EASTBIO PhD: Antibody Research for Fusarium Diagnosis and Protective Potential
Project 2168 · University of Aberdeen · School of Medicine, Medical Sciences & Nutrition
Application workspace
Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Application deadline
- 2026-11-16 (confirm the exact time with the source)
- Funding
- 4-year BBSRC EASTBIO competition; international applicants eligible (annual intake cap 30%). Awarded international students get overseas fee top-up waiver. 2027/28 tax-free stipend est. £22,437/year; training/travel funds restricted. Visa/IHS excluded.
The research opportunity
EASTBIO PhD: Antibody Research for Fusarium Diagnosis and Protective Potential
Research question and doctoral work
This four-year Aberdeen PhD asks whether antibody recognition can support better diagnosis of Fusarium infections, including fungal keratitis and invasive fusariosis, and what evidence would be needed to assess protective potential. Diagnosis and protection are separate research aims; neither an observed recognition signal nor the project description establishes clinical efficacy or an available product.
The student would examine recognition evidence for clinically important Fusarium species, assess the relevance of Professor Carol Munro’s existing pan-fungal antibody panel, and investigate diagnostic potential in clinical samples alongside model-based protective evidence. The exact thesis scope, sample permissions, ethics approvals, cross-university supervision and available resources remain to be agreed. Training spans medical mycology, immunology, proteomics, data analysis and scientific communication; listed advanced techniques are training aims, not blanket prerequisites.
Host, training and eligibility
The host and registration institution is the University of Aberdeen’s School of Medicine, Medical Sciences & Nutrition. Carol Munro is the Aberdeen lead supervisor; Reader Beth Mills at the University of Edinburgh is co-supervisor. Cross-university supervision does not establish a joint degree or unrestricted residence at both institutions. EastBio concentrates core training in years 1–2 and research in years 3–4; a 12-week non-academic PIPS placement is normally completed before the end of year 3. Confirm the registration programme, CASE status and individual placement arrangements.
Applicants need a relevant UK 2:1 honours degree or international equivalent. A 2:2 may be considered with a completed or expected master’s Distinction or Commendation, and all applicants must meet UKRI doctoral-funding eligibility. Only one EastBio project may be chosen across the partnership; contact the lead supervisor before applying. Part-time study is Home/UK only. Applicants needing a Student visa must study full time and live within the host school’s commuting range. Aberdeen must confirm the English-language band for the final registration.
Application and funding
The saved project instructions set 16 November 2026 at 23:59 GMT as the deadline for the application and both references. Send one complete email to smmsn-pgrenquiries@abdn.ac.uk with the subject “EASTBIO Application – [Your Name]”. Include the official form, academic certificates/transcripts and two official-template references; one reference may be non-academic, and referees must be outside the proposed supervisory team. Complete the anonymous EDI survey and add its response ID; provide original academic documents with official English translations when needed. Referees may send their forms directly to the same mailbox. Applicants are responsible for both references arriving on time. No research proposal or unrequested documents are needed, and incomplete applications will not be followed up. Official application instructions
This is a competitive four-year BBSRC EASTBIO award open to UK and international applicants; international recruitment is capped at 30% of the annual cohort. Successful international awardees receive the overseas-fee top-up waiver, but an award is not guaranteed. The tax-free 2027/28 stipend is estimated at £22,437 a year. Restricted research/training support is £5,000 per year in years 1–3 and £1,500 in year 4, plus £230 a year for travel/conferences; these are not living income. Visa and health-surcharge costs are excluded. Confirm final amounts and payment terms in the individual award letter.
Research enquiries: Professor Carol Munro (lead supervisor) or Reader Beth Mills (co-supervisor). Application and reference-submission enquiries: SMMSN Postgraduate Research Enquiries, smmsn-pgrenquiries@abdn.ac.uk. Current portal status has not been checked; confirm the applicable instructions before submission.
Research and application brief
Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.
Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.
Show report contents
EASTBIO PhD: Antibody Research for Fusarium Diagnosis and Protective Potential
Can antibody recognition help distinguish clinically relevant Fusarium infections, and what additional evidence would be needed for diagnostic or protective use? This four-year competitive Aberdeen PhD links medical mycology, Munro’s recognition research and Mills’s clinical-translation perspective. Diagnostic discrimination and exploratory protection are separate research questions, not established clinical products.
The saved project advert gives 16 November 2026, 23:59 GMT for both the application and references. Contact the lead before applying, and do not assume another institution’s later-reference allowance. Winning an EASTBIO award and agreeing a feasible scope across the two institutions remain essential. Current EastBio cycle Official application framework
What the doctorate would investigate
The supplied project targets Fusarium-associated fungal keratitis and invasive fusariosis. At a research-question level, the student would assess whether antibody recognition can provide useful diagnostic discrimination, whether existing pan-fungal antibody resources are relevant to this disease setting, and whether any related protective-biologic potential warrants further investigation. Work spans mycology, immunology, proteomics and antibody technology, with research design, bioinformatics, data analysis, writing and presentation training. The advertised research categories cover surface-recognition evidence, the applicability of Munro’s existing antibody panel, candidate-antibody characterisation and clinical-sample detection. A separate exploratory direction concerns model-based evidence of immune protection. These categories do not establish clinical efficacy or a validated clinical product.
Three potential thesis contributions are separable: reliable recognition evidence, a defensible assessment of diagnostic performance and limitations, and an appropriately bounded evaluation of translational plausibility. These are analytical possibilities, not promised work packages. A convincing signal can still be unsuitable for clinical use because specificity, real-world sample variation, access or deployment requirements differ. A negative result on cross-species applicability can be informative if its uncertainty is measured. Ask which outputs remain achievable if the protective direction is unpromising and which clinical permissions and existing resources are already secured. Clinical and health-system translation context Recognition-study limitations
University, field and doctoral training
The advertised host is University of Aberdeen, School of Medicine, Medical Sciences and Nutrition. Munro's institutional record places her in Microbiology and Immunity and the Institute of Medical Sciences. IMS brings a molecular/cell-biology research environment and listed shared research facilities; these listings do not grant automatic individual access. Beth Mills is a Reader at Edinburgh's School of Regeneration and Repair/Centre for Inflammation Research, providing a complementary supervisory connection. The evidence does not establish a joint degree or permission to split residence freely. Confirm the precise Aberdeen registration programme, progression expectations and cross-site supervision arrangement. Munro appointment Mills appointment Institute environment
The four-year funded framework adds EastBio core interdisciplinary training in years 1–2, with research emphasis in years 3–4, cohort events and professional development. Current course examples are not a guaranteed 2027 timetable. Standard 12-week non-academic PIPS before the end of year 3 develops broader career experience; CASE arrangements have separate guidance and this project's CASE status is unverified. Placement approval, host search and return-to-research planning consume time. Aberdeen additionally offers a Development Needs Audit, PORTAL and live training, information/digital-skills and careers support. These are relevant training structures beyond a subject label. EastBio training Placement responsibilities Aberdeen development
The saved material does not establish a comparable overall or medical-mycology rank, so no rank number is used. More specific evidence comes from the supervisors’ research, IMS context and structured partnership training; public completion rates and this project's alumni destinations remain unknown.
Supervisors and three recent original studies
Carol Munro is an Aberdeen professor/personal chair whose official record indicates doctoral supervision availability. Beth Mills combines keratitis research with health-system pathways and collaboration with Aravind in India. That collaboration supports a translation-oriented environment; it does not guarantee this student overseas travel, clinical recruitment or patient-data access. Meeting cadence, feedback expectations and responsibilities across the two supervisors need a direct discussion. Munro profile Mills group
The following are three independent, mentor-authored, peer-reviewed original journal studies from 2024–2026. The summaries use saved publication records and available abstracts/metadata rather than claiming full-paper review. Findings from Candida, clinical fungal keratitis and bacterial image analysis remain distinct and are not treated as evidence of Fusarium-antibody efficacy.
Recognition study
Giuseppe Buda De Cesare; Frank M. Sauer; Anna Kolecka; Aimilia A. Stavrou; Theo C. Verrips; Teun Boekhout; Edward Dolk; Carol A. Munro. The development of single-domain VHH nanobodies that target the Candida albicans cell surface. Microbiology Spectrum 12(11): e04269-23 (2024). DOI 10.1128/spectrum.04269-23. Online 2024-10-07; issue 2024-11-05. Munro is the eighth of eight authors, last and corresponding; the first two authors are marked equal contributors in indexed PubMed metadata. The publisher prints Frank M. Sauer, while the university portal expands Frank-Martin Sauer; these are preserved as source-specific spelling forms.
The study concerns Candida, not this vacancy’s Fusarium setting, and does not establish clinical efficacy. The bounded recognition contribution and unfulfilled discrimination goal are retained without operational details.
Clinical-context study
Leonie Fingerhut; Ramakrishnan Vigneshwar; Florence Burté; Manojkumar Vimala Devi; Rathinavel Sethu Nagarajan; Rajarathinam Karpagam; Venkatesh Prajna; Bethany Mills; Prajna Lalitha. Multidrug antifungal resistance and clinical outcomes in fungal keratitis: a prospective study in a South Indian population. Eye (2026). DOI 10.1038/s41433-026-04938-8. Online 2026-10-01; issue assignment unverified. Mills is the eighth of nine authors and co-corresponding with Prajna Lalitha according to the indexed publisher author-information section, rather than merely an unspecified coauthor.
This 153-patient South Indian prospective observational study supplies disease-context evidence; it is not a global prevalence estimate, an antibody intervention trial or causal proof. No assigned volume, issue or page range was verified; retain advance-online status.
Adjacent image-validation study
Mehmet Demirel; Beth Mills; Erin Gaughan; Kevin Dhaliwal; James R. Hopgood. EmiNet: Moving bacteria detection on optical endomicroscopy images trained on synthetic data. Computers in Biology and Medicine 196(Part B):110678 (2025). DOI 10.1016/j.compbiomed.2025.110678. Online 2025-07-23; issue 2025-09. Mills is the second of five authors, an ordinary coauthor; Mehmet Demirel is corresponding. Hopgood’s institutional Supervisor tag does not assign him to this vacancy.
The diagnostic-image study provides adjacent quantitative-validation evidence, not fungal-antibody or keratitis performance evidence. It is independent of the 2026 clinical cohort, not its duplicate.
Field outlook and career implications
WHO's 2022 fungal-priority overview identifies unmet diagnostic, research and public-health needs. Only the official overview, not its 48-page underlying report, was read in the saved appraisal. This supports research significance without supplying a product market forecast. The practical frontier is connecting recognition with robust disease-context evidence and a usable health-care pathway. The thesis could build transferable strengths in critical measurement, quantitative interpretation, scientific communication and collaborative research, even if no clinical product emerges. WHO overview
Possible subsequent directions include academic infection research, diagnostic development, bioanalytical evaluation and research roles in biotechnology. These are skill-based pathways, not professional clinical qualifications. ABPI's 2025 industry–academia survey release documents collaboration across research, manufacturing and IT; its 699 placements figure concerns undergraduates, not this PhD's placement or graduate employment rate. No project-specific salary, hiring or destination data were found. Industry–academia evidence
Funding, international eligibility and living costs
Chinese applicants can enter the international competition; the 30% cap applies to the annual international cohort, not a 30% personal success probability. The official FAQ body archived on 21 October expressly says successful international candidates receive an international tuition top-up waiver, in addition to Home-level tuition support. This resolves the generic fee-gap concern for an awarded candidate; it does not guarantee an award to every academically admissible applicant. Visa and immigration health surcharge remain excluded. Visa students must register full-time and live within commuting distance; the supplied project permits part-time study only for Home/UK students. Those conditions rely on the saved FAQ, rather than a new verification of the current call. International funding and residence rules
The supplied funding text estimates £22,437 tax-free annually for 2027/28, approximately £1,869.75/month if paid evenly. This is a project estimate, not an announced 2027/28 UKRI rate or offer. The saved official table confirms £21,805 stipend and £5,238 Home-fee level for 2026/27. Project research/training funds are £5,000/year in the first three years, £1,500 in year 4, plus £230/year travel/conference allowance; these are restricted activity budgets, not personal living income. Do not substitute another institution's fourth-year grant. Confirm payment timing, allowable expenses and any cross-site travel from the eventual award letter. Dated UKRI benchmark Award framework
ONS's 16 September 2026 release gives August 2026 Aberdeen and Shire broad-rental-market-area rents of £601/month for one-bedroom, £776 for two-bedrooms, and £845 across all sizes. Scotland's measure predominantly reflects advertised new lets. It is neither an Aberdeen-city student-room quotation nor a 2027 offer; utilities, deposits and availability are not established by these figures. ONS rental scope
Build a personal budget from an actual twelve-month housing offer, utilities, food, transport, insurance, visa/IHS and initial relocation. Neither the estimated stipend nor the regional rental average warrants a savings promise. Actual 2027 student housing and a complete personal budget remain unresolved.
Requirements, preferences and preparation
The supplied project specifies a relevant UK 2:1 honours degree or international equivalent. A 2:2 may be considered with a completed or expected Master's Distinction or Commendation. EastBio does not universally require a Master's; the host determines equivalence and English requirements, whose exact scores were not independently verified here.
The archived FAQ permits an application before the English test, but it may need to be completed before a formal offer; this is not permission to defer it until arrival. Relevant microbiology, immunology, molecular biology, biotechnology and biomedical-science backgrounds are advertised fit indicators. Advanced techniques are described as training provided, not a blanket prerequisite to have mastered every method. Suggested preparation is critical reading, statistics, reproducible analysis and explaining study limitations; these suggestions are not extra admission rules. Central eligibility/application Equivalence and English FAQ
Apply to one EastBio project only. On the supplied Aberdeen procedure, contact the lead first, then email one complete package to smmsn-pgrenquiries@abdn.ac.uk, subject EASTBIO Application – [Your Name]. Include the official application form, academic certificates/transcripts and two official-template references; one reference may be non-academic. Referees can send directly to the same address with EASTBIO Reference – [Your Name]. Both must arrive by 16 November 2026, 23:59 GMT; do not assume a reminder or extension. No research proposal or extra school certificates, conference papers or dissertation is requested; the seed expressly rejects incomplete packages or unnecessary extras. All candidates are to be notified.
Central instructions also require the anonymous EDI survey response ID on the form, official English translations where needed, and referees outside the proposed supervisory team. Mandatory central forms Document and referee rules
Actions at application, interview and offer
Before 16 November: contact the lead supervisor, confirm qualification equivalence and the English route, obtain the current templates, and verify the host submission route and receipt of both references. The saved host-level instructions provide the deadline, local email and funding estimate; check the currently applicable form and submission status before sending materials. Official host-application framework
At interview: discuss diagnostic versus protective endpoints, negative-result contingencies, clinical/sample permissions, the division of supervision and funded cross-site time. EastBio centrally lists invitations 22 February 2027, interviews week beginning 8 March, decisions week beginning 22 March and normal 1 October entry; confirm this project's formal start. Panels evaluate previous research, interdisciplinary motivation and commitment to compulsory training and placement. Selection and timing
Before accepting: obtain written four-year tuition/waiver and stipend terms, confirm the actual 2027/28 rate, restricted budget management, registration/completion and extension rules, and international upfront costs. Ask about feedback frequency, placement support and access already approved. These concrete conditions determine the opportunity's practical value; uncertainty about an exploratory result is part of the research rather than grounds for assuming either success or low value.
Evidence and Sources
This report uses the saved project notice, EastBio and university materials, and publication records. Policy, cost and scientific statements retain the scope of their cited sources. Paper summaries identify their evidence boundaries and do not establish clinical efficacy. Current application status and individual funding have not been verified.
Institution, supervision and doctoral work
- EastBio 2027 recruitment
- Carol Munro institutional profile
- Beth Mills institutional profile
- Mills group: translational diagnostic context
- Aberdeen postgraduate development
- Aberdeen Institute of Medical Sciences
Three primary papers and field/career context
- Buda de Cesare et al. 2024 original antibody-recognition study
- Fingerhut et al. 2026 prospective keratitis clinical study
- Demirel et al. 2025 EmiNet original diagnostic-image study
- WHO 2022 fungal research priorities overview
- ABPI 2025 industry-academia career context
Applications, funding, training and cost
Sources
The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source
Explore related doctoral opportunities
Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.
University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom
Bell Burnell Graduate Scholarship | Edinburgh PhD Nomination Route
The opportunity information describes 3.5 years of UKRI-rate stipend, full tuition contribution and research support for successful nominees. IoP makes the final decision and describes individually agreed awards, normally covering fees and living support for up to four years. Edinburgh also considers nominees for separate University-funded awards. The final funder, amount, duration, fee contribution (including international fee gap) and research grant are not guaranteed by internal nomination and must be confirmed.
2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: p-adic group representations and arithmetic
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, duration, tuition coverage and eligibility details are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: Categorification and the local Langlands correspondence
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, tuition coverage and duration are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of Birmingham · United Kingdom
PhD: How robotic metamaterial networks adapt after deployment
UK-home students only; tuition plus a UKRI-rate stipend currently £21,805/year for 42 months. International applicants need an alternative viable funding plan.
2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Imperial College London · United Kingdom
PhD: How ultraviolet exposure affects carbon-fibre composite performance
Full tuition and £23,805 annual tax-free stipend for 3.5 years; Home, EU and international applicants are eligible.
2027-01-04 (confirm the exact time with the source)