中文

PhD in Cell Biology: How Does Cell Size Affect Organelle Composition and Function?

Project 2587 · University of Cambridge · Department of Biochemistry; Cambridge Biosciences BBSRC Doctoral Training Partnership

Application workspace

Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.

Country or region
United Kingdom
Application deadline
2026-12-08 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Funding
Four-year Cambridge Biosciences BBSRC DTP studentship: University tuition fees, stipend (currently £21,805 for 2026/27) and research costs. International students may receive up to 30% of cohort awards; Cambridge states international fees, student visa and health surcharge are covered for DTP recruits. Approximately 25 targeted/iCASE studentships are expected across the cohort; selection is competitive.

The research opportunity

Research and methods

This targeted Cambridge Biosciences DTP project asks how cell size changes the composition, structure and function of subcellular organelles. The research builds on evidence that cell size can alter the cell cycle, ageing, metabolism, cell death and global gene expression, while the mechanisms connecting size to cell behaviour remain incompletely understood. Under the supervision of Dr Evgeny Zatulovskiy in Biochemistry, the project will determine how organelle dimensions scale with cell size; how organelle proteomes and protein localisation change; how organelle function and efficiency vary; and whether these changes affect overall cellular fitness or could inform anti-cancer and anti-ageing approaches.

The work combines quantitative proteomics, high-resolution microscopy, gene editing and cell-based functional assays.

Application, funding and eligibility

  • Applications are made to the 2027-entry Cambridge Biosciences DTP through the University Applicant Portal, identifying targeted project reference TRG27-BIO-EZ1; applicants may choose up to two advertised projects.
  • The DTP deadline is 8 December 2026.
  • The programme is a four-year studentship including University tuition fees, stipend and research costs; the currently stated stipend is £21,805 for 2026/27.
  • Cambridge states it can fund up to 30% of the cohort as international students and will cover fees, stipend, student visa and health surcharge for international DTP recruits.
  • The programme expects approximately 25 funded places across targeted and iCASE routes, so project selection is competitive.
  • Applicants should normally have a high upper-second-class degree or equivalent; a relevant UK-equivalent master’s degree exceeds the minimum requirement.
  • No additional external-funder application is required for the DTP studentship.

Research limits and training

The project investigates how organelle dimensions scale with cell size and whether proteome composition, protein localisation, efficiency and cellular fitness change. Cell-cycle state and growth rate can confound comparisons. Any relevance to anti-cancer or anti-ageing approaches is a long-term scientific motivation, not a promise of clinical testing.

The Cambridge Biochemistry PhD normally lasts three to four years; the DTP award lasts four. University facilities list mass spectrometry and microscopy capabilities, but project access, instrument time and training are unconfirmed.

Research and application brief

Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.

Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.

Show report contents

PhD in Cell Biology: How Does Cell Size Affect Organelle Composition and Function?

Quick Decision

Strong but verify fit. This Cambridge Biosciences DTP project asks how cell size changes organelle dimensions, protein composition and localization, function and cellular fitness. Its advertised toolkit—quantitative proteomics, high-resolution microscopy, gene editing and cell-based assays—suits applicants interested in mechanistic cell biology and able to reason across molecular measurements and functional tests. The official 2027 targeted-project page confirms reference TRG27-BIO-EZ1; the DTP states applications are open to 8 December 2026 and supports a four-year award. International students may compete for up to 30% of the cohort, and Cambridge states that international DTP awardees receive fees, stipend, visa and IHS support; neither the cap nor the scheme’s roughly 25 awards guarantees a particular applicant or project selection. The listed deadline has no stated time. Before applying, check the current portal and ask the supervisor how project preferences, facility access and the precise experimental balance are decided. (project; DTP application terms)

Research Problem and Doctoral Work

What the project tests

Cell size is linked to cell-cycle control, ageing, metabolism and cell death, but the mechanisms connecting size with cell behaviour remain incomplete. This project focuses on organelles: how their dimensions scale with cell size; whether their proteomes or protein localization change; whether function and efficiency shift; and whether those changes affect overall cellular fitness. The project page names quantitative proteomics, high-resolution microscopy, gene editing and cell-based functional assays. This combination can connect descriptive measurements to causal tests, although the specific cell models, organelles, perturbations and primary endpoints are not stated publicly.

The project mentions possible relevance to anti-cancer or anti-ageing approaches. Treat this as a long-term motivation for basic cell biology, not a promise of clinical translation or therapeutic testing. The strongest scientific contribution would be to determine which organelle-level changes track cell size, which alter function, and whether those relationships remain after accounting for cell-cycle state or growth rate.

Field activity and possible research points

Zatulovskiy’s recent work makes the question timely. A 2026 study on cell size and ferroptosis susceptibility links size to response under a defined cell-death stimulus. A 2022 proteome-remodelling study connects increased cell size with senescence, while a companion analysis of size- and growth-rate-associated proteome changes highlights the need to separate those variables. These are mechanistic precedents, not predictions for this project. A 2024 cross-system study of organelle scaling suggests that scaling relationships can be examined across wide cell-volume ranges, but organism and cell-type context matter.

Potential work within the advertised scope includes establishing comparable cell-size conditions, quantifying organelle morphology and protein abundance/localization, then perturbing candidate regulators and testing functional consequences. These are reasonable interpretations of the named methods, not a confirmed experimental protocol; ask which models, organelles and assays are already chosen.

School, Programme and Field Context

The University of Cambridge awards the Biochemistry PhD. The Cambridge Biosciences BBSRC Doctoral Training Partnership is the four-year studentship and training route, not a separate degree-awarding institution. The Biochemistry PhD course directory gives a usual full-time duration of three to four years, while the DTP award is four years. Cambridge describes the PhD as research-based, with usually weekly supervisor meetings, a separate academic adviser, training through the Postgraduate School of Life Sciences and a first-year assessment before full registration; it states there is no formal teaching requirement. The exact DTP training calendar, rotations and project-specific milestones should be confirmed. (course directory; study and training; DTP programme structure)

QS ranks Cambridge fifth in Biological Sciences in its 2026 subject table. This is a broad subject-level signal, not a ranking of the supervisor, lab or this project. (QS subject table)

Supervisor and Research Environment

Evgeny Zatulovskiy’s official profile describes research on cell-size regulation using live-cell imaging, SILAC proteomics and CRISPR/Cas9. A departmental interview discusses organelle-scaling work with quantitative mass spectrometry and imaging and collaboration with the Steinmetz group at EMBL. This establishes research collaboration, not a joint degree or a promise that all work will be conducted at EMBL.

Cambridge’s Proteomics Facility lists Orbitrap mass spectrometry and quantitative proteomics; the CIMR microscopy facility lists confocal, Airyscan, live-cell and super-resolution capabilities. These facility pages establish available techniques, not project allocation, access priority or training. Ask who will train you, what costs are covered, and how instrument time is scheduled.

Funding, Application and Living Cost

The official DTP application page says 2027-entry applications are open, the deadline is 8 December 2026, the award lasts four years and approximately 25 studentships are expected across targeted and iCASE projects. It currently lists a £21,805 annual stipend for 2026/27, University tuition and research costs. Up to 30% of the cohort may be funded as international students. Cambridge says international DTP awardees receive fees, stipend, student visa and immigration health surcharge support. This is a cap and an award condition; it is not an individual guarantee. The deadline page does not state a time of day. The DTP timeline places interviews between December and February and award notifications in March 2027. (how to apply; timeline; targeted-project list)

Cambridge estimates 2027/28 living costs at £20,700 a year (£1,725 per month). That estimate excludes travel to Cambridge, visa/IHS, dependants and additional course costs. The currently stated £21,805 stipend for 2026/27 is £1,105 above the 2027/28 budget estimate on paper, but the values cover different academic years and the 2027/28 stipend has not yet been specified. Do not treat the difference as a guaranteed surplus. (maintenance estimate; UKRI stipend guidance)

Applicants apply through the University Applicant Portal for the Cambridge Biosciences DTP and may select up to two advertised projects, including TRG27-BIO-EZ1. The DTP normally expects a high upper-second-class degree or equivalent; a relevant UK-equivalent master’s is above the minimum. Check the portal for the final document list and any supervisor-contact requirement. Cambridge’s broader course application page lists academic documents and supervisor confirmation, but the DTP’s funded route and earlier deadline control this award application. (course application guidance)

Applicant Fit and Career Relevance

Stated academic threshold: normally a high upper second-class degree or equivalent; a relevant UK-equivalent master’s may exceed the minimum. The DTP permits up to two project preferences. The project names methods but does not state that prior experience in every technique is mandatory.

Useful preparation: evidence of cell or molecular biology research; quantitative reasoning; experience with microscopy, proteomics, gene editing or functional assays; and a clear explanation of how cell size, growth rate and cell-cycle state can confound comparisons. If your experience is concentrated in one technique, explain how you would learn the others rather than presenting all as existing expertise.

UK government life-sciences skills evidence projects additional priority jobs and replacement demand through 2035, with science, data and digital capabilities among relevant skills. This supports potential transfer to cell biology research, biotech R&D and shared research platforms such as proteomics or imaging, but is sector-wide evidence and not a job forecast for an individual graduate. (Life Sciences skills assessment; Life Sciences Sector Plan)

Next Actions and Questions to Verify

Before applying: check the DTP portal and 8 December deadline time; confirm degree equivalence, required references/statements and whether supervisor contact is expected; decide how to rank up to two project choices.

At interview: ask which organelles and cell models are in scope; how cell size will be measured or perturbed; which proteomics, imaging and functional assays are core; how facility access and training are allocated; and whether any rotation is part of this targeted project.

Before accepting: confirm the written four-year award, 2027/28 stipend rate, tuition and research-cost coverage, and international visa/IHS terms for the specific award. Clarify first-year assessment, registration milestones and any project-specific costs.

Evidence and Sources

Project, DTP and application

University, supervisor and facilities

Research, funding, costs and careers

Sources

The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source

Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.

University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom

Bell Burnell Graduate Scholarship | Edinburgh PhD Nomination Route

The opportunity information describes 3.5 years of UKRI-rate stipend, full tuition contribution and research support for successful nominees. IoP makes the final decision and describes individually agreed awards, normally covering fees and living support for up to four years. Edinburgh also considers nominees for separate University-funded awards. The final funder, amount, duration, fee contribution (including international fee gap) and research grant are not guaranteed by internal nomination and must be confirmed.

2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)

University of East Anglia · United Kingdom

Mathematics PhD: p-adic group representations and arithmetic

The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, duration, tuition coverage and eligibility details are not specified; confirm the terms.

2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)

University of Birmingham · United Kingdom

PhD: How robotic metamaterial networks adapt after deployment

UK-home students only; tuition plus a UKRI-rate stipend currently £21,805/year for 42 months. International applicants need an alternative viable funding plan.

2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)