Malaria Parasite Cell Biology PhD: How the apicoplast packages genomic DNA
Project 2617 · University of Sheffield · School of Biosciences
Application workspace
Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Application deadline
- 2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)
- Funding
- Competitive four-year Yorkshire Bioscience DTP studentship if selected; not all listed projects have an award. International full-award bursaries are very limited. The generic award is described at UKRI minimum-stipend and home-fee rates; confirm the project award, overseas-fee gap, research-support fees and 2027/28 terms in writing.
The research opportunity
Project overview
This Sheffield Biosciences iCASE PhD will investigate how the malaria parasite Plasmodium compacts and organizes DNA in its essential, non-photosynthetic apicoplast. The project focuses on apicoplast HU (apHU), a bacterial HU-like protein with features that may support a distinct DNA-compaction mechanism. The project description does not specify the parasite species or strain.
Doctoral work
The project description names optical tweezers and single-molecule FRET (smFRET), alongside single-particle cryo-electron microscopy (cryoEM) and NMR. These methods could probe DNA mechanics and dynamics, protein–DNA assemblies and molecular interactions, but the project information does not say that the student will use every method. It also does not specify the parasite culture, protein/DNA constructs, preliminary data, experimental sequence or division of time across techniques. The work is basic mechanistic research; downstream antimalarial development is a possible broader implication, not a promised project output.
The iCASE project names single-molecule instrumentation company Exciting Instruments as an industry collaborator and describes interaction and contribution to assay development. Confirm the company placement, tasks and training arrangements with the supervisors.
Applicant and funding
The Yorkshire Bioscience DTP accepts applicants with at least a UK 2:1 or equivalent and welcomes relevant biological, chemical, physical-science or mathematics backgrounds. Not every listed project has a funded place. If selected, the advertised DTP award is four years with a UKRI-minimum stipend, research costs and home-rate tuition. International full awards are very limited; confirm full overseas-fee and research-support coverage. The project description gives a 6 January 2027, 5 p.m. GMT deadline, which the saved official page does not independently display.
The project is hosted by the University of Sheffield. Dr Indrajit Lahiri is the project contact; Dr Matt Newton, Prof Mike Williamson and Dr Tim Craggs are also listed. Ask which methods, supervisor roles and CASE arrangements are confirmed for this project.
Research and application brief
Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.
Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.
Show report contents
Malaria Parasite Cell Biology PhD: How the apicoplast packages genomic DNA
Quick Decision
Strong but verify fit. This is a distinctive four-year University of Sheffield/Yorkshire Bioscience DTP project on how the malaria parasite Plasmodium organizes DNA inside its apicoplast. The project listing does not specify the parasite species or strain. The supplied project description names optical tweezers, single-molecule FRET (smFRET), single-particle cryoEM and NMR, with an iCASE collaboration involving Exciting Instruments and assay development. Sheffield's team has relevant current work in apicoplast structural biology, DNA mechanics and single-molecule methods. The main scientific attraction is a real mechanistic gap: a foundational study found that the apicoplast HU protein (apHU) binds and condenses DNA, but how it organizes the parasite genome in vivo remains unclear.
The official DTP pages say 2027 applications are open. The project description states a deadline of Wednesday 6 January 2027 at 17:00 UK time (GMT), which is 7 January at 01:00 China time. That exact cutoff does not appear in the accessible official application-page text, so confirm it in the live form before planning a submission. Funding is competitive, not guaranteed for every listed project. For international applicants, the limited full-award bursary and the overseas tuition difference are the largest practical risks.
This opportunity is strongest for applicants who want experimental molecular biophysics applied to parasite cell biology. Before applying, confirm that this project remains in the funded pool and check the deadline. If relevant, ask for written details of the international fee award. At interview, clarify which advertised methods are core, whether the work uses live parasites or purified components, and what the industrial placement will involve.
Research Problem and Doctoral Work
The apicoplast is a non-photosynthetic plastid retained by malaria parasites. It has its own small, circular genome and is essential for several parasite processes. A foundational study identified a nuclear-encoded HU-like protein in the P. falciparum apicoplast, showed that it associates with apicoplast DNA, and reported DNA binding and concentration-dependent stiffening, bridging, bundling and network condensation. These observations make apHU a plausible genome-packaging protein, but they do not explain the physical organization of the genome inside the organelle or how apHU affects replication, gene expression or inheritance. The foundational PfHU study
The project description frames the doctoral question as how genomic DNA is packaged in the malaria-parasite apicoplast, with apHU as the focus. It lists four methods: optical tweezers, smFRET, single-particle cryoEM and NMR. The advert also describes an iCASE collaboration with Exciting Instruments, including interaction with the company and contribution to single-molecule assay development. The DTP's general CASE description says students undertake a placement of at least three months with the non-academic partner instead of the standard PIPS placement. YBDTP project roster · YBDTP CASE placements
These techniques could address different scales of the problem: tweezers can test how force and DNA topology affect compaction; smFRET can measure conformational states and dynamics; cryoEM can resolve protein–DNA assemblies where sample size and homogeneity allow; NMR can probe smaller protein regions and binding interactions. These are method-based possibilities, not a confirmed experiment schedule. The available project description does not say whether all four methods are guaranteed, whether the student will culture parasites, what purified-protein/DNA reagents already exist, or how much work will take place with the industrial partner.
Recent apicoplast research supports the scientific context without resolving apHU packaging. A 2025 study coauthored by Lahiri and Craggs used cryoEM to capture five pre-chemistry states of the apicoplast DNA polymerase. It showed how the polymerase can accommodate a nascent base pair in an open-fingers state while retaining a checkpoint for correct Watson–Crick pairing. This is direct evidence of the team's current apicoplast structural biology, but it concerns apPol rather than HU-mediated genome compaction. Kumari et al., Nucleic Acids Research (2025)
Potential research angles include quantifying how apHU concentration, DNA topology or protein modifications affect DNA bridging and compaction; comparing dynamic single-molecule states with structural assemblies; and testing how packaging relates to replication or transcription. These remain questions to discuss with the supervisors rather than promised project deliverables. There is no evidence that the project is designed to discover a drug or produce a clinical intervention.
School, Programme and Field Context
The named host is the University of Sheffield School of Biosciences in the BBSRC Yorkshire Bioscience Doctoral Training Partnership (YBDTP). The University of Sheffield is the stated host and is located in the UK. The reviewed pages do not identify a second degree-awarding institution or say that this is a joint degree; confirm formal PhD registration and the awarding institution in the offer. University of Sheffield address · School of Biosciences PhD opportunities
For subject-level research context, Sheffield reports that REF 2021 placed its School of Biosciences fourth in the UK for research quality, with 98% of research and impact classed as world-leading or internationally excellent. This is a research assessment signal, not a PhD-programme ranking or guarantee of an individual student's experience. Sheffield Biosciences and REF 2021
YBDTP is a regional partnership across nine universities. It provides cohort-wide interdisciplinary training in bioscience, data analysis and professional skills. The project is described as iCASE; the DTP explains that CASE students undertake a placement of at least three months with the industrial partner, while standard students undertake PIPS. The project description names the University of Sheffield as the host, but formal enrolment, supervision and the partner's project responsibilities should be confirmed with the DTP and School. About YBDTP · CASE placement rules
The wider field is active across apicoplast genome replication, transcription and organelle biology. A 2024 peer-reviewed study found that PfHO, a divergent protein, associates with the apicoplast genome and supports gene expression and organelle biogenesis. A 2026 spatial-proteomics study refined the localization and composition of P. falciparum organelles. These studies reinforce the value of learning how parasite organelle genomes are managed, but neither establishes the role of apHU. WHO's 2025 malaria report documents continuing disease burden and drug-resistance challenges; that context should not be conflated with a direct therapeutic outcome from this molecular project. Blackwell et al., eLife (2024) · Chisholm et al., Nature Communications (2026) · WHO, World Malaria Report 2025
Supervisor and Lab Assessment
The advertised contacts bring together complementary expertise:
- Dr Indrajit Lahiri (School of Biosciences) studies genome replication, repair and compaction in apicomplexan parasites, particularly the apicoplast, using electron microscopy and biochemical/biophysical approaches. His 2025 apicoplast-polymerase collaboration is directly relevant to the group's organelle focus. Lahiri profile
- Dr Matt Newton works on single-molecule biophysics of DNA–protein interactions. His 2023 coauthored study combined optical tweezers with genomic assays to show how negative DNA supercoiling can change Cas9 specificity. His 2024 coauthored study on HLTF and G-quadruplexes links DNA structure to replication-fork behavior. Newton profile · Newton et al. (2023) · Bai et al. (2024)
- Dr Tim Craggs develops and applies smFRET to observe DNA and protein dynamics. A 2026 study he coauthored found that several DNA lesions produce measurable long-range FRET changes. A 2025 study used a DNA scaffold to label a structured viral RNA for smFRET, demonstrating assay-development work on a difficult nucleic-acid target. Craggs profile · Fountain et al. (2026) · Graham et al. (2025)
- Prof Mike Williamson brings protein structure/function and NMR expertise. His 2022 paper on chemical-shift perturbation shows how combined fitting of NMR data can improve binding-affinity estimates. Williamson profile · Hobbs, Drant and Williamson (2022)
The combination is academically coherent: parasite genome biology supplies the biological question, while tweezers, FRET, cryoEM and NMR can describe different physical properties. The accessible recent record is nevertheless adjacent rather than directly about apHU compaction. The foundational PfHU paper is old, and the recent apicoplast structural work centers on apPol. Ask whether there are preliminary apHU data, which methods are already established, who will supervise each method and what the fallback plan is if protein yield, sample heterogeneity or cryoEM resolution is limiting. Profiles substantiate expertise, but they do not establish formal supervision roles, instrument access or the exact share of work by each contact.
Funding, Application, and Living Cost
Award and application status
As checked on 5 November 2026, the official YBDTP application page says applications are open for 2027 entry and links to an expression-of-interest route. A successful candidate receives a four-year studentship with a tax-free stipend at the UKRI minimum, research costs and tuition at the UK rate. The DTP warns that not every listed project will be funded and that appointments are competitive. YBDTP application and funding rules · YBDTP 2027 roster
The project description states Wednesday 6 January 2027, 17:00 UK time. On that date the UK is on GMT, making the China time 7 January 2027, 01:00. The accessible official DTP page confirms that the competition is open, but does not show the precise deadline. Verify the cutoff on the live form. The current UKRI minimum for 2026–27 is £21,805 per year and the fee baseline is £5,238. These are current reference rates, not a confirmed 2027–28 award amount. UKRI studentship rates
International funding and tuition
International applicants may compete for a very limited number of full studentship bursaries at Sheffield. The DTP says these are for exceptional candidates and reports more than 100 international applicants per available place in the 2026 cycle; that is a prior-cycle signal, not a 2027 estimate. The DTP states that student visa, NHS surcharge, travel insurance and travel to the UK are excluded from UKRI funding.
Sheffield lists 2027–28 Overseas PhD fees for Biosciences at £31,870–£46,870, while Home fees for that year are still marked to be confirmed. The wide range can reflect project Research & Support Element enhancements. The DTP describes tuition at the UK rate, alongside limited full international bursaries, but does not itemize whether a particular award covers the complete overseas fee differential and any enhancement. International applicants should obtain this in writing before accepting an offer. Sheffield PGR tuition-fee lookup
Sheffield housing benchmark
Sheffield's 2026–27 postgraduate accommodation examples include shared-bathroom rooms at £155.68–£173.32 per week on a 51-week contract, a common en-suite at £195.72 per week, and a studio at £240.38 per week. The listed rent includes utilities, contents insurance and internet. Annualized, the shared-bathroom examples cost about £7,940–£8,839, the en-suite £9,982 and the studio £12,259. Against the current £21,805 stipend benchmark, rent alone leaves around £12,966–£13,865, £11,823 or £9,546 respectively for food, transport, personal expenses and other costs. These are 2026–27 prices, not quotes for 2027–28, and accommodation availability is not guaranteed. They are not a full city budget. Sheffield accommodation rents
Applicant Fit and Preparation
Required background and skills
The DTP minimum is an upper-second-class honours degree (2:1) or equivalent. Applicants may come from biological science, chemistry, physical science or mathematics and should be interested in applying their skills to biological questions. English-language evidence may be required depending on the host university and the applicant's circumstances. YBDTP eligibility
Preferred experience and suggested preparation
YBDTP values prior research, laboratory or field experience, but the reviewed rules do not make a master's degree or prior experience with every advertised instrument a universal requirement. For UK applicants, the DTP says a master's may be beneficial but is not essential. It recommends explaining career motivation, interest in the research, teamwork, independence and problem-solving; references are requested if shortlisted, and a referee familiar with research is recommended. Advice for YBDTP applicants
For this project, useful preparation would be to:
- Review the PfHU study and note what it demonstrates versus what remains unknown.
- Read the team's recent apicoplast-polymerase paper to understand the structural-biology context.
- Prepare examples of experimental troubleshooting, quantitative data analysis, protein/nucleic-acid work or method development.
- Explain why malaria parasite cell biology is compelling even though the project is not advertised as clinical or direct drug-development work.
- Ask the supervisor how the four methods relate to the student's likely first-year work.
These are application suggestions, not additional eligibility rules. Applicants with physics, chemistry or mathematics training should show curiosity about parasite biology; life-science applicants should make quantitative reasoning visible. Candidates seeking mainly clinical practice, field epidemiology or drug screening may find the advertised mechanistic scope less aligned.
Next Actions and Questions to Verify
Before applying
- Confirm the live form's closing time is 6 January 2027 at 17:00 GMT, and ask whether this specific project remains in the funded pool.
- If applying internationally, ask for the written bursary terms covering the full Overseas fee difference, any Research & Support Element enhancement and the excluded visa/travel costs.
- Check Sheffield's English-language and degree-equivalency requirements for the applicant's credential.
At interview
- Which of optical tweezers, smFRET, single-particle cryoEM and NMR are core work packages, and what is the intended sequence?
- Will the research use live Plasmodium cultures, purified apHU/DNA or both? What preliminary data, strains and constructs are ready?
- Who are the formal supervisors, how often will they meet the student, and what will Exciting Instruments contribute?
- What is the CASE placement's duration, timing and deliverable, and how will it fit the PhD milestones?
- What are the fallback plans if apHU purification, protein–DNA complex formation or cryoEM sample quality proves difficult?
Before accepting an offer
- Confirm the written stipend, tuition classification, any international fee top-up, project research budget and four-year completion requirements.
- Confirm the degree registration location, annual review/upgrade process, supervisor responsibilities and what happens if the project scope or a method changes.
Evidence and Sources
Official project, programme and application context
- YBDTP 2027 application, eligibility and funding
- YBDTP 2027 project roster
- YBDTP advice for applicants
- YBDTP overview and partner institutions
- YBDTP CASE placements
Sheffield research and fees
- University of Sheffield contact and UK location
- School of Biosciences PhD opportunities
- Biosciences REF 2021 research-quality result
- Sheffield postgraduate research tuition fees
- Sheffield 2026–27 accommodation rents
Supervisors and recent publications
- Dr Indrajit Lahiri
- Dr Matt Newton
- Dr Tim Craggs
- Prof Mike Williamson
- Kumari et al., apicoplast DNA polymerase (2025)
- Fountain et al., smFRET and DNA damage (2026)
- Graham et al., smFRET scaffold assay (2025)
- Bai et al., HLTF and G-quadruplexes (2024)
- Newton et al., DNA supercoiling and Cas9 (2023)
- Hobbs, Drant and Williamson, NMR binding analysis (2022)
Field, malaria and careers
- Ram et al., foundational PfHU DNA-organization study (2008)
- Blackwell et al., PfHO and apicoplast gene expression (2024)
- Chisholm et al., Plasmodium spatial proteome (2026)
- Toxoplasma HU and apicoplast genome inheritance
- WHO World Malaria Report 2025
- UKRI studentship guidance and current rates
- Skills England life-sciences skills assessment (2026)
Sources
The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source
Explore related doctoral opportunities
Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.
University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom
Bell Burnell Graduate Scholarship | Edinburgh PhD Nomination Route
The opportunity information describes 3.5 years of UKRI-rate stipend, full tuition contribution and research support for successful nominees. IoP makes the final decision and describes individually agreed awards, normally covering fees and living support for up to four years. Edinburgh also considers nominees for separate University-funded awards. The final funder, amount, duration, fee contribution (including international fee gap) and research grant are not guaranteed by internal nomination and must be confirmed.
2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: p-adic group representations and arithmetic
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, duration, tuition coverage and eligibility details are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: Categorification and the local Langlands correspondence
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, tuition coverage and duration are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of Birmingham · United Kingdom
PhD: How robotic metamaterial networks adapt after deployment
UK-home students only; tuition plus a UKRI-rate stipend currently £21,805/year for 42 months. International applicants need an alternative viable funding plan.
2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Imperial College London · United Kingdom
PhD: How ultraviolet exposure affects carbon-fibre composite performance
Full tuition and £23,805 annual tax-free stipend for 3.5 years; Home, EU and international applicants are eligible.
2027-01-04 (confirm the exact time with the source)