中文

Neurotoxicology PhD: Using human stem-cell models to assess environmental contaminants

Project 2630 · University of Sheffield · School of Biosciences

Application workspace

Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.

Country or region
United Kingdom
Application deadline
2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Funding
Competitive four-year Yorkshire Bioscience DTP Industrial-CASE studentship if selected; not every listed project is funded. Full awards for international applicants are very limited. The generic DTP terms specify UKRI-minimum stipend and home-rate tuition; confirm 2027/28 stipend, overseas-fee difference, research-support fees and project award in writing. Visa, health surcharge, insurance and travel are excluded.

The research opportunity

Project overview

This University of Sheffield Industrial-CASE PhD will further develop human pluripotent stem-cell (hPSC) models for identifying neurotoxic agents. The project sits at the intersection of stem-cell biology, neuroscience and toxicology, with potential applications in environmental-contaminant assessment, drug discovery and safety pharmacology. The host lab reports that it has optimized differentiation protocols for several neuron types.

Doctoral work

The researcher will develop human stem-cell-based neural models and learn methods spanning molecular and cell biology, neurophysiology and computational analysis. The project information does not specify the contaminants, neural subtypes, exposure periods, reference compounds, main readouts, validation criteria or whether the focus is developmental neurotoxicity, adult neurotoxicity or both. These points will shape the project’s scope and should be discussed with the team.

The listed team includes Prof Ivana Barbaric and Prof Walter Marcotti at Sheffield, Dr Mariangela Iovino at IQVIA Laboratories, and Dr Mari Herigstad at Sheffield Hallam University. Sheffield is the stated host; the information does not establish joint registration or degree awarding by the partners. Confirm supervisory roles, partner access and the Industrial-CASE placement plan.

Funding and application

The project is in the competitive 2027 Yorkshire Bioscience DTP round; not all listed projects are funded. The general award is four years, with a UKRI-minimum stipend and home-rate tuition. Full international awards are very limited, and overseas-fee coverage must be confirmed. The project description gives a 6 January 2027, 5 p.m. UK deadline, which is not independently shown on the saved DTP page. Check the live EOI form and the exact fee package before relying on funding.

Research and application brief

Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.

Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.

Show report contents

Neurotoxicology PhD: Using human stem-cell models to assess environmental contaminants

Quick Decision

Promising with material uncertainties. This is a four-year, industry-linked YBDTP project to strengthen human pluripotent stem-cell (hPSC) neuron models for identifying neurotoxic agents. It combines stem-cell biology, neuroscience and toxicology, with advertised training in molecular and cell biology, neurophysiology and computational analysis. Its strongest feature is the fit between Sheffield's hPSC expertise, a named neuroscience co-supervisor and an Industrial-CASE partner. The principal condition is competitive DTP selection; international applicants face very limited full-award bursaries. The project record states a 5 p.m. UK deadline on 6 January 2027, but the official DTP page reviewed confirms 2027 recruitment is open without displaying that closing time. Check the live EOI form and resolve overseas fee coverage before relying on the funding. [S01] S02 S03

The most useful early action is to email Professor Ivana Barbaric with concise questions about the target contaminants, neural subtypes, assay endpoints and validation plan, while asking the DTP to confirm the deadline and international award/fee terms.

Research Problem and Doctoral Work

What Is Unsolved and Why It Matters

The project addresses limitations of conventional animal-based neurotoxicity testing: animal studies can be costly and time-consuming, raise welfare concerns, and may not predict human responses because of species differences. hPSCs can be differentiated into varied human neural cell types, offering a way to build more human-relevant models. The advertised research will further develop protocols already optimized in the host lab to create a robust and reliable platform for identifying neurotoxic agents. Its stated application areas include environmental-contaminant testing, drug discovery and safety pharmacology. [S01]

This is a method-development PhD, not a specified screen of a named chemical set. The project record does not list the contaminants, whether the focus is developmental neurotoxicity, adult neurotoxicity or both, the exact neuron types, exposure windows, positive and negative reference compounds, or the acceptance criteria for a “robust” assay. Those omissions materially affect the scope and should be discussed before an applicant commits to the research direction.

Work, Methods, and Potential Outputs

Advertised work is to improve human stem-cell-based neural models for neurotoxic-agent identification. The researcher is expected to work at the interface of stem-cell biology, neuroscience and toxicology, learning molecular/cell-biology techniques, neurophysiology and computational analyses. The description states that the lab has optimized differentiation protocols for different neuron types, but does not identify which cell types or protocols will be prioritized in this project. [S01]

Possible research angles to discuss—not promised project deliverables—include testing how consistently candidate neuron types differentiate across lines and batches; defining cell identity and viability controls; comparing dose-response behavior against known reference chemicals; and combining molecular markers with functional neurophysiology or network readouts. Computational analyses might quantify imaging or electrophysiology data, estimate concentration-response relationships or assess classification reproducibility, but the precise analysis plan is unconfirmed.

OECD's developmental-neurotoxicity in-vitro guidance emphasizes the biological coverage and uncertainty of each assay and recommends interpreting results within a complementary battery. A single neural model should not be assumed to represent all neurodevelopmental processes or to replace animal testing in every regulatory setting. Good In Vitro Method Practices guidance likewise highlights test-system quality, controls, method performance, reporting and records. These are useful lenses for asking how this project will demonstrate repeatability, sensitivity, specificity and domain limits. S19 S20

School, Programme and Field Context

The stated host is the University of Sheffield's School of Biosciences. Sheffield is the advertised research base; Sheffield Hallam University and IQVIA Laboratories are named as collaborators/partners. The available material does not indicate joint registration or a joint degree. Treat Sheffield as the expected registration and degree-awarding institution unless the School or DTP confirms otherwise. YBDTP is a four-year regional BBSRC doctoral training route with cohort-wide data-analysis and professional-skills training. The specific PhD registration title, start date and progress milestones are not listed in the project record. [S01] S03 S05 S08

For broad institutional context, Sheffield reports 82nd globally and 14th in the UK in QS World University Rankings 2027. Its Biosciences submission ranked fourth in the UK for research quality in REF 2021, with 98% of assessed research and impact rated world-leading or internationally excellent. These are different measures: the first is a university-wide ranking and the second is a research assessment; neither predicts one student's experience or one project's performance. Sheffield's Centre for Stem Cell Biology and neuroscience environment provide relevant institutional context, but the exact resources allocated to this PhD are unconfirmed. S06 S07 S09 S10

Supervisor and Lab Assessment

Supervisor Research Directions

Professor Ivana Barbaric, the named lead supervisor, studies hPSC genetic stability, culture-acquired variants, early development and disease modelling. These topics are relevant to any assay built from differentiated stem cells because culture conditions and genomic changes can alter cell growth and lineage output. Professor Walter Marcotti contributes sensory neuroscience and physiology expertise. Dr Mari Herigstad's Sheffield Hallam profile describes work across physiology, neuroscience, cell biology and developmental biology. Dr Mariangela Iovino is listed as the IQVIA Laboratories partner; the public sources reviewed do not establish her exact technical role or the placement arrangement. S11 S12 S13

Recent Important Publications

The Sheffield team's recent work offers relevant methods and quality-control precedents:

  • In a 2024 Nature Communications study, Barbaric and collaborators differentiated hESCs through neural-crest and sympathoadrenal lineages and used single-cell transcriptome/epigenome analyses to show how chromosomal gains and MYCN alter lineage specification. This demonstrates neural-lineage model and molecular-state analysis capability; it is a cancer-development study, not a toxicity validation. S14
  • A 2024 Stem Cell Reports study analyzed over 23,000 hPSC cultures from more than 1,500 lines and linked 1q gain to feeder-free culture conditions, with experiments implicating MDM4. For the proposed platform, this makes passage history and genomic quality-control important questions, because cell-state drift could confound toxicity responses. S15
  • A 2023 study reported that the recurrent isochromosome 20q abnormality can interrupt germ-layer differentiation, reinforcing the need to establish how starting lines and differentiation performance will be monitored. S16
  • Barbaric also coauthored 2023 ISSCR standards for human stem-cell research and a 2022 protocol on the sensitivity of SNP arrays for hPSC genomic changes. These provide quality and reporting context, but do not reveal which procedures the project will use. S17 S18

Lab, Resources, and Collaboration Environment

Sheffield's Centre for Stem Cell Biology describes fundamental and applied pluripotent-stem-cell research and postgraduate training. The wider university environment includes Sensory Neuroscience and the Neuroscience Institute. DTP CASE students undertake a placement of at least three months with the non-academic partner instead of the standard PIPS placement; confirm how that rule applies here, including duration and location with IQVIA. The public material does not specify the project's cell line bank, electrophysiology/imaging platforms, assay-computing support, lab staffing or supervisor meeting cadence. S04 S09 S10

Funding, Application, and Living Cost

The DTP page confirms 2027 recruitment is open. It describes successful awards as four years, with a UKRI-rate tax-free stipend, research costs and tuition fees at the UK rate; its current page quotes £20,780 for 2025/26 entry, not the 2027/28 rate. Not all projects are funded. Only a very limited number of international bursaries can enable full studentships, awarded to exceptional candidates; the DTP reports over 100 applicants per available international place in 2026. Visa, Immigration Health Surcharge, insurance and travel to the UK are excluded from UKRI funding. International eligibility is therefore not a funding guarantee. S02

The project record gives a deadline of 5 p.m. UK time, Wednesday 6 January 2027; it says an applicant may submit EOIs for up to two YBDTP projects, with shortlisted interviews expected in February 2027 (date TBC) and a 10-day response window after an offer. The official page reviewed confirms applications are open but does not display that deadline. Verify the exact cutoff and form requirements before submission. [S01] S03

International applicants should resolve the fee question in writing before treating this as financially feasible. Sheffield lists 2027/28 Biosciences overseas PhD tuition between £31,870 and £46,870, with possible Research & Support Element enhancements; the Home fee is not yet confirmed. The DTP describes tuition at the UK rate while also describing limited international bursaries as enabling full studentships. The exact fee band and whether this project's bursary pays the full overseas differential and enhancements are not confirmed by the public pages reviewed. Ask for a project-specific award breakdown. S24

For 2026/27, Sheffield postgraduate 51-week accommodation with shared bathrooms costs £7,939.68–£8,839.32; en-suite options range from £9,178.47 to £9,981.72. Shared accommodation averages roughly £662–£737 a month if spread over 12 months, with utilities, contents insurance and internet included. At the published 2025/26 stipend, the monthly equivalent is about £1,732 tax-free, leaving roughly £995–£1,070 after that shared-room baseline for other living costs. This is only an illustration, not a 2027 budget: rent and stipend may change, housing is not the whole living cost, and visa/travel expenses are separate. S25 S26

Applicant Fit and Preparation

Required Background and Skills

The project record states a minimum upper-second-class honours degree (2:1) or equivalent, and welcomes applicants from biological, chemical or physical sciences or mathematics who are interested in biological questions. It does not require previous mastery of all advertised techniques; the successful researcher is expected to learn molecular/cell biology, neurophysiology and computational analysis. Sheffield's Biosciences research-degree English requirement is IELTS 6.5 overall with at least 6.0 in each component, or accepted equivalent. Check country-specific academic equivalency and any individual offer conditions. [S01] S27

Preferred Experience and Suggested Preparation

Useful evidence could include cell culture, neuronal differentiation, imaging, molecular assays, electrophysiology, chemical-exposure experiments, quantitative analysis or reproducible coding. These are preparation suggestions, not formal extra requirements stated in the project record. Applicants from quantitative or physical-science backgrounds can show how their analytical experience transfers to biological assay design; applicants with a mainly computational preference should ask how much laboratory work the PhD entails.

For the expression of interest, explain one research question you have worked on, your own contribution to experimental design and analysis, how you considered controls or reproducibility, and why human-relevant neurotoxicity interests you. Avoid claiming that NAMs universally replace animal testing; the field's guidance stresses coverage limits and evidence integration.

Next Actions and Questions to Verify

Before Applying

  1. Confirm the live EOI deadline/time, the two-project limit and required materials with the DTP.
  2. Ask Professor Barbaric which contaminants and neural cell types are in scope, whether the project targets developmental neurotoxicity, what the assay readouts are, and how “robust and reliable” will be measured.
  3. If applying internationally, request written confirmation of the bursary quota and the exact overseas fee differential, stipend, research costs and exclusions.
  4. Confirm the expected Sheffield registration/award title and the start date.

At Interview

  1. Ask which reference compounds, controls and benchmarks will be used; how many lines, differentiations and exposure windows are planned; and how variability will be assessed.
  2. Clarify the division of supervision across Sheffield, Sheffield Hallam and IQVIA, the CASE placement length/location, and access to partner facilities.
  3. Ask what computational work and neurophysiology methods will be taught, and how the four-year plan handles assay development, troubleshooting and placement time.

Before Accepting an Offer

Obtain the full award letter and a written breakdown by fee status, including any overseas differential or enhanced bench/research fee; confirm the 2027 stipend, project-cost support, visa/IHS/insurance/travel exclusions, placement obligations, progress milestones and four-year completion expectations.

Evidence and Sources

Project-specific facts below are taken from the supplied advertisement snapshot; the original URL is retained in the internal evidence files. Other entries link to the source reviewed.

Sources

The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source

Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.

University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom

Bell Burnell Graduate Scholarship | Edinburgh PhD Nomination Route

The opportunity information describes 3.5 years of UKRI-rate stipend, full tuition contribution and research support for successful nominees. IoP makes the final decision and describes individually agreed awards, normally covering fees and living support for up to four years. Edinburgh also considers nominees for separate University-funded awards. The final funder, amount, duration, fee contribution (including international fee gap) and research grant are not guaranteed by internal nomination and must be confirmed.

2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)

University of East Anglia · United Kingdom

Mathematics PhD: p-adic group representations and arithmetic

The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, duration, tuition coverage and eligibility details are not specified; confirm the terms.

2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)

University of Birmingham · United Kingdom

PhD: How robotic metamaterial networks adapt after deployment

UK-home students only; tuition plus a UKRI-rate stipend currently £21,805/year for 42 months. International applicants need an alternative viable funding plan.

2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)