PhD in Clean Energy: Studying Catalysts for Renewable Fuel Production with Chemical Imaging and Digital Twins
Project 2596 · University College London · Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Mathematical & Physical Sciences; Rutherford Appleton Laboratory host setting
Application workspace
Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Application deadline
- 2027-01-08 (confirm the exact time with the source)
- Funding
- Four-year EPSRC UELA collaborative studentship covering home-rate tuition, an enhanced stipend and a Research Training Support Grant. The project text labels approximately £26,022 as a 2026/27 estimate, while the UELA overview associates that amount with 2027/28; confirm the applicable year. If an international candidate receives the award, UCL commits to cover the home/international tuition difference. Up to 30% of cohort awards may go to international candidates; an award is not guaranteed. Partner contributions may add stipend or research support subject to agreement. Visa and IHS coverage are not stated.
The research opportunity
Research and methods
This four-year UCL EPSRC Doctoral Landscape Award collaborative project, supervised by Professor Andrew Beale with industrial partner Finden Ltd, applies advanced chemical imaging and digital twins to renewable-fuel technologies. It addresses the need to understand catalyst and reactor performance under realistic operating conditions so sustainable fuel production can become more efficient, stable and reliable. Research will investigate active-phase changes and deactivation, including mineral scaling, carbon build-up and hydrogen-sulphide poisoning, in 3D-printed metal electrodes and compact CO2 methanation reactors used to convert municipal solid waste to sustainable fuels.
The student will develop and apply five-dimensional scattering-based chemical imaging, including X-ray diffraction computed tomography and operando measurements, and integrate the data with process models, machine learning and digital-twin methods to relate catalyst behaviour, reactor performance and economic viability. The project combines chemistry, materials science, catalysis, process engineering and data science, with the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory as a research setting and Diamond Light Source, the UK Catalysis Hub, Finden Ltd and European research organisations in the wider collaboration environment; project-specific facility access and beamtime need confirmation.
Eligibility, application and funding
- Applicants should have or expect to obtain a first-class or upper-second-class degree or equivalent in chemistry, physics, materials science or a closely related field; relevant interests include X-ray characterisation, materials properties, catalysis, data science or computational modelling.
- The official UCL page lists this Andrew Beale collaborative project as open to Home and International applicants.
- The application deadline is 8 January 2027 at 12:00 noon UK time; UCL recommends applications and references by 16 December 2026 before the Christmas closure.
- Applications must be submitted through the UELA portal.
- The studentship is fully funded for four years, covering home-rate tuition, an enhanced stipend and a Research Training Support Grant.
- The project text labels approximately £26,022 as a 2026/27 estimate, while the UELA overview associates that amount with 2027/28; confirm the applicable year.
- If an international student is awarded the studentship, UCL funding covers the difference between Home and International tuition fees.
- Collaborative projects may include additional stipend or research support subject to their arrangements.
- Visa and immigration health-surcharge coverage are not stated on the project page.
- International applicants may apply to collaborative projects; international awards are capped at up to 30% of the UELA cohort and are competitive.
- The planned start is 1 October 2027.
Facilities and open questions
The term “five-dimensional” is not defined in the project summary. Beamtime, travel, instrument training, partner responsibilities, data access and digital-twin validation are not guaranteed and should be confirmed. UCL is the awarding institution; Harwell, Diamond, the UK Catalysis Hub and Finden are research settings or collaborators, not automatically a joint degree or promised placement.
The doctoral research combines specialist training, seminars and research communication with hands-on work.
Research and application brief
Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.
Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.
Show report contents
PhD in Clean Energy: Studying Catalysts for Renewable Fuel Production with Chemical Imaging and Digital Twins
Quick Decision
Recommendation: Strong but verify fit. This is a four-year interdisciplinary UCL Chemistry PhD for a candidate who wants to connect catalyst materials, operando X-ray imaging and data-driven reactor models. The project brief proposes studying deactivation in 3D-printed metal electrodes and compact CO2-methanation reactors associated with municipal solid-waste-to-fuel, then integrating five-dimensional chemical imaging with process models and digital-twin methods. UCL lists the Beale collaborative project as open to Home and International applicants, with an 8 January 2027 noon UK deadline and an earlier recommended 16 December date for applications and references. Funding covers four years, Home-rate tuition, enhanced stipend and research-training support; if an international candidate wins the award, UCL covers the Home/International fee difference. The public sources do not state visa or IHS coverage. The £26,022 stipend estimate is labelled 2026/27 in the project description but appears as an expected 2027/28 figure in the current scheme overview, so confirm the start-year award. The main questions are how the project defines “5D”, secures beamtime and validates its digital twin. 2027 UELA project listing UELA award overview doctoral funding guidance
Research Problem and Doctoral Work
The official UCL departmental listing confirms the project title, Professor Beale as supervisor, collaborative Home/International eligibility and round terms, but does not reproduce the full technical project description summarized below. The detailed tasks come from the project description and should be reconfirmed in the application catalogue.
What Is Unsolved and Why It Matters
Renewable-fuel reactors need catalysts and electrodes that remain active under real operating conditions. The project description identifies mineral scaling, carbon buildup and hydrogen-sulphide poisoning as deactivation processes to study in 3D-printed metal electrodes and compact CO2-methanation reactors associated with converting municipal solid waste into sustainable fuel. Ex situ measurements or averaged reactor data can miss where and when active phases change inside a catalyst body; spatially resolved chemical imaging is intended to reveal that heterogeneity and connect it to reactor performance.
The scientific challenge is not only to collect high-dimensional images. It is to align realistic operando conditions, representative samples, reliable phase reconstruction and process-level performance data, then show that any resulting digital twin predicts or explains something not already captured by conventional process models. UCL’s broader group and recent papers show relevant methods, but do not establish that the proposed reactor is already validated or economically viable. 2027 UELA project listing Beale group research 2024 XRD-CT neural-network paper 2024 methanation study 2025 methanation study 2024 catalyst chemical-imaging paper XRD-CT methods review
Work, Methods, and Potential Outputs
The project brief proposes that the doctoral researcher will:
- investigate active-phase changes and deactivation in 3D-printed metal electrodes and compact CO2-methanation reactors;
- examine mineral scaling, carbon buildup and H2S poisoning under realistic operating conditions;
- develop and use five-dimensional scattering-based chemical imaging, including X-ray diffraction computed tomography (XRD-CT) and operando measurements;
- integrate imaging observations with process models, machine learning and digital-twin methods; and
- relate local catalyst behaviour to reactor performance and economic viability. 2027 UELA project listing
A useful research angle is to quantify where and when a deposit or poison forms, how it changes phase or structure, and whether that local state predicts conversion, selectivity or stability at reactor scale. The meaning of “five-dimensional” is not explained in the public summary; ask which axes are spatial, temporal, energy-resolved or otherwise. Synchrotron experiments can be data-intensive and beamtime-dependent, while industrially realistic samples can be heterogeneous and hard to reconstruct. A rigorous workflow should state uncertainty, sample representativeness, preprocessing/reconstruction choices and how the digital twin is independently calibrated and validated. These are decision-critical questions, not promised deliverables.
Recent Beale-group work provides direct technical precedents. A 2024 self-supervised neural network method reduces parallax artefacts in XRD-CT. A 2024 Ni/CeO2 study links Ni availability and interfacial defects to CO2 methanation, followed by a 2025 study testing a defect-engineering route. Another 2024 study maps carbide formation within catalyst pellets and relates it to product selectivity. These papers inform imaging and structure–function logic, but use different catalyst systems from the advertised reactors. 2024 XRD-CT neural-network paper 2024 methanation study 2025 methanation study 2024 catalyst chemical-imaging paper
School, Programme and Field Context
University College London is the degree-awarding institution, with registration and research based in UCL Chemistry. The Rutherford Appleton Laboratory/Research Complex at Harwell is described as a research host setting, with Diamond Light Source, the UK Catalysis Hub, Finden Ltd and European groups named as collaborators or resources. Those roles do not by themselves establish a joint degree, guaranteed beamtime or a placement with the industrial partner. UCL Chemistry describes a research PhD under direct staff supervision, specialist training, seminars, conference presentation and research/industry links. Confirm how much time is based at UCL versus Harwell, how travel is funded and how facility access is arranged. 2027 UELA project listing Chemistry PhD training Andrew Beale profile Diamond facility UK Catalysis Hub Harwell research complex UCL location
The department reports a UK fifth-place position for Chemistry in the 2025 subject ranking. UCL reports eighth globally in the 2027 overall ranking and second in UK research power in REF 2021; Chemistry separately reports third nationally for 4-star REF 2021 submissions. These are dated, differently scoped measures and should not be treated as project outcomes. Chemistry subject ranking UCL institutional ranking Chemistry REF assessment
Supervisor and Lab Assessment
Supervisor Research Directions
Professor Andrew Beale’s group studies time- and space-dependent structure–function relationships in catalytic and energy materials using X-ray and optical scattering/spectroscopy under in situ and operando conditions. The UK Catalysis Hub profile also identifies him as a Research Complex at Harwell group leader and deputy director of the Hub, and notes a role with Finden. This confirms a research and industry network, not a guaranteed commercial placement, partner stipend or degree role. The project is a strong match to the group’s published scientific direction. Beale group research chemical sustainability research Andrew Beale profile
Recent Important Publications
- A 2024 paper presents self-supervised neural-network reconstruction to reduce parallax artefacts in XRD-CT, including large-sample data. It is relevant to imaging/data reconstruction but is not a reactor digital twin. 2024 XRD-CT neural-network paper
- A 2024 CO2-methanation study combines diffraction, microscopy, chemisorption and in situ spectroscopy to identify Ni availability and oxygen vacancies as structure–performance factors in Ni/CeO2. 2024 methanation study
- A 2025 study uses X-ray and spectroscopic measurements to show how plasma-generated ceria defects change the Ni-support interface and methanation performance in that catalyst system. 2025 methanation study
- A 2024 operando imaging paper maps carbide formation across Mn-doped Co/TiO2 pellets and relates spatial structure to Fischer–Tropsch alcohol selectivity, an example of linking local heterogeneity with a product outcome. 2024 catalyst chemical-imaging paper
- A 2023 review surveys diffraction/scattering computed tomography methods and limitations in materials science. It provides field context, not a project-specific experimental plan. XRD-CT methods review
Lab, Resources, and Collaboration Environment
The project’s value proposition is access to an interdisciplinary setting across UCL Chemistry, Harwell, synchrotron science, catalysis networks and an industrial partner. These are promising resources for an operando imaging PhD, but the public sources do not state the student’s beamtime allocation, instrument training sequence, data/software ownership, facility travel budget or partner work package. Request a concrete first-year experimental plan and contingency route if a scheduled beamline experiment is delayed. Andrew Beale profile Diamond facility UK Catalysis Hub Harwell research complex
Funding, Application, and Living Cost
The official UCL Chemistry page gives an application deadline of 8 January 2027 at 12:00 noon UK time and strongly recommends submitting the application and ensuring references arrive by 16 December 2026 before the Christmas closure. Apply through the UELA portal. The project is listed as collaborative and open to Home and International applicants; UELA restricts international recruitment to collaborative projects and caps international students at 30% of the cohort. 2027 UELA project listing UELA award overview
The studentship lasts four years and covers Home-rate tuition, an enhanced stipend and a Research Training Support Grant. If an international candidate receives the award, UCL says it will cover the difference between Home and International tuition. Partner stipend or research support may be additional only under the relevant arrangement. The project text describes about £26,022 as expected for 2026/27, while the current UELA overview associates an expected £26,022 with 2027/28. Treat the year label as unresolved and confirm the exact stipend from the written offer. Visa and immigration health surcharge coverage are not stated. 2027 UELA project listing UELA award overview doctoral funding guidance
UCL’s 2026/27 guide lists postgraduate hall rents of £153–529 per week for a 52-week year and shared private rents of £650–1,300 per month before household bills. Its £426 monthly estimate for food, materials, phone, health and local travel excludes housing and discretionary costs. The stipend should therefore be modelled against actual accommodation, bills and travel to Harwell. International applicants should budget visa and IHS separately unless UCL confirms coverage in writing. London living-cost guide UK Student visa guidance
Applicant Fit and Preparation
Required Background and Skills
Applicants should hold or expect a first-class or upper-second-class degree, or equivalent, in Chemistry, Physics, Materials Science or a closely related subject. Interests relevant to the project include X-ray characterisation, materials properties, catalysis, data science or computational modelling. The public listing does not require a particular software package, prior synchrotron experience or a specified machine-learning portfolio. International applicants are eligible because this is a collaborative project, subject to the scheme cap. 2027 UELA project listing UELA award overview
Preferred Experience and Suggested Preparation
An application will be stronger if it connects materials or catalysis fundamentals with quantitative data handling, experimental design, modelling or programming. Prior X-ray/scattering, operando measurements, process engineering or uncertainty analysis would help, but these are preparation suggestions rather than formal eligibility requirements. Prepare a short account of how you would link a local catalyst-state measurement to conversion, selectivity or stability at the reactor scale. Explain why realistic operating conditions matter and how you would validate a model rather than only fit it. 2027 UELA project listing Beale group research 2024 XRD-CT neural-network paper 2024 methanation study
Next Actions and Questions to Verify
Before Applying
- Use 16 December 2026 as the practical target for the application and references; 8 January 2027 at noon UK time is the formal deadline.
- Confirm the portal requirements, references, start-date selection and whether any additional department form is needed.
- Ask whether the £26,022 estimate is the 2027/28 start-year rate and request the award’s annual stipend schedule.
At Interview
- What exactly are the five dimensions in 5D imaging, and which measurements are collected operando?
- Which catalysts, reactors, feedstocks and deactivation mechanisms are the first-year priorities?
- What beamtime and instrument-training plan is already available, and what is the contingency if beamtime is delayed?
- How will the digital twin be calibrated, validated and compared with process-level performance?
- What work is expected from UCL, Harwell, Diamond, the Hub, Finden and the European collaborators?
Before Accepting an Offer
- Obtain written confirmation of four-year fees, stipend, annual increments, RTSG and partner contributions.
- Ask directly whether visa, IHS, relocation and London-to-Harwell travel are funded.
- Confirm the registration location, expected time at Harwell, thesis-submission conditions and any collaboration agreement.
Evidence and Sources
Project, Programme, and Institution
- UCL Chemistry 2027 PhD project and application information
- UELA funding and eligibility overview
- UCL doctoral funding guidance
- UCL Chemistry research training environment
- UCL Chemistry subject ranking
- UCL overall rankings and research power
- UCL Chemistry REF 2021 result
- UCL address and degree institution
Supervisor, Facilities, and Publications
- Beale group research theme
- Beale research in chemical sustainability
- Andrew Beale’s research and collaboration profile
- Diamond Light Source facility
- UK Catalysis Hub
- Research Complex at Harwell
- 2024 neural-network reconstruction paper
- 2024 CO2-methanation characterisation paper
- 2025 defect-engineered methanation paper
- 2024 chemical imaging of catalyst carbide formation
- 2025 manganese-distribution paper record
- Review of XRD-CT and scattering tomography
Funding, Costs, and Career Context
Sources
The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source
Explore related doctoral opportunities
Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.
University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom
Bell Burnell Graduate Scholarship | Edinburgh PhD Nomination Route
The opportunity information describes 3.5 years of UKRI-rate stipend, full tuition contribution and research support for successful nominees. IoP makes the final decision and describes individually agreed awards, normally covering fees and living support for up to four years. Edinburgh also considers nominees for separate University-funded awards. The final funder, amount, duration, fee contribution (including international fee gap) and research grant are not guaranteed by internal nomination and must be confirmed.
2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: p-adic group representations and arithmetic
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, duration, tuition coverage and eligibility details are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: Categorification and the local Langlands correspondence
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, tuition coverage and duration are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of Birmingham · United Kingdom
PhD: How robotic metamaterial networks adapt after deployment
UK-home students only; tuition plus a UKRI-rate stipend currently £21,805/year for 42 months. International applicants need an alternative viable funding plan.
2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Imperial College London · United Kingdom
PhD: How ultraviolet exposure affects carbon-fibre composite performance
Full tuition and £23,805 annual tax-free stipend for 3.5 years; Home, EU and international applicants are eligible.
2027-01-04 (confirm the exact time with the source)