriptions, not a guarantee that every resource applies to every possible topic. UKRI's doctoral-training expectations also emphasize research environment, student support, research methods and career development, but they do not specify the local content for this individual award. The scholarship funds 42 months; the formal registration duration and any difference between registration and funded months should be confirmed for the chosen route. (Facilities and research community; UKRI doctoral-training expectations)
Supervisor and Lab Assessment
The CDS page does not name a project supervisor or host laboratory. The School application form asks applicants to state their research area(s), likely topic(s) and intended supervisor(s); the School says prior contact is not required unless an applicant proposes their own topic, and not all staff are available for supervision each year. The following profiles show examples of expertise across the School, not assigned supervisors for this scholarship:
| Research area example | School profile | What the public profile indicates |
|---|---|---|
| Astronomy | Beth Biller | Direct imaging and characterization of exoplanets and brown dwarfs, survey statistics and observational/instrumentation work |
| Condensed matter | Elton Santos | Theoretical/computational condensed matter, computational materials and statistical physics |
| Experimental particle physics | Christos Leonidopoulos | ATLAS and experimental particle physics; profile also describes postgraduate data-analysis training |
A small selection of recent peer-reviewed papers illustrates the range of research rather than a promised doctoral work plan:
- Survey astronomy and machine learning: PICZL: Image-based photometric redshifts for AGN presents an image-based approach to estimating active-galactic-nucleus redshifts and evaluates how image depth and photometric uncertainty affect performance. It illustrates the data and inference demands of wide-area surveys.
- Cosmology: Euclid: Constraining linearly scale-independent modifications of gravity with the spectroscopic and photometric primary probes examines how Euclid's spectroscopic and photometric probes constrain modified gravity, including the information carried by nonlinear scales. This is a large collaboration output, not an available CDS project by itself.
- Experimental particle physics: Search for Light Long-Lived Particles in pp Collisions at 13 TeV Using Displaced Vertices in the ATLAS Inner Detector reports an ATLAS search and no significant excess over the expected background. It shows the statistical and collaborative character of this research area.
- Condensed matter: Anomalous isotope effect on mechanical properties of single atomic layer Boron Nitride reports isotope-associated differences in the measured mechanical properties of monolayer boron nitride. It is a recent example of experimental work on low-dimensional materials, not a guaranteed project.
The School's research directory and the University research-output catalogue provide more context on group breadth and ongoing activity. They cannot establish which groups will recruit for this award, supervisor capacity, or access to a particular facility; those points require confirmation against the selected 2027 project and supervisor. (Research directory; School research output catalogue)
Research Direction and Field Outlook
There is no single field frontier for this scholarship. The recent papers above show examples of work involving astronomical-survey inference, cosmological constraints, large experimental collaborations and measurements of fundamental material properties. Current School pages also identify nuclear physics, soft and hard condensed matter, astrobiology and physics education research. The scientific relevance and likely career value will depend on the topic and methods selected; the scholarship itself is not an industry placement and does not promise publications or a particular collaboration. (Current PhD research opportunities; School research directory)
For careers, UK government guidance describes physicist roles involving experiments or theory, mathematical modelling, data analysis and communication, with routes through universities, government and commercial employers. The University Careers Service offers PhD-specific support for academic and non-academic planning, CVs, applications and interviews. Institute of Physics workforce analysis indicates that physics skills are used across a broad range of jobs, but the headline growth evidence covers 2010–2020 and is historical; it should not be read as a current vacancy forecast or as outcomes for these PhD students. No CDS-specific employment or salary outcomes were found. (National Careers Service physicist profile; Edinburgh PhD Careers programme; Institute of Physics workforce evidence)
Funding, Application, and Living Cost
| Item | Published terms or reference | Scope and limitation |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 100% tuition-fee contribution | Confirm the award letter's period and any non-tuition charges |
| Stipend | Tax-free for 42 months | The award page does not publish the 2027/28 amount |
| Research costs | £4,200, including travel | The page does not state whether this is annual or total or how claims work |
| International costs | Candidate visa and NHS surcharge costs | Timing, reimbursement/cashflow and dependants are not specified |
| UKRI comparison | £21,805 minimum full-time stipend in 2026/27 | Reference only; not a confirmed 2027/28 amount |
| Edinburgh living costs | £18,504/year for a single postgraduate in 2026/27 | University estimate; excludes tuition and study costs and varies by housing |
| City cross-check | £18,552/year for a single undergraduate, full 52-week year in 2026/27 | Not PhD-specific; separate estimate with different assumptions |
The 2026/27 UKRI reference is about £3,301 above the University's postgraduate living-cost guide. This is only a rough scale comparison, not disposable-income assurance. Initial deposits, accommodation choices, travel, dependants and future inflation can change the budget; the research-cost grant is not personal living support. (UKRI studentship guidance; postgraduate living-cost estimate; undergraduate city estimate)
There are two required application steps:
- Submit the relevant University PhD application through the Degree Finder, selecting the Physics or Astrophysics route and indicating research interests. The form asks for likely topic(s) and intended supervisor(s); required supporting documents include degree certificates and transcripts, two referee contacts, and language evidence where applicable. The School says references must be submitted by referees.
- After the University application generates a Unique University Number (UUN), submit the separate CDS eligibility form. Both steps must be completed before the subject deadline. (CDS application process; School application guidance)
The current deadline is Tuesday 5 January 2027 for Astronomy/Astrophysics and Friday 22 January 2027 for Physics. The CDS page says no late applications can be accepted. Shortlisting and interviews begin in February, first offers are expected by early March, and a reserve list may be used. Applicants unsuccessful for CDS may still be considered for other School funding, but that is not a guarantee of another award. The 27 November 2026 deadline on the general funding page applies to the separate Bell-Burnell Graduate Scholarship Fund; it is not the CDS deadline. (How to apply; general funding opportunities)
One cashflow point needs written clarification: the current CDS page says candidate visa and NHS surcharge costs are covered, while the School's general application FAQ says it cannot cover offer-holders' costs before the programme starts or provide funds before full matriculation. These statements may refer to different payment routes or timing; applicants should ask whether they must pay upfront and when reimbursement or direct payment occurs. (CDS award terms; application FAQ)
Applicant Fit and Preparation
CDS eligibility is based on the published definition of Black heritage, including specified mixed or multiple backgrounds, and the School welcomes applicants from the UK and internationally. The application is self-declared through the dedicated form. The Office for National Statistics' categories help explain terms such as Black/African/Caribbean/Black British and mixed groups, but do not determine an individual CDS decision. Applicants who are unsure whether their background falls within the award definition should ask the School before relying on eligibility. (Scholarship eligibility; ONS Census 2021 ethnic-group classification)
Academic preparation is assessed separately for the chosen PhD route. The School expects applicants to connect relevant subject foundations and research skills to a research area or current project. Its 2027 Nuclear Physics page, for example, lists a UK 2:1 honours degree in Physics or an international equivalent; this should not be generalized across all programme routes. The School says multidisciplinary applications can be considered on their merits when applicants demonstrate relevant skills, and that most current PhD students did not enter with a Master's degree. English-language and document requirements vary by route and applicant history, so the relevant Degree Finder page should be checked. (Application guidance; Nuclear Physics PhD entry information)
Next Actions and Questions to Verify
Before Applying
- Choose the intended PhD route and research area, then check the current 2027 project list.
- Ask the Graduate School which projects and supervisors will consider CDS applicants and whether supervisor availability should be confirmed before submitting.
- Confirm eligibility-form evidence and the correct handling of borderline heritage categories.
- Check exact portal closing times/time zone, UUN processing time, documents, references, and route-specific academic/English requirements.
- Ask how many CDS awards are planned and which criteria the panel will use.
At Interview
- Clarify how final project/supervisor allocation works if the preferred project or academic is unavailable.
- Ask which facilities, training, collaborations and group responsibilities apply to that project.
- Confirm whether the interview is assessing CDS eligibility, academic merit, project fit, or all three.
Before Accepting an Offer
- Get the 2027/28 stipend, formal registration duration, continuation conditions and fee coverage in writing.
- Confirm whether £4,200 is annual or total, which research costs qualify, and how claims are administered.
- Clarify when visa/IHS costs are paid or reimbursed and whether applicants need to fund them before matriculation; confirm the status of dependants, relocation and deposits.
- Ask whether the initial living-cost estimate and any research travel expectations fit the actual location and project.
Evidence and Sources
Scholarship, eligibility and application
- Career Development Scholarship
- How to apply: postgraduate research
- General Funding Opportunities
- ONS Census 2021 ethnic-group classification
School, research and training
- School contact details
- Research overview and REF summary
- Research institutes, groups and centres
- PhD research opportunities
- Facilities and research community
- Nuclear Physics PhD programme
- School research output catalogue
- UKRI Statement of Expectations for Doctoral Training
Staff profiles and representative recent research
- Beth Biller staff profile
- Elton Santos staff profile
- Christos Leonidopoulos staff profile
- PICZL: Image-based photometric redshifts for AGN
- Euclid modified-gravity probes
- ATLAS search for light long-lived particles
- Boron-nitride isotope effect paper
Funding, costs and careers
Sources
The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source
Explore related doctoral opportunities
Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.
University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom
Bell Burnell Graduate Scholarship | Edinburgh PhD Nomination Route
The opportunity information describes 3.5 years of UKRI-rate stipend, full tuition contribution and research support for successful nominees. IoP makes the final decision and describes individually agreed awards, normally covering fees and living support for up to four years. Edinburgh also considers nominees for separate University-funded awards. The final funder, amount, duration, fee contribution (including international fee gap) and research grant are not guaranteed by internal nomination and must be confirmed.
2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: p-adic group representations and arithmetic
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, duration, tuition coverage and eligibility details are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: Categorification and the local Langlands correspondence
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, tuition coverage and duration are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of Birmingham · United Kingdom
PhD: How robotic metamaterial networks adapt after deployment
UK-home students only; tuition plus a UKRI-rate stipend currently £21,805/year for 42 months. International applicants need an alternative viable funding plan.
2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Imperial College London · United Kingdom
PhD: How ultraviolet exposure affects carbon-fibre composite performance
Full tuition and £23,805 annual tax-free stipend for 3.5 years; Home, EU and international applicants are eligible.
2027-01-04 (confirm the exact time with the source)