中文

Comparative History PhD in Vienna: Research Across Regions with Historical Sources

Project 2575 · Central European University · Department of Historical Studies

Application workspace

Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.

Country or region
Austria
Application deadline
2027-01-15 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Funding
The 2027/28 call offers up to five merit-selected places with full tuition waiver and a monthly stipend; the materials also list a €5,200 research allowance. The stipend amount, gross/net basis, tax and social-insurance treatment, and payment period require written confirmation from the university. Confirm in writing whether €5,200 is the total for the full programme, the payment period and which expenses are eligible. It is research funding, not a living stipend.

The research opportunity

Comparative History PhD in Vienna: Research Across Regions with Historical Sources

Programme and doctoral work

Central European University’s Department of Historical Studies offers a four-year Comparative History PhD in Vienna. Students design their own topic around a question grounded in primary sources and explain how comparison across regions or historical cultures changes the analysis. Departmental strengths include Central Europe and the Eastern Mediterranean, from Late Antiquity to the present.

Year one includes historiography, research methods, relevant language courses and electives. Years two and three commonly involve archival or field research, conferences and opportunities for teaching or organising academic activities. Year four focuses on the dissertation. The programme offers an academic community but does not guarantee a named supervisor, access to a particular archive or funding from a research cluster. The Vienna register lists four years and 240 ECTS. CEU says the programme is accredited in Austria and the United States; this does not establish that graduates receive two degrees. Confirm the awarding entity and certificate format.

Proposal and applicant fit

A proposal should define its period, research question, communities or objects of study, primary sources, access route and language needs, and explain why comparison is necessary rather than simply placing regions side by side. The current call does not specify a minimum degree, grade, English test or nationality condition. The Austrian programme register separately lists historical-language thresholds and additional documents; confirm which rules apply in the 2027/28 portal.

The current call lists two recommendation letters, a research proposal and an English writing sample, and encourages applicants to contact faculty. No supervisor is named or guaranteed. Check the faculty’s research fit and ask whether there is supervision capacity.

Funding and application

For 2027/28, the call offers up to five merit-selected places with a full tuition waiver and a monthly stipend; the materials also list a €5,200 research allowance. The stipend amount, whether quoted gross or net, tax and social-insurance treatment, and payment period are not stated and should be confirmed with the university in writing. Confirm in writing whether this is the total for the full programme, its payment period and which expenses are eligible. This is research funding, not a living stipend.

The saved call lists a 15 January 2027 deadline with no cutoff time or time zone. Current application status has not been verified. Vienna student living-cost estimates are about €1,300–€1,400 per month, but are not CEU-specific budgets. The award amount is unknown, so net funding cannot yet be compared with living costs.

Contact doctoral coordinator Dr Margaretha Boockmann at boockmannm@ceu.edu. Use the Comparative History admissions page and application system for the current materials and deadline instructions.

Research and application brief

Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.

Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.

Show report contents

Comparative History PhD in Vienna: Research Across Regions with Historical Sources

Applicant assessment

This is a four-year Comparative History PhD in which students design their own research question. It suits applicants who can build a source-based project, explain why comparison improves the analysis, and plan for archival access and source languages. The 2027/28 call offers up to five merit-selected places with a full tuition waiver, a monthly stipend and a programme-duration research allowance. The stipend amount, gross/net basis, tax and social-insurance treatment, and payment terms are not stated and require written confirmation from the university.

The call and Austrian programme register differ on language thresholds and application materials. The saved call lists a 15 January 2027 deadline but no cutoff time or time zone; current application status has not been verified. Confirm the live portal requirements and award terms before applying. CEU's accreditation in Austria and the United States does not by itself establish that graduates receive two degrees.

Research question and doctoral work

This is not a predefined project or a vacancy with an assigned supervisor. Applicants propose a question grounded in primary sources and explain what a comparison across regions or historical cultures makes possible. The department highlights Central Europe and the Eastern Mediterranean, from Late Antiquity to the present; the student's topic remains self-designed.

Year one covers historiography, research methods, relevant language courses and electives. Years two and three commonly involve archival or field research and conferences, with opportunities for teaching or organising academic activities. Year four focuses on the dissertation. The programme does not promise a particular archive, method, corpus, software or supervisor. A strong proposal should define its period and object, identify a feasible source base and access route, state language needs, and explain why comparison is necessary rather than simply placing cases side by side.

Recent department research illustrates possible directions, not assigned topics. Tijana Krstić's 2026 publication concerns Lütfi Pasha and sixteenth-century Ottoman Sunni confession-building. The institutional record gives bibliographic information but too little abstract detail to assess the full argument or sources. A second 2026 publication is titled around historical language ideology and a South-Slavic/Bosnian rendering of al-Būṣīrī's Qaṣīdat al-Burda in an Ottoman context; the saved abstract is too limited to support claims about its methods or conclusions. Katalin Szende's 2025 article compares urbanisation and political change in East-Central and Eastern Europe, including transformations around Christianisation, the thirteenth century and early modern state formation. Together these show topical range and comparative practice, not a promised project for incoming students.

School, degree and research environment

CEU is based in Vienna. The Austrian programme register lists Comparative History as a four-year doctoral programme with 240 ECTS. CEU describes it as accredited in Austria and the United States, but accreditation in two systems does not establish two separate degrees; confirm the awarding entity and certificate format with admissions. The materials do not name a separate registration partner.

The Department of Historical Studies offers faculty expertise, seminars, doctoral peers, libraries and language courses. Vienna has a broad university and archive network, but access to a specific collection, collaboration or travel budget is not guaranteed. CEU's participation in the 2023–2028 EurAsia research cluster indicates a wider research setting, not an individual student position or award.

Saved ranking sources place CEU at #239 in the QS 2027 overall ranking and #269 in THE's 2027 overall ranking, with THE placing it in the 201–250 Arts & Humanities band in 2026. No History-specific ranking was verified. These indicators provide institutional context; supervisor fit, source access and the proposed dissertation are more direct decision points.

Supervisor fit and publication evidence

The call encourages applicants to contact faculty but names no individual supervisor or guaranteed assignment. Potential overlap may include Programme Director Tijana Krstić's work on Ottoman and early modern religious history, identity and movement of people and texts, and Katalin Szende's research on medieval towns, Central European society, demography, literacy and urban topography. Whether either is available to supervise a particular proposal must be confirmed.

This is a humanities programme, not a laboratory doctorate. Its research resources are faculty supervision, libraries and archives, language courses, seminars and the doctoral community. The call mentions external-speaker events and international collaborations but does not quantify cohort size, individual supervision load, archive/travel funds or research-cluster places.

Funding, application and living costs

The 2027/28 call offers up to five merit-selected awards with full tuition waiver and a monthly stipend; the materials also list a €5,200 research allowance. The monthly stipend amount, whether quoted gross or net, tax and social-insurance treatment, payment duration and renewal conditions are not stated; obtain written confirmation from the university. Confirm in writing whether this is the total for the full programme, its payment period and which expenses are eligible. This is research funding, not a living stipend. Until these terms are known, net funding and archive/travel affordability cannot be assessed.

The call lists two recommendation letters, a research proposal and an English writing sample, and encourages faculty contact. It does not specify a minimum degree, grade, English test or nationality condition. The Austrian programme register separately lists historical-language thresholds and additional materials. Departmental guidance from 2025/26 mentioned an MA in History or a neighbouring discipline; that is prior-cycle information, not a confirmed 2027/28 requirement. Confirm all applicable conditions in the current portal.

Study in Austria estimates average student costs nationally at about €1,300 per month; the University of Vienna gives a city estimate of about €1,400 per month and itemises housing, food and personal/study spending. These are planning references, not CEU-specific budgets. Student residence-permit proof-of-funds requirements vary by age and are administrative thresholds, not evidence that the award covers living costs.

Contact doctoral coordinator Dr Margaretha Boockmann at boockmannm@ceu.edu. Before applying, verify the deadline cutoff and time zone, current materials, whether funding consideration is automatic, language requirements and faculty supervision capacity.

Applicant preparation and career context

A strong proposal should offer a clear historical question, defined period and source base, explain the comparative logic, and show how sources can be accessed and interpreted. The writing sample can demonstrate source analysis and argument; the plan can address language and archive preparation. These needs depend on the project topic and should not be mistaken for a guaranteed set of courses or methods.

The doctorate develops historical research, archival, language and academic-writing skills. Possible directions include universities and research institutions, along with other work using historical research, writing or project-analysis skills. The saved materials do not provide programme-specific graduate destinations or employment rates. OECD, European University Association and Austrian career studies offer broader doctoral-career context, not a placement guarantee for CEU.

Sources

Programme, courses and accreditation

Research environment and publications

Rankings, living costs and careers

Sources

The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source

Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.

University of Innsbruck, with the Medical University of Innsbruck · Austria

DC5 PhD in Mathematical Imaging: Conditional Diffusion for Reconstruction and Cardiac MRI Analysis

Three-year, full-time doctoral employment contract, 40 hours/week. 2026 gross salary reference: €3,776.10/month, paid 14 times/year, plus possible allowances and benefits. Net pay is provided at interview; employer, fees and registration require confirmation.

2026-12-10 (confirm the exact time with the source)

University of Innsbruck, with the Medical University of Innsbruck · Austria

DC6 PhD in Mathematical Imaging: Denoising and Material Decomposition for Photon-Counting CT

Three-year, full-time doctoral employment contract, 40 hours/week. 2026 gross salary reference: €3,776.10/month, paid 14 times/year, plus possible allowances and benefits. Net pay is to be provided at interview. Employer, fee/ÖH obligations and registration arrangements require confirmation.

2026-12-10 (confirm the exact time with the source)

University of Innsbruck, with the Medical University of Innsbruck · Austria

DC10 PhD in Biomedical Imaging: Magnetorelaxometry of Nanoparticles in Hyperthermia Research

Three-year, full-time doctoral employment contract, 40 hours/week. 2026 gross salary reference: €3,776.10/month, paid 14 times/year, plus applicable allowances and benefits. Net pay is to be provided at interview. Formal employer, fee/ÖH costs and allowance details remain unconfirmed.

2026-12-10 (confirm the exact time with the source)

Central European University · Austria

CEU PhD in Late Antique, Medieval and Early Modern History

2027/28: up to 5 merit places; full tuition waiver, monthly stipend and €5,200 programme-period research allowance. Stipend terms and allowance total, schedule, eligible costs and tax are unspecified; years 2–3 TA hours/pay unstated.

2027-01-15 (confirm the exact time with the source)

Institute of Science and Technology Austria · Austria

Fully Funded PhD Positions

UK Students, EU Students, International Students

2027-01-08 (confirm the exact time with the source)