mRNA Therapeutics PhD: Analysing transcript structure and comparing lipid and polymer carriers in cell assays
Project 2616 · University of Sheffield · School of Chemical, Materials and Biological Engineering (CMBE)
Application workspace
Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Application deadline
- 2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)
- Funding
- Competitive four-year Yorkshire Bioscience DTP studentship; not every listed project is funded, and international full-award bursaries are very limited. The project description advertises an AstraZeneca stipend enhancement to about £25,000 per year and a research-lab placement, but these project-specific terms were not independently confirmed in the saved DTP evidence. Confirm award, stipend, tuition coverage and placement in writing.
The research opportunity
Project overview
This University of Sheffield PhD project aims to improve the stability and delivery of mRNA medicines using multimeric mRNAs and new delivery vectors. It combines mRNA manufacture and purification, structural analysis, formulation and cell-based functional testing. The supplied project description also advertises an AstraZeneca research-lab placement.
Doctoral work
The researcher may produce and separate higher-order mRNA species using preparative HPLC; characterize material using mass spectrometry and biophysical methods; formulate it in lipid nanoparticles (LNPs) and pH-responsive polymersomes; and assess translation, expression kinetics and immunogenicity in mammalian-cell assays. The project description does not specify the transcript sequence, intended indication, exact multimer architecture, polymer composition, LNP formulation, cell lines or success criteria. It does not describe animal or clinical studies.
Applicant profile
The project seeks a highly motivated graduate with a first-class or upper-second-class degree (or equivalent international qualification/Master’s degree) in Chemistry, Bioscience, Biochemical Engineering or a related discipline, with a strong interest in analytical science. HPLC, mass spectrometry, RNA handling, formulation or cell-assay experience may be relevant, but the project description does not present each as a separate entry requirement.
If Sheffield requires an English test for your route, CMBE’s listed benchmark is IELTS 6.5 overall with at least 6.0 in each component, or equivalent; confirm the requirement against your qualifications.
Funding and application
Applications are through the competitive 2027 Yorkshire Bioscience DTP round; not all listed projects receive funding. The DTP describes four-year awards at UKRI minimum stipend and home-fee rates, with only a very limited number of full awards for exceptional international applicants. Project materials state a 6 January 2027, 5 p.m. UK deadline and describe an AstraZeneca stipend enhancement to about £25,000 a year plus a placement. The saved generic DTP evidence does not confirm those project-specific terms, the 2027/28 stipend, or full international-fee coverage. Verify the EOI, award status, fee gap and placement details before relying on them.
The supplied project description says applicants may list up to two YBDTP projects, interviews are expected in February 2027, and successful candidates have 10 days to accept an offer. It lists Mark Dickman, Helen Colley, Frank Sobott and Eivor Örnskov as project contacts; their formal supervisory roles should be confirmed.
Research and application brief
Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.
Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.
Show report contents
mRNA Therapeutics PhD: Analysing transcript structure and comparing lipid and polymer carriers in cell assays
Quick Decision
Promising with material uncertainties. This project combines mRNA production and HPLC separation with structural analysis, formulation in lipid nanoparticles (LNPs) and pH-responsive polymersomes, and mammalian-cell assays. It is close to Professor Mark Dickman’s Sheffield work in bioseparations and mass spectrometry, and Sheffield has a related polymersome/mRNA research programme. The mix could suit someone interested in analytical chemistry, RNA bioprocessing, drug delivery and cell-based function.
The main condition is funding selection. The 2027 Yorkshire Bioscience DTP (YBDTP) is competitive, and the official DTP says not all projects will be funded. The project notice states a 5pm UK-time deadline on 6 January 2027, with interviews expected in February. It also advertises an AstraZeneca stipend enhancement to about £25,000 a year and a research-lab placement. The official DTP pages reviewed confirm the general 2027 competition, but do not confirm these project-specific terms. Treat them as claims in the supplied project description and ask for written confirmation before relying on them. YBDTP 2027 funding and eligibility
Clarify what “multimeric mRNA” means. It may refer to engineered transcript architectures, while “higher-order species” can also describe structural heterogeneity or aggregates that complicate integrity assays. A 2026 Sheffield–AstraZeneca study shows mRNA structure can create extra LC and capillary gel electrophoresis (CGE) peaks that look like integrity changes. Ask how the project distinguishes desired constructs from analytical artifacts and degradation. Recent structural-analysis study
International applicants may be considered for Sheffield, but the DTP offers only a very limited number of full bursaries for exceptional candidates and reports more than 100 applicants per international place in 2026. Generic DTP funding refers to UK-rate tuition, while Sheffield’s CMBE overseas fee range is much higher than the home-rate baseline. The award must state whether a bursary covers the full overseas fee and research-support enhancements. International DTP funding terms · Sheffield research tuition table
Research Problem and Doctoral Work
What Is Unsolved and Why It Matters
mRNA therapeutics depend on intact, correctly characterized transcripts and carriers that protect RNA and support delivery into cells. Transcript structure can affect both biological activity and measurement: higher-order folding can change chromatographic or electrophoretic behaviour, while chemical or nuclease degradation can create shorter fragments. Analytical work therefore needs orthogonal measurements linked to functional expression rather than treating a single chromatogram as a complete quality readout.
The 2026 Sheffield–AstraZeneca study by Elgohary and colleagues used biophysical methods to examine mRNA structure and LC/CGE integrity readouts; it reports that extra peaks can arise from structural features and distort apparent integrity. A 2025 Sheffield review covers LC approaches for identity, integrity, 5′ capping and poly(A)-tail quality attributes. These papers establish a relevant research base but do not define this PhD’s constructs or promise a particular result. 2026 structure and integrity paper · 2025 mRNA quality-attribute review
Work, Methods, and Potential Outputs
The supplied project description advertises five connected work areas:
- scalable mRNA synthesis and preparative separation of higher-order species using advanced HPLC;
- structural and biophysical characterization, including mass spectrometry;
- formulation with LNPs and novel pH-responsive polymersomes;
- mammalian-cell assays of translation, expression kinetics and immunogenicity; and
- a period of placement in AstraZeneca research laboratories.
One way to organize these tasks is to prepare and purify transcript material, characterize identity, integrity and structural heterogeneity, formulate matched material in candidate carriers, then compare physical stability with cell-based expression and immune readouts. This is an analytical framing, not a promised protocol. The description does not specify transcript sequence, therapeutic indication, exact multimer architecture, polymer composition, LNP recipe, cell lines, stress conditions or success criteria. It also does not advertise animal studies, clinical work or in-vivo efficacy testing.
Sheffield’s 2024 AEX-HPLC paper offers a direct methods precedent: it reports an under-six-minute workflow to monitor IVT components, mRNA production and purification, including NTP consumption and removal of process contaminants. A 2025 group paper combines partial RNase digests with LC-MS/MS and software to map mRNA sequence identity. Neither alone measures delivery performance, so the advertised cell assays matter for determining whether analytically intact transcripts remain functional. 2024 AEX-HPLC workflow · 2025 LC-MS/MS sequence mapping
Potential research questions, not defined deliverables, include:
- Which structural or process attributes predict transcript stability and cell expression across the selected constructs?
- How do LNPs and pH-responsive polymersomes compare in encapsulation, protection, release and expression under matched conditions?
- Can orthogonal LC, MS and biophysical assays distinguish full-length but structurally unusual RNA from degradation products?
- Does formulation or storage alter immune readouts independently of protein expression?
A research-use LNP protocol provides a benchmark for particle size, dispersity, zeta potential, encapsulation and in-vitro testing, but Sheffield’s exact workflow is not documented. Recent LNP literature also emphasizes biological-fluid stability and its relation to delivery performance; ask whether the PhD includes serum exposure or only formulation and cell-expression measurements. 2025 LNP formulation protocol · RNA–LNP stability in biological fluids
School, Programme and Field Context
The named host and degree-awarding institution is the University of Sheffield, in the School of Chemical, Materials and Biological Engineering (CMBE). Sheffield’s research-degree guidance includes existing projects as a PGR route and says full-time PhDs commonly run three to four years, depending on scope and funding. The DTP describes four years of funding and requires completion within that period. Sheffield’s offer sets the exact registration and fee-paying period. The regional DTP does not itself imply a joint degree: Frank Sobott is based at Leeds, while the advertised award is at Sheffield, and no joint registration is documented. The advertised AstraZeneca placement is not a degree-awarding arrangement. Sheffield PhD application guidance · Sheffield fee-paying periods
Sheffield reports 82nd in QS World University Rankings 2027 and 104th in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2027. These are overall rankings, not subject rankings for RNA therapeutics, CMBE or this research group. Sheffield’s official address confirms the university is in the UK. University rankings · University contact address
YBDTP is a regional bioscience training partnership. Its advice describes a research-oriented selection process and names industrial research, research commercialisation and science communication among graduate paths. The official 2027 DTP roster confirms that the cohort is open, but does not confirm this Sheffield project title or its AstraZeneca terms. Those project-specific details are supported only by the supplied project description; the DTP pages establish general programme rules. YBDTP applicant advice · YBDTP 2027 project and application page
If English-language evidence is required, Sheffield lists IELTS 6.5 overall with at least 6.0 in each component, or equivalent, for Chemical and Biological Engineering. The school sets academic entry requirements, and DTP eligibility does not replace Sheffield’s admissions check. Sheffield research-degree English requirements
Supervisor and Lab Assessment
Supervisor Research Directions
The project notice names Professor Mark Dickman as its main contact. Sheffield identifies him as Professor in Bioanalytical Science and Engineering in CMBE. His profile describes HPLC bioseparations, biological mass spectrometry and nucleic-acid therapeutics including mRNA, a close match for the analytical and manufacturing strands. Mark Dickman’s Sheffield profile
Other named contacts appear to offer complementary expertise, but their formal supervisory roles need confirmation:
- Professor Helen Colley is a Sheffield Professor of Tissue Engineering in Clinical Dentistry. Her group includes polymersome-mediated mRNA vaccine-delivery work. A separate active Sheffield-led BBSRC award lists Colley as PI and Dickman as co-investigator on pH-responsive polymersomes, mRNA delivery and tissue-engineered oral-mucosa assays. This is evidence of a related collaboration, not the advertised PhD’s funding award. Helen Colley’s profile · Related BBSRC research grant
- Professor Frank Sobott’s official profile is at Leeds, where he is Chair in Biomolecular Mass Spectrometry and works on native MS, ion mobility, structural biology and oligonucleotides. The supplied materials list him as a contact but do not say whether he will formally supervise, co-supervise or advise. His Leeds role does not make Leeds the degree-awarding institution. Frank Sobott’s Leeds profile
- Dr Eivor Örnskov appears in the supplied project materials and recent AstraZeneca mRNA papers. Those papers identify her with AstraZeneca’s Advanced Drug Delivery group, but do not establish her formal role on the studentship or placement.
Recent Important Publications
Elgohary et al. (2026), “Biophysical characterisation of mRNA structure and its impact on integrity analysis by liquid chromatography and capillary gel electrophoresis methods.” This Sheffield–AstraZeneca collaboration examines how higher-order structure affects LC/CGE peaks and apparent integrity. It directly informs the project’s higher-order species measurements. Caveat: several co-authors are AstraZeneca employees and Dickman disclosed a potential shareholding in another RNA company; the work remains useful evidence but should be read as a collaborative analytical study. Publication record
Webb et al. (2025), “Characterisation and analysis of mRNA critical quality attributes using liquid chromatography based methods.” This CMBE-led review maps LC/HPLC approaches to mRNA identity, integrity, capping and poly(A)-tail analysis. It provides a method framework, but is a review rather than a new comparative experiment. Open article
Welbourne et al. (2024), “Anion exchange HPLC monitoring of mRNA in vitro transcription reactions to support mRNA manufacturing process development.” The Sheffield group developed a rapid AEX-HPLC method to track IVT ingredients, mRNA production and purification. It is a concrete precedent for the project’s manufacturing and HPLC work; results are specific to the reported model and process conditions. PubMed record
Welbourne et al. (2025), “Mass spectrometry-based mRNA sequence mapping via complementary RNase digests and bespoke visualisation tools.” This study combines RNase T1/U2 digestion, LC-MS/MS and custom visualization for sequence mapping and identity testing. It illustrates the group’s MS capability, though sequence identity is distinct from formulation stability and cell potency. Open article
A related AstraZeneca paper from 2024 demonstrates stability-indicating ion-pair LC under heat, hydrolytic and nuclease stress. A 2023 multi-author review synthesizes storage and in-use stability issues. These are useful context for Örnskov’s research area, not evidence that the PhD will use the same assay or formulation. 2024 stability-indicating LC method · 2023 stability review
Lab, Resources, and Collaboration Environment
The CMBE Bioanalytical Facility lists analytical, capillary and nano-flow HPLC/UPLC systems, several MS platforms, nucleic-acid MS and RNA-therapeutics characterization. This aligns with the advertised methods. Public facility capability does not guarantee instrument time, consumables or training for this student; ask what is committed. CMBE Bioanalytical Facility
The separate Colley–Dickman BBSRC project adds evidence of Sheffield experience in polymersomes, mRNA delivery and tissue-engineered assays. Ask which team members will meet the student regularly and who will own day-to-day supervision.
Funding, Application, and Living Cost
Award and Application Conditions
The supplied project notice states a 5pm UK-time deadline on Wednesday 6 January 2027, an Expression of Interest route, the option to select up to two DTP projects, interviews expected in February, and acceptance within 10 days. Confirm the live form and exact dates. The official DTP page confirms 2027 applications are open, selection is competitive, not all projects are funded, and successful studentships run four years. YBDTP 2027 application and funding page
UKRI’s current published minimum is £21,805 for 2026/27, with a £5,238 fee level. The DTP page still displays £20,780 for 2025/26. Neither is the confirmed 2027/28 entry rate. The project notice’s approximate £25,000 AstraZeneca enhancement is separate and needs written confirmation of amount, annual increases and duration. UKRI stipend and fee rates
For CMBE, Sheffield lists 2026/27 PhD fees of £5,238–£13,238 for Home and £30,790–£38,790 for Overseas, depending on project and possible research-support enhancement. Its current lookup leaves Home 2027/28 fees to be confirmed and shows an Overseas 2027/28 range of £31,870–£39,870. DTP generic terms say tuition is covered at UK rate. Its limited international bursary may enable a full studentship, but the award letter must say whether the overseas fee difference and any enhancement are covered. Sheffield CMBE fee lookup
International Funding Limits
Sheffield is among the hosts at which YBDTP may award full international bursaries, but the number is very limited and reserved for exceptional candidates. The DTP reports over 100 applicants per international place in 2026; this is historical context, not a 2027 forecast. International students must budget separately for a visa, NHS surcharge, travel insurance and travel to the UK, which the DTP says are excluded from UKRI funding. International eligibility and exclusions
Sheffield Living-Cost Context
Sheffield estimates student accommodation at £500–£800 per month and groceries at £30–£45 per week. Its 2026/27 postgraduate rent table includes shared rooms around £155.68–£173.32 per week and city en-suites from about £179.97 per week; university rent includes utilities, internet and contents insurance. Sheffield international student cost guide · 2026/27 accommodation prices
At the 2026/27 UKRI baseline, £21,805 equals about £1,817 per month before any project enhancement. Subtracting the student rent and grocery estimates leaves roughly £822–£1,187 for other costs. This is a rough comparison, not a full budget: it excludes deposits, transport, personal spending and international arrival costs. Housing choice and the unconfirmed 2027/28 stipend matter.
Applicant Fit and Preparation
The project notice asks for a first or upper-second-class degree (or equivalent international qualification/Master’s) in chemistry, bioscience, biochemical engineering or a related field, plus strong interest in analytical science. The DTP’s general threshold is at least a 2:1 or equivalent and also welcomes physical-science or mathematics backgrounds when applicants want to use those skills on biological questions. Sheffield’s school-specific academic and English requirements remain separate. DTP eligibility and terms · Sheffield academic application guidance
The most aligned preparation would be research or lab experience in chromatography, mass spectrometry, RNA handling, biophysical characterization, formulation, cell culture or quantitative assays. These are useful evidence, not additional formal entry requirements in the notice. Applicants from adjacent disciplines can explain method transfer and how they have engaged with RNA biology and delivery.
YBDTP advises applicants to connect experience to the project, explain research motivation and career direction, and show critical thinking, problem-solving, communication, teamwork and independence. It requests references at interview stage and recommends at least one referee familiar with the applicant’s research. Prepare a concise example of a research problem, method choice, evidence limits and lessons learned; use the team’s papers to develop focused questions. Sheffield says a proposal may be requested depending on the school, so confirm whether one is needed. DTP applicant advice
Next Actions and Questions to Verify
Before Applying
- Confirm the live Expression of Interest form, exact project-choice limit and deadline.
- Ask whether this exact project has a funded place in the 2027 allocation and whether the AstraZeneca uplift is formally attached.
- Clarify “multimeric mRNA,” the target transcript, and how desired higher-order species will be distinguished from aggregation or assay artifacts.
- If applying internationally, ask whether the bursary covers the full Sheffield overseas fee, research-support enhancement and stipend. Budget separately for visa, health surcharge, insurance and travel.
- Check Sheffield academic and English requirements and whether a separate host application follows the EOI.
At Interview
- Ask how HPLC, MS and biophysical tools will be combined, and what constitutes mRNA identity, integrity and potency.
- Ask for the LNP/polymerosome comparison, storage conditions, cell models and immunogenicity assays.
- Ask who will supervise day to day, how often Leeds and AstraZeneca contacts will participate, and what instrument time is available.
- Confirm whether any in-vivo studies are planned; none are specified in the supplied notice.
Before Accepting an Offer
- Obtain written award terms with stipend and increases, funding duration, exact fee coverage, international fee-gap treatment and research-support charges.
- Confirm AstraZeneca placement duration, timing, supervision, travel support, confidentiality and intellectual-property arrangements.
- Verify registration school, degree-awarding institution, full-time status, thesis deadline, supervisor roles and consumables budget.
Evidence and Sources
Exact project methods, contacts, deadline, AstraZeneca stipend enhancement and placement are taken from the supplied project description. Official programme pages support general 2027 competition and funding rules but do not independently verify those project-specific terms.
- YBDTP 2027 funding and eligibility
- YBDTP 2027 project and application page
- YBDTP advice for applicants
- Sheffield PhD application guidance
- Sheffield research-degree English requirements
- Sheffield CMBE research tuition fees
- UKRI doctoral stipend and fee rates
- Sheffield PhD fee-paying periods
- Sheffield postgraduate accommodation rents
- Sheffield international student cost guide
- Sheffield rankings
- Sheffield contact address
- CMBE Bioanalytical Facility
- Mark Dickman’s Sheffield profile
- Helen Colley’s Sheffield profile
- Frank Sobott’s Leeds profile
- Related Sheffield-led BBSRC mRNA polymersome grant
- 2026 mRNA structure and integrity-analysis study
- 2025 mRNA quality-attribute review
- 2024 AEX-HPLC manufacturing workflow
- 2025 LC-MS/MS sequence-mapping study
- 2024 stability-indicating ion-pair LC method
- 2023 mRNA storage and in-use stability review
- 2025 mRNA LNP formulation and evaluation protocol
- 2025 RNA–LNP biological-fluid stability review
- RSC review on mRNA–LNP stability engineering
- UK Life Sciences Jobs Plan
Sources
The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source
Explore related doctoral opportunities
Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.
University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom
Bell Burnell Graduate Scholarship | Edinburgh PhD Nomination Route
The opportunity information describes 3.5 years of UKRI-rate stipend, full tuition contribution and research support for successful nominees. IoP makes the final decision and describes individually agreed awards, normally covering fees and living support for up to four years. Edinburgh also considers nominees for separate University-funded awards. The final funder, amount, duration, fee contribution (including international fee gap) and research grant are not guaranteed by internal nomination and must be confirmed.
2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: p-adic group representations and arithmetic
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, duration, tuition coverage and eligibility details are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: Categorification and the local Langlands correspondence
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, tuition coverage and duration are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of Birmingham · United Kingdom
PhD: How robotic metamaterial networks adapt after deployment
UK-home students only; tuition plus a UKRI-rate stipend currently £21,805/year for 42 months. International applicants need an alternative viable funding plan.
2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Imperial College London · United Kingdom
PhD: How ultraviolet exposure affects carbon-fibre composite performance
Full tuition and £23,805 annual tax-free stipend for 3.5 years; Home, EU and international applicants are eligible.
2027-01-04 (confirm the exact time with the source)