PhD in Battery Engineering: How Does Lithium-Ion Cell Failure Affect Battery System Design?
Project 2592 · University of Warwick · Warwick Manufacturing Group (Battery Systems Research Group)
Application workspace
Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Application deadline
- 2026-12-31 (confirm the exact time with the source)
- Funding
- BP-sponsored; the project material cites an EPSRC IDLA UKRI stipend of £20,780 per year at the October 2025 rate. Duration, current stipend, tuition coverage and any international fee difference are unconfirmed; exceptional international applicants may be eligible.
The research opportunity
Overview
This BP-sponsored project in Warwick WMG's Battery Systems team seeks a validated method to assess lithium-ion cell thermal runaway and its consequences for battery-system design. Variation in failure behaviour complicates validation for electric vehicles, aerospace and stationary storage.
Research
The work must initiate runaway reproducibly without biasing the failure mode, then scale cell-level findings to complete systems, including propagation between cells, cell topology, active and passive mitigation and containment. Multimodal measurement will characterise venting, fire and explosion and support battery-failure modelling and simulation. The group combines academic and industrial engineering experience; the Battery Safety Centre is a relevant environment, but project-specific equipment and safety arrangements are unconfirmed.
Supervision and funding
The project lists Professor James Marco and Dr Timothy Vincent; Warwick's profile calls Vincent an Assistant Professor. The materials cite an EPSRC IDLA UKRI stipend of £20,780 per year at the October 2025 rate, with BP as sponsor. The tuition information page does not confirm this award's fee coverage; award duration and international fee difference are unresolved. International applicants with exceptional industrial or academic experience may receive an award, subject to confirmation.
Eligibility and application
- The Warwick project page lists electrical, mechanical or electrochemical engineering, at least a relevant UK 2:1 and a good understanding of sensor selection and instrumentation; its enquiry form asks for a CV and academic record.
- Confirm the formal application requirements and award terms.
- The project material gives 31 December 2026 without a time, but the Warwick project page does not confirm that deadline and lists a planned start of 1 October 2026, already past at the review date. Confirm whether recruitment remains open and the actual deadline and start date with the team.
Training, facilities and living costs
Training and budget: Warwick's Engineering MPhil/PhD and WMG research environment provide doctoral training, but the project does not guarantee specific facilities or equipment. A Warwick postgraduate accommodation example is £139/week for 50 weeks (£6,950) for a shared-bathroom room, before food, travel and other expenses; a 44-week shared-bathroom option is £136/week, with availability limited. The £1,171/month outside-London student-visa maintenance threshold is not a complete living-cost estimate.
Fees and facilities
Warwick lists a 2026/27 full-time UKRI minimum stipend of £21,805 per year; this is a current benchmark, not confirmation that this award pays it. Its 2026/27 PGR Home fee is £5,238 and WMG Overseas Band 2 fee £33,110, implying a conditional £27,872 annual difference if only Home fees are covered and no top-up or waiver applies. The award has not confirmed either its fee coverage or a top-up. The Battery Safety Centre lists seven enclosed fire- and pressure-tight abuse-test chambers, gas and temperature measurement, high-speed/thermal imaging and propagation testing; project-specific access is unconfirmed. The WMG form is an eligibility enquiry, not a formal application.
The 2026/27 £21,805 rate is a Warwick UKRI benchmark; the project-specific source separately cites £20,780 at October 2025 rates. Ask which actual rate applies rather than treating either as a confirmed award.
Research and application brief
Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.
Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.
Show report contents
PhD in Battery Engineering: How Does Lithium-Ion Cell Failure Affect Battery System Design?
Quick Decision
Recommendation: Promising with material uncertainties. The project suits candidates who want experimental battery safety and can connect sensors, test design and engineering decisions at cell and pack scale. The advertised work is concrete: evaluate repeatable thermal-runaway triggers, study propagation and mitigation in systems, and improve multimodal evidence for failure models. WMG's Battery Systems group, Battery Safety Centre, named supervisors and recent local papers provide strong capability evidence.
Recruitment timing is the first condition to resolve. On 4 November 2026, WMG still lists this project, but its page gives a planned start date of 1 October 2026, already past, and does not show a closing date. The project information gives 31 December 2026, but WMG does not confirm that date. The “Apply now” link opens an enquiry form, which says an enquiry is not a formal application. The project remains selectable on the form, which has 1 February 2027 as a general start option; this does not establish that this project is still recruiting or that its date has moved. Contact the supervisors or WMG Research Degrees team before relying on the deadline. (official WMG listing; WMG enquiry route)
Funding also needs written confirmation. The listing names EPSRC IDLA 26012, BP as sponsor/supporting company and a standard UKRI stipend, but does not state tuition coverage, award length or international fee top-up. For 2026–27, Warwick's WMG Overseas Band 2 fee is £33,110 versus the £5,238 UKRI/home fee level: a possible annual difference of £27,872 if no top-up or waiver is provided. (Warwick PGR fees; UKRI fee guidance)
Research Problem and Doctoral Work
Lithium-ion cells do not all fail in the same way. In a battery system, the conditions that initiate thermal runaway affect the heat, pressure, gas, fire and ejecta released, which in turn affect neighbouring cells and the containment needed in a module or pack. If laboratory triggers produce a failure mode unlike a field failure—or vary substantially between tests—then safety designs and validation comparisons may be misleading. The doctorate aims to deliver a validated method for assessing cell failure and translating it into system-level design evidence. (official WMG listing)
The advertised work has three linked parts:
- Repeatable initiation: assess methods that trigger thermal runaway without selecting or biasing the failure mode.
- Scale-up to a system: move from a single cell toward modules or complete systems; examine cell-to-cell propagation, topology, and active or passive mitigation and containment.
- Multimodal measurement and models: characterize temperature, pressure, gas venting, fire and explosion to support better failure models and simulations.
The vacancy does not specify cell chemistry or form factor, test matrix, simulation software or numerical success criteria. Those details should be confirmed rather than inferred from related WMG work.
School, Programme and Field Context
The host is WMG's Battery Systems Research Group at the University of Warwick. WMG is a University department; Warwick's regulations identify the University as the body that awards the PhD. The project listing does not name its exact registration route. Warwick's general research-degree regulation sets four years as the standard full-time PhD period and requires formal progress review at least annually. Its general Engineering MPhil/PhD page describes a 3–4 year course, but that page does not prove that this project uses that specific route. The vacancy does not state its funded period or taught training package. (WMG vacancy; research-degree regulations; Engineering MPhil/PhD)
Warwick is #74 in the 2026 QS World University Rankings overall. For subject context, Warwick reports that 93% of its joint 2021 REF B12 Engineering submission—including WMG, the School of Engineering and Physics—was rated world-leading or internationally excellent, and cites a 20th-of-89 UK placement based on a Times Higher Education analysis of REF. This is dated subject evidence, not a rating of this project or group. The University is in Coventry, United Kingdom. (QS ranking; Warwick's REF summary; University address)
The WMG enquiry form requests a CV and academic records and asks applicants about English-language status. It is an eligibility enquiry, not the final application. The exact PhD registration route, training package, upgrade milestones and funded length should be confirmed with WMG. (WMG enquiry form)
Supervisor and Lab Assessment
Professor James Marco leads WMG's Battery Systems Research Group and works across battery systems engineering, modeling, characterization and control, including scaling from individual cells to energy-storage systems. Dr Timothy Vincent is an Assistant Professor in Battery Instrumentation; his Warwick profile describes an electronic-engineering and gas-sensor background, sensor-development experience and research on battery-cell sensors. Their documented expertise matches the project's system-design and instrumentation needs. (Marco profile; Vincent profile; Battery Systems Group)
WMG's Battery Safety Centre reports seven enclosed, fire- and pressure-tight abuse-test chambers and capabilities for cell/module testing, calorimetry, gas analysis, pressure and temperature measurement, high-speed and thermal video, propagation testing and cell forensics. The Energy Innovation Centre provides a wider battery research environment. These facilities align closely, although project-specific access and allocation are not published. (Battery Safety Centre; Energy Innovation Centre facilities)
Recent primary research shows the group’s relevant methods:
- Briggs and Marco's 2025 laser-trigger study varied power, mode and heating location in 21700 cells. A selected 65 W continuous-wave setting reproduced sidewall rupture in 75% of tests; other settings produced different failure behavior. This illustrates trigger sensitivity, not a universal trigger protocol. (2025 laser-trigger study)
- A 2024 Warwick study measured internal temperature and gas pressure together in cylindrical cells, resolving pre-vent, vent and flame-generation stages. (2024 internal temperature and pressure study)
- A 2024 seven-cell module study reported propagation in the tested conditions where the trigger cell underwent sidewall rupture, while shallow-trigger tests did not propagate. (2024 sidewall-rupture study)
- A 2024 barrier comparison found measurable differences but no tested material prevented propagation in every case. 2025 work extends the local research to GFRP sleeves and cell/module modeling. (2024 barrier study; 2025 sleeve study; 2025 experiment/model study)
These papers support local capability, but do not guarantee the PhD's exact cell format, trigger, data access or outcome.
Research Direction and Career Context
Battery-safety research increasingly links failure initiation, internal sensing, propagation, mitigation and system design. Possible research angles include trigger bias, repeatability across tests, cell-to-module model validation and design metrics that account for gas and ejecta as well as heat. These are evidence-led interpretations, not promised deliverables.
The International Energy Agency reports 1.2 TWh of global EV battery deployment in 2025, nearly 30% above 2024, and projects close to 3 TWh by 2030 in its Current Policies and Stated Policies scenarios. UK strategy prioritizes a battery innovation ecosystem; the Faraday Institution's 2024 scenario estimates up to 270,000 jobs across the broader UK EV and battery ecosystem by 2040. That estimate covers a broad sector and depends on production assumptions; it is not a count of battery-safety research jobs. Project skills could transfer to battery safety and validation, system integration, experimental test engineering and failure modeling in research labs, cell makers, OEMs or test organizations, but the sources do not give placement rates for this PhD. (IEA battery outlook; UK Battery Strategy; Faraday workforce scenario)
Funding, Application, and Living Cost
The listing states EPSRC IDLA 26012, BP sponsorship and a standard UKRI stipend. It does not confirm tuition coverage, funded duration, research-cost support or sponsor terms. The project material separately cites an EPSRC IDLA UKRI stipend of £20,780 per year at the October 2025 rate. Warwick lists the full-time UKRI minimum for 2026–27 as £21,805/year (£1,817.08/month), tax-free. Neither figure confirms the amount of this individual award; ask which rate applies. (WMG project listing; Warwick stipend table)
For 2026–27, Warwick's full-time PGR fee is £5,238 for Home status and £33,110 for WMG Overseas Band 2. The conditional gap is £27,872 per year if only the home/UKRI fee level is covered. UKRI guidance allows the difference to be paid or waived from another source but not from UKRI funds. The project listing does not say whether it provides such a top-up; the international eligibility wording is not a fee guarantee. (Warwick PGR fee table; UKRI fee guidance)
A current Warwick postgraduate campus example is £139/week for a 50-week shared-bathroom room, or £6,950 per contract—about 32% of one year's minimum stipend before food, travel and other expenses. A 44-week shared-bathroom option is listed at £136/week; higher-cost en-suite options are also available. On-campus rent includes utilities, Wi-Fi and contents insurance, but PGR rooms are limited and subject to eligibility and availability. The University's £1,171/month outside-London Student visa maintenance minimum is an immigration threshold, not a full living-cost estimate. (Warwick accommodation rates; Warwick living-cost guidance)
Applicant Fit and Preparation
Essential criteria in the advert: a background in electrical, mechanical or electrochemical engineering; a relevant undergraduate degree at 2:1 or higher; and a good understanding of sensor selection and instrumentation.
The project record says the opportunity may be awarded to international candidates with exceptional industrial or academic experience; the threshold and fee coverage need confirmation.
Desirable experience: organization, experimental activity, engineering design, numerical analysis and collaboration with technicians.
A strong application would show sensor selection/calibration, repeatable test design, safe experimental work, uncertainty/data analysis, and how measurements inform pack decisions. Battery abuse testing, thermal analysis, gas/pressure sensing, imaging, modeling or BMS work would help but is not listed as mandatory. Applicants without much hands-on work should explain readiness for destructive testing; this is not advertised as a purely computational doctorate. The enquiry form requests a CV and academic records and asks about English-language status; the vacancy does not state a master's requirement or minimum language score. (official criteria; WMG enquiry details; Vincent profile)
Next Actions and Questions to Verify
Before Applying
- Confirm whether the project is still recruiting, its official closing date/time zone and whether the 1 October 2026 start has moved. The 31 December date in the project information is not confirmed by WMG.
- Ask what formal application follows the eligibility enquiry and what documents are required.
- For overseas fee status, ask whether exceptional experience has a defined threshold and who pays the fee difference.
- Confirm funded duration, tuition coverage, stipend schedule, research-support budget and BP's role.
At Interview
- Clarify cell chemistries/formats, trigger methods, test matrix, representativeness criteria, module/pack scale and model validation.
- Ask about safety induction, facility allocation, supervision cadence, partner data, IP/confidentiality and publication.
Before Accepting an Offer
- Obtain written confirmation of registration route, start date, funded years, fees by status, stipend, research costs, sponsor conditions and training/progress requirements.
Evidence and Sources
Project and application
University, degree and research environment
- University of Warwick address
- Warwick research-degree regulations
- Engineering MPhil/PhD programme
- QS overall ranking
- Warwick REF 2021 summary
Supervisors, groups and facilities
- Professor James Marco profile
- Dr Timothy Vincent profile
- WMG Battery Systems Group
- WMG Battery Safety Centre
- WMG Energy Innovation Centre facilities
Recent primary research
- Laser irradiation and thermal-runaway initiation (2025)
- GFRP sleeves and propagation resistance (2025)
- Nail-penetration tests and propagation modeling (2025)
- Sidewall rupture and module propagation (2024)
- Thermal-barrier comparison (2024)
- Internal temperature and pressure sensing (2024)
- Distributed fibre sensing (2022)
Funding, fees and local costs
- UKRI stipend guidance
- Warwick stipend table
- Warwick PGR fees
- UKRI international-fee guidance
- Warwick living-cost guidance
- Warwick postgraduate accommodation rates
Field and career context
Sources
The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source
Explore related doctoral opportunities
Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.
University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom
Bell Burnell Graduate Scholarship | Edinburgh PhD Nomination Route
The opportunity information describes 3.5 years of UKRI-rate stipend, full tuition contribution and research support for successful nominees. IoP makes the final decision and describes individually agreed awards, normally covering fees and living support for up to four years. Edinburgh also considers nominees for separate University-funded awards. The final funder, amount, duration, fee contribution (including international fee gap) and research grant are not guaranteed by internal nomination and must be confirmed.
2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: p-adic group representations and arithmetic
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, duration, tuition coverage and eligibility details are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: Categorification and the local Langlands correspondence
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, tuition coverage and duration are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of Birmingham · United Kingdom
PhD: How robotic metamaterial networks adapt after deployment
UK-home students only; tuition plus a UKRI-rate stipend currently £21,805/year for 42 months. International applicants need an alternative viable funding plan.
2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Imperial College London · United Kingdom
PhD: How ultraviolet exposure affects carbon-fibre composite performance
Full tuition and £23,805 annual tax-free stipend for 3.5 years; Home, EU and international applicants are eligible.
2027-01-04 (confirm the exact time with the source)