Oxford DPhil Project: Brain-Network Dynamics and Human Cognition
Project 2601 · University of Oxford · Department of Psychiatry
Application workspace
Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Application deadline
- 2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)
- Funding
- Project notice: Home-fee tuition, annual tax-free stipend >=£22,460, and research/conference support. Overseas students need other funding for the fee gap (cited 2027/28 gap: £25,320/year). Award duration and support terms are unconfirmed.
The research opportunity
Oxford DPhil Project: Brain-Network Dynamics and Human Cognition
Project and doctoral work
This Oxford project combines magnetoencephalography (MEG), cognitive experiments and computational methods to study how the timing and coordination of brain-network activity relate to cognition. The student will analyse large MEG datasets, characterise network interactions and state transitions, test whether these dynamics predict reaction time and accuracy in memory, perception and decision tasks, and help design new MEG experiments. Computational modelling and closed-loop experiments are optional extensions to be shaped with the student. Recurring network cycles motivate the work; reported associations do not establish causation.
Dr Mats van Es’s group is associated with the Oxford Centre for Human Brain Activity (OHBA) and the Oxford Centre for Integrative Neuroimaging (OxCIN). The notice describes training in MEG analysis, modelling, experimental design, statistics and reproducible science, and mentions imaging, neuromodulation and computing resources. Specific access, datasets and experiment plans remain to be confirmed.
Eligibility
The project notice lists at least an upper-second honours degree or equivalent and/or a relevant master’s, strong quantitative and computational skills, and electrophysiology experience such as MEG or EEG. Python is preferred; experience in experimental design, cognitive modelling or machine learning is advantageous. The Oxford DPhil in Psychiatry page separately lists a first or strong upper-second degree and does not require a master’s. Ask how the criteria apply to this project.
Dates, application and funding
The project notice gives 27 November 2026 at 12:00 UK time and an interview week beginning 14 December; the course page gives 1 December at 12:00. Prepare for the earlier date and confirm the controlling deadline, formal award title and application route. The course page lists three references, a statement of purpose of up to 500 words, a research proposal of up to 1,000 words, transcripts and a £20 application fee; confirm which materials apply to this project. Reference: 27PSYCH04WEB.
The project notice states Home-rate tuition coverage, an annual tax-free stipend of at least £22,460, and research/conference support. Overseas-fee students need other funding for the fee gap; the cited 2027/28 schedule shows a £25,320 annual difference between Home and Overseas fees. Award duration, named funder and research allowance are unconfirmed. Oxford’s 2027/28 living-cost estimate is £1,475–£2,175 per month. Supervisor contact: mats.vanes@psych.ox.ac.uk.
Research and application brief
Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.
Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.
Show report contents
Oxford DPhil Project: Brain-Network Dynamics and Human Cognition
Quick Decision
This Oxford DPhil project combines large-scale MEG analysis, cognitive experiments and computational methods to study how brain-network timing relates to memory, perception and decision-making. The advertised doctoral work includes analysing network interactions and state transitions, linking them to reaction time and accuracy, and helping design new MEG experiments. Modelling and closed-loop work are optional extensions. It may suit applicants with quantitative or Python skills and an interest in cognitive neuroscience.
The project notice gives a 27 November 2026, 12:00 UK deadline and an interview week beginning 14 December. The Oxford course page lists 1 December 2026, 12:00 UK and the formal award DPhil in Psychiatry, while the project notice calls it a “DPhil in Cognitive Neuroscience.” Prepare for the earlier date and ask which deadline, award title and application route apply. The saved materials identify the project reference as 27PSYCH04WEB but contain no Oxford-hosted page for this exact project.
The notice states a tax-free stipend of at least £22,460 per year, but tuition coverage is at the Home-fee rate. The cited 2027–28 schedule lists £36,260 Overseas and £10,940 Home fees, a £25,320 annual gap. Fee status, award duration and any additional fee support are therefore key decision points; confirm them with the department and listed supervisor.
Research Problem and Doctoral Work
What Is Unsolved and Why It Matters
Brain activity changes rapidly. A useful research question is whether the order and timing of large-scale brain-network states track what a person is doing and how well they perform, beyond average activity or static connectivity. The project description proposes studying interactions and transitions in large MEG datasets during memory, perception and decision contexts, relating those patterns to reaction time and accuracy, and helping design and conduct new MEG experiments.
This direction has a concrete recent basis: a supervisor-led study found recurring cortical-network cycles over roughly 300–1,000 milliseconds across five MEG datasets and reported associations with age, cognition and behavior (the cycle study). That supports investigating temporal organization, but the reported associations do not show that cycles cause behavioral differences. The doctoral work would need to test whether the measures are reliable, task-sensitive and behaviorally informative.
Work, Methods, and Potential Outputs
Likely work, based on the call, includes cleaning and analyzing large MEG recordings; quantifying network states, transitions or cycles; comparing cognitive contexts; and relating neural features to reaction-time and accuracy measures. The call also says the student will help design and conduct new MEG experiments. It does not specify which datasets or task paradigms are already available, the scope of new data collection, or which outcomes are primary. Depending on the candidate’s interests, the work may extend to computational modelling or closed-loop experiments in which ongoing brain activity determines the timing of task events; these extensions are optional.
Recent group papers make several methods plausible. Canonical hidden Markov model networks trained on 1,849 MEG recordings offer a way to compare dynamic network states across datasets, while requiring compatible preprocessing and source or sensor layouts (canonical M/EEG HMM networks). A separate cross-sectional analysis of 612 participants combines static measures and transient-state analyses and illustrates the need to account for head and brain covariates (age and resting-state networks). Open software supports reproducible preprocessing and modeling, including OSL-Ephys and OSL-Dynamics. These tools indicate a relevant methods environment; their use or software development is not guaranteed as a student deliverable.
A sensible proposal or interview discussion could ask whether task context changes state occupancy, transition order or cycle timing, and whether these features predict behavior beyond conventional signal or connectivity measures. The field also considers propagating wave-like motifs (review of brain states as wave-like motifs) and hierarchical generative models for linking fast activity to slower cognition (review of generative models). Network communication measures have competing assumptions and need validation (network communication review). These are active methodological questions, not evidence that the project will use each approach. An emerging TMS/EEG application is available as a preprint, but its naturalistic sample, lack of sham control and medication variation limit causal interpretation (TMS and brain-state preprint).
School, Programme and Field Context
The degree-awarding institution is the University of Oxford, and the formal course page is for the DPhil in Psychiatry. The project’s “DPhil in Cognitive Neuroscience” wording may describe its research area rather than the award title; verify this in the application system. The course is full-time, lasts 3–4 years, and lists 11 October 2027 as the start date. It describes regular research supervision, research training and staged progression through transfer and confirmation milestones (official DPhil course information). The University’s official contact page places it in Oxford, United Kingdom (University contact details).
Oxford reports first place overall in the THE World University Rankings 2027 (overall ranking statement) and first place in THE medical and health subjects 2026 (University facts and rankings). The latter is a broad subject grouping, not a psychiatry or cognitive-neuroscience-specific rank. The course page also reports application and place figures at course level; those are not a competition estimate for this individual studentship.
Supervisor and Research Environment
Supervisor Research Directions
Oxford identifies Mats van Es as a Senior Researcher in Cognitive Neuroscience, Principal Investigator and MRC Career Development Fellow at the Oxford Centre for Human Brain Activity (OHBA) (department profile). The profile describes MEG/EEG work on temporal network coordination, computational methods and recurring cycles. A college profile reports that he supervises four DPhil students and runs annual M/EEG analysis workshops (college profile). The same college has reported an MRC Career Development Award to establish an independent group on how brain activity coordinates thought (award announcement). This points to active research and training, but the co-supervisor, project allocation and current capacity should be discussed.
Lab, Resources, and Collaboration Environment
OHBA is based at Warneford Hospital and lists MEG, EEG, MRI and TMS facilities (OHBA location and facilities). Its MEG facility describes a 306-channel MEGIN Triux Neo system and 64-channel EEG equipment (MEG facility details); the centre also lists two human 3T MRI scanners, including one at OHBA (3T MRI facility). The project description mentions high-performance computing. Facility listings show local capability, but applicants should ask what MEG booking, training, operator support, MRI/TMS access and computing allocation are actually available to this project.
Funding, Application, and Living Cost
Funding and Fees
The project description states a stipend of at least £22,460 per year, tax-free, plus research and conference support. It says the award covers Home-rate fees only and that an Overseas student must fund the difference. The exact funding source, award duration and research allowance are not independently identified. UKRI currently lists a £21,805 minimum stipend for 2026–27; this is a useful current baseline, not confirmation of the project’s 2027–28 rate (UKRI studentship guidance).
Oxford’s 2027–28 fee schedule lists £10,940 Home and £36,260 Overseas for the DPhil in Psychiatry (official course fee schedule). The annual difference is £25,320. The Department describes other competitive studentships that may cover fees and living costs, but its general page does not say that this specific award has an Overseas supplement (Department scholarships and studentships). Overseas applicants should not assume another award will cover the difference.
Application Timing and Requirements
The project description’s 27 November noon cutoff is earlier than the course page’s 1 December noon deadline. It gives an interview week commencing 14 December; the course page describes a general course interview period in January. These dates may refer to project-specific and course-level processes, but applicants should request written clarification on which date governs and when references must arrive.
The course page states a first or strong upper-second degree in a relevant discipline; a prior Master’s is not required. The application asks for three references, a statement of purpose of up to 500 words and a research proposal of up to 1,000 words, along with transcripts and supporting information. It also states an application fee of £20 and sets English-language requirements; check the page for current test rules and any review of accepted test versions. Contacting the proposed supervisor before applying is encouraged. The project description lists the reference 27PSYCH04WEB; include it in any inquiry because an Oxford-hosted page for that exact project was not found.
Living-Cost Implications
Oxford’s estimate for one full-time student in 2027–28 is £1,475–£2,175 per month, or £17,700–£26,100 for 12 months (Oxford living-cost guidance). Against the stated £22,460 stipend, that leaves about £4,760 at the low estimate but a £3,640 shortfall at the high estimate. These comparisons exclude travel, visa and immigration health surcharge, and dependants; Oxford also recommends budgeting for inflation beyond 2027–28. Actual room costs and personal spending will determine where a student falls in the range.
Applicant Fit and Preparation
Required Background and Skills
The course page lists a first or strong upper-second degree in a relevant field, while the project notice welcomes applicants with at least an upper-second honours degree or equivalent and/or a relevant master’s; ask the department how these criteria apply together. The project description identifies cognitive neuroscience, psychology, neuroscience, physics, engineering or computer science backgrounds. The project seeks strong quantitative and computational skills, ideally Python, and experience with electrophysiology (MEG or EEG); experimental design, cognitive modeling and machine learning are advantageous. Confirm how the experience criterion is assessed. The course does not require a prior Master’s, and research experience can strengthen an application.
Preferred Experience and Suggested Preparation
Applicants should show how they turn a research question into a robust analysis: for example, a Python project, signal-processing work, statistical modeling or a human-participant experiment. The project seeks MEG/EEG experience; applicants with transferable skills should ask how that criterion is assessed and what training is available. A concise proposal could define one cognitive contrast, a measurable behavioral outcome and a validation strategy without assuming access to unconfirmed datasets.
The scientific challenge is to avoid treating states, cycles or network measures as self-explanatory mechanisms. An application or interview answer should distinguish prediction from association and explain how preprocessing, covariates and independent validation affect interpretation. No conclusion about any particular applicant’s likelihood of admission or suitability can be drawn from the project information alone.
Next Actions and Questions to Verify
Before Applying
- Ask the department to confirm project reference 27PSYCH04WEB, the 27 November noon cutoff, interview week and referee-submission rules.
- Confirm whether the application should use “DPhil in Psychiatry” or “DPhil in Cognitive Neuroscience.”
- Request written confirmation of the stipend amount/year, award duration, named funder and research/conference allowance.
- If Overseas fee status may apply, ask whether a fee-gap award exists and how much of the £25,320 annual difference remains unfunded.
- Confirm required versus preferred methods and the scope of the new MEG experiments described in the project notice.
At Interview
- Ask which datasets, task paradigms, participant numbers and primary behavioral outcomes are planned.
- Clarify whether work will center on HMM states, cycle measures, other models or comparisons among them.
- Ask who will co-supervise and how often meetings and lab methods training occur.
- Confirm MEG training, booking priority, operator support and any MRI/TMS or HPC allocation.
- Ask what evidence would count as a successful first-year analysis and how the project handles replication or out-of-sample validation.
Before Accepting an Offer
- Review the formal award letter for fee status, stipend duration, annual amount and conditions.
- Secure a confirmed plan for any Overseas fee gap before accepting.
- Build a personal budget from housing and visa costs, not only the low-end estimate.
- Confirm the start date, annual progression requirements, research-cost allowance and any teaching duties.
Evidence and Sources
University, Programme, and Ranking
- DPhil in Psychiatry course information
- University contact details
- Oxford overall ranking statement
- University facts and rankings
Supervisor, Lab, and Publications
- Department profile of Mats van Es
- College profile of Mats van Es
- MRC award and group announcement
- OHBA location and facilities
- MEG facility details
- 3T MRI facility
- Structured cortical network cycles
- Canonical HMM networks for M/EEG
- Age and resting-state cortical networks
- OSL-Ephys analysis toolkit
- OSL-Dynamics modeling toolkit
Field and Career Context
- TMS and brain-state preprint
- Review of brain states as wave-like motifs
- Review of generative models across time scales
- Review of brain-network communication models
- UK neurotechnology assessment
- UK life-sciences sector plan
- UK life-sciences jobs plan
Funding and Cost
Sources
The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source
Explore related doctoral opportunities
Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.
University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom
Bell Burnell Graduate Scholarship | Edinburgh PhD Nomination Route
The opportunity information describes 3.5 years of UKRI-rate stipend, full tuition contribution and research support for successful nominees. IoP makes the final decision and describes individually agreed awards, normally covering fees and living support for up to four years. Edinburgh also considers nominees for separate University-funded awards. The final funder, amount, duration, fee contribution (including international fee gap) and research grant are not guaranteed by internal nomination and must be confirmed.
2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: p-adic group representations and arithmetic
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, duration, tuition coverage and eligibility details are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: Categorification and the local Langlands correspondence
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, tuition coverage and duration are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of Birmingham · United Kingdom
PhD: How robotic metamaterial networks adapt after deployment
UK-home students only; tuition plus a UKRI-rate stipend currently £21,805/year for 42 months. International applicants need an alternative viable funding plan.
2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Imperial College London · United Kingdom
PhD: How ultraviolet exposure affects carbon-fibre composite performance
Full tuition and £23,805 annual tax-free stipend for 3.5 years; Home, EU and international applicants are eligible.
2027-01-04 (confirm the exact time with the source)