PhD in Cybersecurity: Exploring Quantum-Resilient Cryptography for Connected Vehicle Communications
Project 2597 · University of East Anglia · University of East Anglia
Application workspace
Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Application deadline
- 2027-02-24 (confirm the exact time with the source)
- Funding
- Competitive Faculty of Science studentship for UK applicants: three years of Home-rate tuition and a stipend; current institutional rate £21,805 per year, with any 2027/28 uplift subject to approval. Exact eligibility and international arrangements require confirmation.
The research opportunity
Research overview
This University of East Anglia PhD investigates post-quantum security for connected and autonomous vehicles. The work considers emerging 6G-enabled networks and the trade-offs between cryptographic security, computational overhead and latency in safety-critical communications.
Research approach
The researcher will use system modelling, simulation and algorithmic implementation to assess post-quantum cryptography under realistic vehicular conditions. Adaptive and lightweight approaches to key management, secure communication and resource-constrained platforms are part of the proposed work. Specific algorithms, test hardware, performance targets and industry partners have not been specified. The School of Computing Sciences and Cyber Intelligence and Networks group provide relevant research context; access to a particular testbed is not confirmed.
Application requirements
- Applicants need at least a UK 2:1 honours degree or equivalent in a relevant field, and a strong programming and/or networking background.
- Cybersecurity or cryptography knowledge is desirable rather than essential.
- Dr Hassan Malik is the named primary supervisor; the second supervisor and exact application materials remain to be confirmed.
Funding and dates
- The full-time Faculty of Science studentship is competitive and is advertised for UK applicants.
- It covers Home-rate fees and a stipend for three years; the current institutional annual rate is £21,805, subject to any approved 2027/28 uplift.
- The notice lists 24 February 2027 as the deadline and 1 October 2027 as the start.
- A matching university-hosted vacancy page could not be located: confirm the closing time, application route, eligibility and project reference MALIKH_U27SCI with UEA before applying.
Living costs
For budgeting context, the published 2026/27 UEA en-suite prices are £178.50–£209.50 per week on 41-week contracts; Norwich private-rent averages are for whole properties, not student rooms. Neither is a complete budget, and later prices may change.
Research and application brief
Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.
Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.
Show report contents
PhD in Cybersecurity: Exploring Quantum-Resilient Cryptography for Connected Vehicle Communications
Quick Decision
Promising with material uncertainties. This is a full-time, three-year Faculty of Science competition for a project applying post-quantum cryptography to connected-vehicle communications, with emphasis on balancing security, processing cost and latency. The call record reports a 24 February 2027 deadline and a 1 October 2027 start, but no matching official UEA vacancy page was located. It describes funding for UK applicants, home fees and a stipend; the headline “UK Students” label leaves the exact eligibility test unclear. Before preparing a full application, ask UEA to confirm reference MALIKH_U27SCI, closing time, application route, fee status and 2027/28 award terms. The named supervisor’s research profile and a completed UEA connected-vehicle security project provide relevant context, but the specific algorithms, test platform, partner and performance targets are not advertised. Supervisor profile · UEA SPARC project
Research Problem and Doctoral Work
Connected vehicles exchange safety-related messages over fast-changing networks. Future large-scale quantum computers could undermine public-key schemes used today for key establishment and signatures. Quantum-resistant replacements are available as standards, but their keys, signatures and processing costs can change the bandwidth, memory, energy and timing budgets of vehicle systems. That creates a systems problem: preserve authentication and confidentiality without missing safety-message deadlines or weakening reliability.
The call says the doctoral work will use system modelling, simulation and algorithmic implementation to evaluate PQC in dynamic, resource-constrained vehicular communications. It names trade-offs among security strength, computational overhead and communication latency, and adds adaptive or lightweight strategies for key management, platform optimization and practical integration principles. It does not name a specific algorithm, simulator, hardware target, dataset, latency threshold, safety case, certificate design or committed industry partner. Treat those as questions, not assumed deliverables.
NIST’s finalized standards provide a concrete starting point: ML-KEM is a key-encapsulation mechanism for establishing shared secrets, while ML-DSA is a digital-signature standard for authentication and integrity. NIST has also published guidance on secure KEM use. Both standards carry notices about issues to be corrected in future revisions: NIST identified an issue in FIPS 203 in November 2025 and minor issues in FIPS 204 in July 2026. A project beginning in October 2027 should confirm which revisions and implementation guidance are current then. FIPS 203 · FIPS 204 · NIST KEM guidance
The standards transition reaches into certificates and protocol ecosystems, not just cryptographic primitives. The March 2026 ITS Release 2 security specification lists ECDSA, SHA-256/SHA-384 and ECIES among its approved cryptographic algorithms. ETSI’s 2023 ITS/C-ITS quantum-safe migration study is being updated: the work programme shows an early draft seeking to identify standards updates for post-quantum signatures on certificate-authority and other top-level keys. That work item is a draft, not an adopted rule. Separately, ETSI has a general hybrid key-establishment specification that could inform migration design. These sources make certificate size, trust-chain updates, revocation, interoperability and key management plausible research issues; they do not establish that this PhD will address each one. ITS Release 2 security formats · Published ITS/C-ITS migration study · Migration-study work item · Hybrid key-establishment specification
ITU’s IMT-2030 recommendation sets a framework for future 6G development; it is not evidence that a 6G vehicular deployment already exists. UK government vehicle-security principles emphasize defense in depth, safe resilience, validation of incoming data and secure software maintenance. Both sources support evaluating a PQC design in its vehicle and network context, rather than reporting cryptographic execution time alone. ITU-R M.2160 · UK vehicle cyber-security principles
School, Programme and Field Context
The named host is the University of East Anglia in Norwich, UK. Its School of Computing Sciences sits within the Faculty of Science and describes applied computational research built on theoretical foundations, alongside collaborations with companies, research institutes and other schools. The relevant Cyber Intelligence and Networks group lists cybersecurity, cryptography, resilient networks, future networks, IoT security and quantum communication among its themes. These are subject-fit signals; they do not guarantee access to a particular vehicle testbed. School of Computing Sciences · Cyber Intelligence and Networks
The call specifies three years of full-time study. UEA’s postgraduate-research guide describes a standard three-year PhD supported by a research group and primary and secondary supervisors, but the guide is older general information. The call names only Dr Hassan Malik as primary supervisor; a project-specific second supervisor, training plan, registration requirements and formal degree-awarding arrangements are not stated. Confirm them in the official application or offer documents. UEA postgraduate-research guide · UEA institutional fact sheet
For broad context, Times Higher Education places UEA in the 301–325 overall band for World University Rankings 2027. Its profile’s latest visible Computer Science subject band is 201–250 for 2023, so it is not a current subject ranking for 2027 entry. These bands are context rather than a measure of this supervisor, lab or project. THE UEA ranking profile
Supervisor and Lab Assessment
UEA lists Dr Hassan Malik as an Associate Professor in the School of Computing Sciences, a member of Cyber Intelligence and Networks, and an academic accepting PhD students. His stated interests include wireless networking, IoT, URLLC, vehicular networks and AI for wireless networks. UEA’s SPARC record names him as principal investigator on a connected-vehicle data security project funded by Innovate UK for £19,414.17, which ran from April to July 2025 and is marked finished. This confirms relevant activity and collaborators, but not continuing funding, an available testbed or a partner commitment to this studentship. Dr Malik’s profile · SPARC project record
Recent Important Publications
- Supervisor-authored adjacent work (2026): Junaid, Malik, Algarni and Ullah combine post-quantum-protected federated learning with explainable traffic-management methods in a simulated smart-city setting. Their article uses CRYSTALS-Kyber for V2V/V2I communication, CityFlowV2 traffic data and simulated rerouting over a Los Angeles road network. It shows overlap between Malik’s transport-network work and quantum-resistant communication. Its scope differs from safety-critical V2X security: it does not demonstrate a deployed certificate/PKI flow, embedded-vehicle latency, automotive interoperability or certification. Journal article
- Adaptive KEM selection in VANETs (2025): A VTC study benchmarks candidate PQ-KEMs and proposes a lightweight model that selects a scheme based on security requirements, message size and network congestion. Its abstract reports simulated reductions in end-to-end latency and ciphertext overhead. It is close to the advertised adaptation problem, while leaving open reproducibility, safety validation and real-vehicle implementation. This is an external field comparator, not a UEA lab output. IEEE conference paper
- Hash-based ring signatures for the Internet of Vehicles (2025): A Journal of Systems Architecture paper proposes an XMSS-based ring-signature scheme intended to support vehicle anonymity and traceability, with reported verification performance in simulated dense traffic. It highlights signature and privacy trade-offs alongside KEM benchmarking. The scheme is a research proposal, not evidence of standards adoption, certificate-chain integration or operational safety. Journal article
The evidence supports a credible research question and relevant supervisor activity, but the available profile shows only one directly adjacent supervisor-authored PQC/transport paper. Ask how the project will connect the group’s prior vehicle-security work to current ITS certificate and migration standards, and what collaborators or test facilities are actually available.
Field Outlook and Career Implications
The field is moving from selecting PQC primitives toward migrating deployed systems, certificate hierarchies and constrained devices. NIST’s October 2026 transition report sets out a technical approach for U.S. federal standards; the UK NCSC separately recommends cryptographic discovery and an initial plan by 2028, high-priority migration by 2031, and a target of completing migration by 2035. NCSC guidance is aimed mainly at large organizations, critical infrastructure and bespoke IT, not specifically vehicle research. The research can connect to cryptographic engineering, secure networking, embedded systems and standards work, but the opportunity itself does not guarantee those career outcomes. NIST transition report · NCSC migration timeline
The UK’s 2026 cyber-sector analysis estimates 69,589 full-time-equivalent roles across 2,603 cyber firms in 2025, with £14.7 billion in sector revenue. Employment grew about 3%, the lowest rate in that series. A separate labour-market study reports 32,370 core cyber job postings during 2024, down 33% from 2023; only 17% of core postings were entry-level, and the reported median salary was £55,000. These measures differ: the first estimates employment in cyber firms; the second counts online vacancies for core cyber roles. They indicate an established but cooling market with stronger demand for experienced applicants, not a placement forecast. 2026 sector analysis · 2025 labour-market study
Funding, Application, and Living Cost
The call record reports a closing date of 24 February 2027 and a start date of 1 October 2027. The exact closing time and official application route are not stated in the available record, and no UEA-hosted copy of this exact call was found. Treat the date as the listed deadline pending confirmation from UEA. The record describes a competition for a Faculty of Science studentship available to “UK applicants,” covering home tuition fees plus an annual stipend for three years. Its summary label says “UK Students.” The terms do not define whether “UK applicant” means nationality, residency, fee status or another criterion; do not assume the award covers international-fee differences.
The listed £21,805 is described as the current UEA/institutional PhD stipend, subject to any agreed inflation uplift for 2027/28. UKRI independently lists £21,805 as its minimum stipend for 2026/27, but that does not show that this Faculty competition is UKRI-funded and does not establish the rate from October 2027. The competition criteria, fee assessment, payment terms and future uplift remain unconfirmed. UKRI stipend and training guidance
For accommodation comparison, UEA’s 2026/27 published en-suite prices range from £178.50 to £209.50 per week on a 41-week contract, or £7,318.50–£8,589.50 for that contract. ONS reports Norwich’s average private rent as £1,148 per month in September 2026 (£781 for a one-bedroom and £976 for a two-bedroom property). The UEA rates are per student room; ONS figures are whole-property market rents and may be shared. Neither is a complete monthly budget, and 2026/27 prices do not guarantee 2027/28 costs. UEA accommodation prices · ONS Norwich rents
Applicant Fit and Preparation
Required by the call: at least a relevant 2:1 honours degree or international equivalent, plus a strong background in programming and/or networking. The call does not require prior cryptography expertise.
Preferred, not required: cybersecurity or cryptography knowledge is described as desirable but not essential. The funding wording is restricted to UK applicants/home fees in the record; individual fee eligibility needs direct confirmation.
Suggested preparation: be ready to discuss a systems-level benchmark that separates key establishment from signatures, defines latency and reliability budgets, and accounts for message/certificate sizes, key management, mobility and limited compute. Review current NIST standards and ITS security formats. A small reproducible implementation or simulation comparing PQC choices under network and device constraints would help evidence relevant skills, but it is a preparation suggestion, not an admission requirement. NIST standards transition · ETSI ITS security formats
Next Actions and Questions to Verify
Before Applying
- Ask UEA or Dr Malik to confirm reference MALIKH_U27SCI, that the vacancy is still open, the 24 February 2027 closing time/time zone, and the official application route.
- Request the written definition of “UK applicants,” the fee-status assessment process, whether any international applicants are eligible, and which tuition level the award covers.
- Confirm the number of awards, competition/interview criteria, stipend and fee terms, and whether the stipend is expected to change for 2027/28.
At Interview
- Ask which NIST PQC versions and V2X certificate/key-management flows are in scope; whether both signatures and KEMs will be evaluated; and how algorithm changes avoid downgrade or inconsistent trust-policy risks.
- Ask what simulation environment, hardware target, mobility/congestion model, baselines, latency/reliability/energy metrics and safety assumptions will be used.
- Clarify whether the 2025 SPARC project left reusable software, data or testbed access, and whether any industry collaborator is committed to this studentship.
Before Accepting an Offer
- Verify the degree registration and awarding institution, complete supervisory team, training/progression arrangements, research-resource access, written home-fee classification, three-year funding guarantee, and the stipend/fees from October 2027.
Evidence and Sources
UEA, programme and supervision
- Hassan Malik’s UEA profile
- SPARC connected-vehicle security project
- Cyber Intelligence and Networks group
- School of Computing Sciences
- UEA postgraduate-research guide
- UEA institutional fact sheet
- THE UEA ranking profile
PQC, vehicle security and standards
- NIST FIPS 203 — ML-KEM
- NIST FIPS 204 — ML-DSA
- NIST KEM implementation guidance
- NIST post-quantum transition report
- ITU-R M.2160 IMT-2030 framework
- ETSI ITS Communications Architecture, Release 2
- ETSI ITS Security Header and Certificate Formats, Release 2
- ETSI ITS/C-ITS quantum-safe migration study
- ETSI work item updating the ITS migration study
- ETSI quantum-safe hybrid key-establishment specification
- UK principles for connected-vehicle cyber security
- NCSC post-quantum migration timeline
Research papers
- Supervisor-authored post-quantum transport study
- Adaptive PQ-KEM selection for VANETs
- Hash-based post-quantum ring signatures for the Internet of Vehicles
Funding, Norwich costs and careers
Sources
The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source
Explore related doctoral opportunities
Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.
University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom
Bell Burnell Graduate Scholarship | Edinburgh PhD Nomination Route
The opportunity information describes 3.5 years of UKRI-rate stipend, full tuition contribution and research support for successful nominees. IoP makes the final decision and describes individually agreed awards, normally covering fees and living support for up to four years. Edinburgh also considers nominees for separate University-funded awards. The final funder, amount, duration, fee contribution (including international fee gap) and research grant are not guaranteed by internal nomination and must be confirmed.
2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: p-adic group representations and arithmetic
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, duration, tuition coverage and eligibility details are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: Categorification and the local Langlands correspondence
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, tuition coverage and duration are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of Birmingham · United Kingdom
PhD: How robotic metamaterial networks adapt after deployment
UK-home students only; tuition plus a UKRI-rate stipend currently £21,805/year for 42 months. International applicants need an alternative viable funding plan.
2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Imperial College London · United Kingdom
PhD: How ultraviolet exposure affects carbon-fibre composite performance
Full tuition and £23,805 annual tax-free stipend for 3.5 years; Home, EU and international applicants are eligible.
2027-01-04 (confirm the exact time with the source)