Quantum Biology PhD: Designing Proteins to Explore How Spin Changes Affect Biological Function
Project 2534 · University of Exeter · Department of Physics.
Application workspace
Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Application deadline
- 2026-12-08 (confirm the exact time with the source)
- Funding
- EPSRC DLA, up to 3.5 years full-time, with Home tuition, £5,000 total research-training support and a listed stipend of £21,805 per year. The award summary labels the stipend 2027/28, while detailed terms call it the current 2026/27 rate; confirm the 2027/28 amount. Exeter says successful international awardees may receive a fee waiver for the overseas tuition difference, subject to a 30% international-award cap. Visa, IHS and relocation costs are excluded.
The research opportunity
Project overview
This computational quantum-biology project asks whether protein design can turn the spin response of radical pairs into a controllable biological function. It links open quantum-spin dynamics, computational chemistry, molecular simulation and de novo protein design. The proposed “biological qubit” is a molecular spin system with a readable state; the aim is not to build a conventional quantum computer.
Research plan
The student will translate target spin interactions and reaction dynamics into structural constraints such as cofactor distance and orientation, generate protein candidates using inverse folding and electronic-structure estimates, and benchmark the workflow against known MagLOV variants. A further goal is to explore allosteric pathways by which spin-selective reaction yields or radical lifetimes could affect protein structure, interactions or enzyme activity; the downstream target has not been selected.
Methods named in the project include stochastic-Liouville solvers, Bayesian uncertainty analysis, ColabDesign, ProteinMPNN, molecular-dynamics free-energy calculations and DFT estimates. A plausible structure alone does not establish cofactor loading, radical dynamics, magnetic response or allosteric function. Exeter and NPL facilities may support later validation, but an experimental work package, access or outcome is not promised. The team names Professor Daniel Kattnig, Dr Jonathan Phillips and NPL's Alex Jones; supervision, computing and collaboration arrangements need confirmation.
Application and funding
- Eligibility: The project PDF asks for a relevant UK 2:1 degree or equivalent. Whether the general DLA lower-second exception applies is not confirmed. Applicants must also meet applicable DLA academic and residence rules.
- Award: Up to 3.5 years full-time, with Home tuition, £5,000 total research-training support and a listed £21,805 annual stipend. The award summary labels that amount 2027/28 while detailed terms call it the 2026/27 rate; obtain the correct future rate in writing. Successful international awardees may receive a fee waiver for the overseas difference, subject to a 30% cap on international awards; visa, health surcharge and relocation costs are excluded.
- Dates: The application deadline is noon on 8 December 2026, with time zone unspecified; expected entry is September 2027. The project and central DLA pages give 8 January and 15 February respectively for references, and the central page retains older interview dates. Confirm the schedule and plan for the earlier reference date.
- Materials: A project-named personal statement, CV, transcripts, two references and English evidence where applicable; provide certified translations where required. Up to three DLA projects may be applied for separately, stating a first preference.
- Ask: Confirm the degree and registration route, the MagLOV benchmark and success criteria, the downstream target, computing access and whether funded experimental validation is part of the plan.
Research and application brief
Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.
Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.
Show report contents
Quantum Biology PhD: Designing Proteins to Explore How Spin Changes Affect Biological Function
Quick Decision
Fit: strongest for applicants drawn to computational work across quantum spin physics and protein design. The project aims to translate radical-pair spin behaviour into structural design constraints, then predict proteins that could turn spin-dependent chemistry into a downstream biological effect. It best matches applicants prepared to work across quantum physics or chemistry, numerical modelling and molecular/protein science. The official project sets a relevant UK 2:1 degree requirement. The Exeter EPSRC Doctoral Landscape Award provides up to 3.5 years of index-linked stipend, tuition and a £5,000 research-training grant; successful international awardees receive a university fee waiver, but international places are limited to up to 30% of the cohort. Applications close at 12:00 noon on 8 December 2026. Key unknowns are the 2027/28 stipend, the gap between 3.5-year funding and a four-year PhD maximum, compute resources and whether experimental validation will actually be part of the doctorate. Before applying, check qualification equivalence and award eligibility; then ask the lead supervisor how success will be measured if designed proteins are not experimentally tested. Official project description · Award terms and schedule · EPSRC DLA competition
Research Problem and Doctoral Work
What Is Unsolved and Why It Matters
Spin-correlated radical pairs can respond to magnetic fields through singlet–triplet spin evolution and spin-selective chemical reactions. Engineered flavoproteins and LOV-based fluorescent proteins have shown sizeable optical responses, including magnetic-field-sensitive MagLOV variants and optically detected magnetic resonance in living cells. These are primarily passive readouts: the protein reports a spin-dependent event. This project targets a further step—an active biological transducer whose spin-selective reaction yield or radical lifetime produces a structural change and alters another biological process. Here “biological qubit” describes a molecular spin system with a readable state; the proposal concerns sensing and biological signal transduction, not a conventional gate-based quantum computer.
An Oxford-led 2026 study in Nature reported engineered MagLOV proteins capable of quantum-spin-resonance measurements in living bacterial cells, including single-cell sensing. That work shows engineered biological spin sensors are an active frontier. It does not demonstrate the downstream actuation proposed here: the paper discusses biological actuators as a future possibility, while this project aims to devise computational principles for moving from measurement to function. 2026 engineered-protein study
Work, Methods and Potential Outputs
The project description sets out four linked aims:
- Map spin optima to structure. Translate theoretically optimal spin Hamiltonians—tuning hyperfine couplings, exchange interactions and recombination kinetics to improve magnetic-field sensitivity—into physical design constraints such as cofactor distances/orientations and the local chemical environment.
- Generate protein candidates in silico. Build a de novo design workflow using deep-learning inverse-folding tools and electronic-structure estimates to propose new protein scaffolds and side-chain packings optimized for radical-pair formation and coherent lifetime.
- Calibrate against known constructs. Reverse-engineer experimental directed-evolution constructs such as MagLOV variants to benchmark the computational pipeline against existing systems.
- Design biological transduction. Explore allosteric coupling paths through which spin-selective chemical yields or radical lifetimes could trigger structural shifts and alter protein–protein interactions or enzyme activity. These downstream targets are examples; no particular effector is selected publicly.
The named methods are stochastic Liouville solvers for open quantum spin dynamics; Bayesian treatment of parameter uncertainty; ColabDesign and ProteinMPNN for generative or inverse-folding protein design; molecular-dynamics free-energy calculations; and DFT-based estimates of spin-Hamiltonian parameters and electron-transfer rates. Their combination is coherent: spin modelling can specify desirable radical-pair dynamics, protein design can search scaffold/sequence space, and atomistic calculations can screen structural and energetic plausibility. But each layer introduces uncertainty. A high-scoring sequence or plausible structure does not establish cofactor loading, radical-pair kinetics, magnetic response or an allosteric effect. The pipeline therefore needs explicit candidate-selection criteria, uncertainty propagation and a clear definition of success at each stage. Project methods · ProteinMPNN primary paper · ColabDesign repository
The project is explicitly computational. It says predictions will be considered for experimental validation through collaborating facilities at Exeter’s Living Systems Institute and the National Physical Laboratory. That wording does not guarantee an experimental work package, facility access or a functioning engineered protein. Nor does it establish that the student will perform laboratory work. A realistic output could be a computational pipeline, benchmarked predictions and testable structural hypotheses even if no experimental validation is completed; confirm this with the supervisors. Official project description
Recent Research and Feasibility
Three recent papers by Daniel Kattnig and collaborators illuminate the physical basis and modelling relevant to the first part of the doctorate:
| Paper | Contribution and connection | Reading limit |
|---|---|---|
| Denton et al. (2024), Magnetosensitivity of tightly bound radical pairs in cryptochrome is enabled by the quantum Zeno effect, Nature Communications 15, 10823. | Combines molecular-dynamics-informed cryptochrome geometry with spin-dynamics modelling. It argues that a tightly bound FAD–superoxide radical pair may retain Earth-strength-field sensitivity when recombination is strongly asymmetric, showing how kinetics and local structure can reshape predicted sensitivity. | The work is a theoretical model, not a designed protein or experimental validation of active transduction; chemical and relaxation details remain uncertain. |
| Chowdhury et al. (2024), Quantum Control of Radical-Pair Dynamics beyond Time-Local Optimization, PRX Quantum 5, 020303. | Extends GRAPE-style optimization to spin-selective reaction yields at low fields, including toy and realistic donor–acceptor models. This demonstrates computational methods for optimizing reaction outputs relevant to the spin-dynamics layer. | It optimizes reaction yields rather than protein sequences or biological allostery. |
| Smith et al. (2026), Interradical motion can push magnetosensing precision toward quantum limits, Physical Review Applied 25, 024074. | Theoretical cryptochrome work finds that structured molecular motion can improve magnetosensing precision and bring estimates closer to the quantum Cramér–Rao bound. It supports considering protein geometry and dynamics together. | It studies a theoretical magnetoreceptor, not a generative design pipeline, engineered sequence or downstream effector. |
These papers establish a foundation in open-system radical-pair dynamics, reaction-yield optimization and structure/motion-informed magnetosensitivity. The doctorate extends that work into deep protein generation and active biological outputs. Its main scientific challenge is to establish a reliable link between a target spin Hamiltonian, realistic cofactor chemistry, scaffold stability and allosteric function. The 2026 MagLOV result offers a timely benchmark for sensing, while remaining distinct from active transduction. Kattnig Group · Theoretical Physics and magnetosensitivity · 2026 engineered-protein study
School, Programme and Field Context
The degree-awarding institution is the University of Exeter. The project PDF names the potential programme as a PhD in Physics, with the Living Systems Institute and Department of Physics, based at LSI, Streatham. “Potential programme” should be read literally: confirm the final registration route and title. The PDF names NPL as an additional supervisor/collaborator and refers to Orion Life GmbH’s protein-design methodology, but it does not advertise another awarding institution, a joint degree or company employment. Project PDF · Physics PhD programme
For research strength, Exeter’s REF 2021 results report that Physics Unit of Assessment 9 had 48% of submitted research activity rated 4-star and 45% rated 3-star; Biological Sciences Unit 5 had 41% 4-star and 49% 3-star. At institution level, Exeter reports an overall REF GPA of 3.35 and national rank 21. These results show relevant activity across two fields, but are from 2021 and do not evaluate this group, project or student experience. The Physics programme page also cites 7th in the Guardian University Guide 2027 for Physics and Astronomy; this is a subject league-table signal with a different scope from REF research assessment. REF 2021 results · Physics programme and ranking citation
The LSI is an interdisciplinary institute at Exeter’s Streatham campus, bringing together physicists, mathematicians, bioengineers, biologists and biomedical scientists. Its themes—Mathematics of Life, Physics of Life and Engineering Life—fit the project’s effort to connect molecular physics with protein and biological function. The institute describes a community of about 200 PhD students, postdoctoral researchers and principal investigators. University-wide Physics PGR information describes induction, seminars and a second supervisor or mentor, but the project’s exact training calendar and supervision structure are not specified. LSI overview · LSI research themes · Physics PGR environment
The LSI lists cryo-electron microscopy, imaging analysis, microfluidics, tissue culture, live-cell microscopy and other biological facilities. A multi-GPU cluster is described for cryoEM data analysis, so it is not evidence of compute allocated to this project. The advertised work is computational; ask specifically about CPU/GPU/HPC resources, storage, software support and any actual experimental partner facilities. A full-time PhD has a university maximum registration period of four years, while this award provides funding for up to 3.5 years. The award page advises students to plan around the funding end date; confirm the funded submission timetable. LSI facilities · Research degree duration rules
Supervisor and Lab Assessment
Research Directions and Collaboration
The lead supervisor, Professor Daniel Kattnig, is listed by Exeter as Senior Lecturer and research lead in theory of magnetosensitivity, including chemical reaction yields under weak magnetic fields and radical systems. His group describes work spanning theoretical modelling, computational simulation and experimental assessment of magnetic-field effects and quantum spin in biological reactions, including radical-pair mechanisms and cryptochrome magnetoreception. This is the closest match to the proposed spin-dynamics framework.
Dr Jonathan Phillips, an additional Exeter supervisor, describes research on molecular motion, biological function and directing molecular dynamics toward medicine and biosensing. Alex Jones, Principal Scientist in Biometrology at NPL and the laboratory’s strategy lead for quantum technologies in life sciences and health, works on biomolecular responses to light and magnetic fields and on measurement methods such as spectroscopy, nonlinear imaging and optogenetics. These profiles provide a credible interface between quantum-spin theory, molecular dynamics and measurement science. However, the project description does not specify who will supervise protein design, how responsibilities are divided, expected NPL visits, access to facilities, or Orion Life GmbH’s IP/data role. Kattnig Group · Exeter magnetosensitivity group · Jonathan Phillips profile · Alex Jones at NPL
Resources and Technical Environment
The LSI brings a cross-disciplinary community and biological research infrastructure; NPL adds expertise in metrology relevant to nanoscale intracellular sensing. These resources could help connect computational predictions to experiments, although the project does not promise a laboratory placement. The LSI GPU cluster is described for image analysis, so it should not be treated as available quantum/protein-design compute. Ask whether dedicated GPU/HPC time, storage, molecular-modelling licenses and relevant data sets are available. LSI facilities · NPL profile
Field Outlook and Career Relevance
The field is moving from theoretical and natural radical-pair models toward engineered fluorescent proteins that detect magnetic fields and radiofrequency resonance. The 2026 MagLOV study demonstrates living-cell sensing and practical readout modalities. The next technical question is whether molecular design can couple spin-selective reactions to a controlled biological output. This project addresses that frontier, but active actuation is more ambitious than sensing and requires a stringent validation path.
Protein design tools support exploration but do not remove biological uncertainty. ProteinMPNN presents a deep-learning approach to designing sequences compatible with a supplied backbone; its paper includes experimental validation, underscoring that predicted compatibility is not equivalent to a functional protein. Candidates here would also need appropriate cofactor interactions, spin kinetics and perhaps an allosteric pathway. The pipeline should distinguish model confidence from experimentally established function. ProteinMPNN paper · ColabDesign repository · MagLOV study
UK policy supports long-term quantum research and commercialization: the National Quantum Strategy sets out £2.5 billion public funding over 2024–2034 and records more than 470 quantum-relevant doctoral researchers funded since 2014. The UK Quantum Skills Taskforce describes the sector as nascent but growing; its cited 2022/23 estimate is around 1,700 UK quantum-sector employees with an approximate £50,000 average salary, while warning that the workforce is difficult to quantify and much recent vacancy growth is driven by quantum computing. A 2026 government jobs plan cites around 1,680 quantum-SME employees for the same period under a defined scope. These are sector indicators, not forecasts for biological quantum sensing or salary expectations for this doctorate. Plausible pathways include quantum-sensing R&D, biometrology, academic research, computational protein engineering, biosensing and instrumentation teams. These are adjacent skill routes, not guaranteed jobs. UK Quantum Skills Taskforce · National Quantum Strategy · Digital and Technologies Jobs Plan
Funding, Application, and Living Cost
Funding and Eligibility
For successful eligible candidates, the official award lists an index-linked stipend for up to 3.5 years full-time, currently £21,805 per year at the 2026/27 rate, Home tuition and a £5,000 Research Training Support Grant over 3.5 years. The university says it covers the Home/international tuition difference for successful international candidates. Scheme guidance says international places are limited to up to 30% of the cohort; visa costs, healthcare surcharge and moving costs are the student’s responsibility. The RTSG is research support, not personal living income.
There is a date-label inconsistency: detailed award terms identify £21,805 as the current 2026/27 rate, but the award summary labels the same figure as the 2027/28 rate. Since the studentship starts in September 2027 and the stipend is index-linked, obtain written confirmation of the 2027/28 amount, payment period and individual award terms. Also clarify how 3.5 funded years relate to the university’s four-year full-time PhD maximum. Award details · EPSRC DLA international eligibility · Research fees · Degree duration
Deadline and Application Materials
The competition page gives a strict deadline of 12:00 noon on Tuesday, 8 December 2026. The project-specific application link is inside the official project PDF. Applicants may apply to a maximum of three EPSRC DLA projects, with a separate application for each and a preferred project identified in the personal statement. The award page requests a personal statement on academic interests, prior research and motivation; a CV; transcripts; two references; and English-proficiency evidence for applicants who are not nationals of majority-English-speaking countries. Documents must be in English, and certified translated copies of academic qualifications are required. The project-specific award page requires references by 8 January 2027, while the central EPSRC DLA page gives 15 February 2027. The central page overview expects interviews on 15–24 February 2027, but its application section still lists 2026 interview and outcome dates. Confirm the timetable in writing and use the earlier reference date meanwhile; incomplete applications will not reach shortlisting. The cohort is for September 2027 entry. Competition deadline/project limit · Project award application instructions · Central EPSRC DLA timeline and eligibility · Project application route
The project PDF sets a minimum relevant UK 2:1 honours degree. Wider EPSRC DLA guidance says a lower second may be considered with a master’s degree or significant relevant non-academic experience, but the project PDF gives the more specific threshold. Applicants relying on the broader exception should seek written confirmation before applying. DLA eligibility also includes residency criteria; fee-status assessment can be complex for applicants who recently moved to/from the UK or Ireland or hold EU Settlement Scheme status. Project-specific degree requirement · EPSRC DLA eligibility
Exeter Cost Context
The university estimates that a single student in Exeter or Cornwall needs approximately £1,300–£2,000 per month for basic living costs, based on local spending in April 2026. Dividing the currently quoted £21,805 annual stipend by 12 gives approximately £1,817 per month. This sits within the range: about £517 above the lower estimate but about £183 below the upper one, before arrival costs, travel, visa charges or personal variation. This comparison does not guarantee adequacy, and local costs and the 2027/28 stipend may change. Exeter living-cost estimate · Award stipend
Applicant Fit and Preparation
Official Requirements
- A minimum UK 2:1 honours degree in a relevant subject or equivalent; check the potential programme’s entry rules.
- EPSRC DLA residency and academic eligibility; international awards are limited and subject to a 30% cohort cap.
- Application by noon 8 December 2026 through the link in the project PDF; personal statement, CV, transcripts, two references and English evidence where required.
- Documents in English and certified translations of academic qualifications; references due by 8 January 2027.
Experience That Would Support the Application
Public materials do not list a required programming language, publication prerequisite or laboratory technique as an admission requirement. The named methods imply useful preparation in quantum mechanics/open-system modelling, scientific programming, Bayesian statistics, protein structure or sequence design, molecular dynamics, DFT and computational chemistry. These are suggested preparation based on the research plan, not extra published criteria.
A concise application should show how previous study or research supports at least one of the four aims and how the applicant would learn across the other side of the physics–protein-design interface. A computational researcher uninterested in biological chemistry, or an experimental bioscientist seeking a predominantly wet-lab doctorate, may find the centre of gravity less aligned. The project is computationally led; wet-lab validation is possible but not promised. For a technical discussion, prepare concrete questions about model-to-structure mapping, candidate benchmarks, uncertainty handling and how progress will be evaluated without experimental response.
Next Actions and Questions to Verify
Before Applying
- Confirm that degree subject and international qualification meet the project-specific 2:1 requirement; do not assume the broader lower-second exception applies.
- Check residency and fee-status rules early, especially after a recent move to/from the UK or Ireland. Ask whether the award is open to the applicant’s fee status and how the 30% international limit affects selection.
- Contact Professor Daniel Kattnig to confirm the final registration programme, 2027/28 stipend, award length, application route and required documents.
- Obtain references early. Submit application materials by noon 8 December 2026 and ensure references arrive by 8 January 2027 while confirming the central page's 15 February date and 2026-stale interview/outcome text.
At Interview
- What quantitative objectives decide success for spin response, radical-pair generation/lifetime, structural stability and allosteric function? How will Bayesian uncertainty inform candidate selection?
- Which MagLOV sequences, structures and experimental data are available, and what benchmarks will test the pipeline?
- Which GPU/HPC resources, storage, software licences and technical support are available for spin solvers, protein design, MD and DFT?
- Is experimental validation funded or planned? Which LSI/NPL assay and collaborator would perform it, and what is the fallback thesis scope if it does not proceed?
- Will the student select the downstream effector, or is a protein interaction/enzyme target already scoped? What evidence would count as transduction success?
- How will Kattnig, Phillips and Jones divide supervision? What are Orion Life GmbH’s role, data/IP and publication terms?
Before Accepting an Offer
Obtain the written studentship breakdown: 2027/28 stipend amount and indexation, start/end dates, 3.5-year funding period, tuition coverage at assessed fee status, RTSG terms and expected thesis-submission timeline. Confirm the registered degree title/department, annual review and training obligations, compute access and any experimental collaboration. Budget separately for visa, health surcharge, relocation and other uncovered costs.
Evidence and Sources
Official project, programme and school context
- Official project description
- EPSRC DLA award terms, 2027 entry (Ref 6022)
- EPSRC DLA competition and project limit
- EPSRC DLA academic and international eligibility
- Physics PhD programme
- Research degree duration
- Exeter REF 2021 results
- Living Systems Institute overview
- Living Systems Institute research themes
- Living Systems Institute facilities
- Postgraduate research fee schedule
- Exeter living-cost estimates
Supervisors and research papers
- Kattnig Group
- Theoretical Physics and magnetosensitivity theme
- Jonathan Phillips — Exeter profile
- Alex Jones — National Physical Laboratory
- Denton et al. (2024), quantum Zeno effect in cryptochrome radical pairs
- Chowdhury et al. (2024), radical-pair quantum control
- Smith et al. (2026), interradical motion and magnetosensing precision
- Abrahams et al. (2026), engineered-protein quantum-spin sensing
Methods, field and employment context
Sources
The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source
Explore related doctoral opportunities
Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.
University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom
Bell Burnell Graduate Scholarship | Edinburgh PhD Nomination Route
The opportunity information describes 3.5 years of UKRI-rate stipend, full tuition contribution and research support for successful nominees. IoP makes the final decision and describes individually agreed awards, normally covering fees and living support for up to four years. Edinburgh also considers nominees for separate University-funded awards. The final funder, amount, duration, fee contribution (including international fee gap) and research grant are not guaranteed by internal nomination and must be confirmed.
2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: p-adic group representations and arithmetic
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, duration, tuition coverage and eligibility details are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: Categorification and the local Langlands correspondence
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, tuition coverage and duration are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of Birmingham · United Kingdom
PhD: How robotic metamaterial networks adapt after deployment
UK-home students only; tuition plus a UKRI-rate stipend currently £21,805/year for 42 months. International applicants need an alternative viable funding plan.
2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Imperial College London · United Kingdom
PhD: How ultraviolet exposure affects carbon-fibre composite performance
Full tuition and £23,805 annual tax-free stipend for 3.5 years; Home, EU and international applicants are eligible.
2027-01-04 (confirm the exact time with the source)