University of Essex PhD: Cache-Enabled Semantic Immersive Video Delivery
Project 1521 · University of Essex · School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering
Application workspace
Save this opportunity and prepare around its actual requirements. Confirm deadlines and eligibility at the original source.
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Application deadline
- 2026-11-08 (confirm the exact time with the source)
- Funding
- Three-year full-time studentship; Home or Overseas tuition and UKRI-rate stipend. £21,805 listed for 2026–27; Proficio bursary supports training, conferences and travel. Later rates, extensions and research costs are unspecified. Stipend, not salary.
The research opportunity
University of Essex PhD: Cache-Enabled Semantic Immersive Video Delivery
Research question
The University of Essex School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering, in partnership with NexCache Ltd, is investigating how content semantics could improve the caching and network delivery of immersive video. The saved project information names semantics, caching and immersive video as the research area but does not specify a semantic representation, dataset, cache mechanism, algorithm or test environment; those details remain open.
Doctoral work and training
The student would join the 6G Lab and Network Convergence Laboratory and work in an academic and industry research setting. The project page names Professor Nikolaos Thomos, Dr Eirina Bourtsoulatze and the NexCache team as supervisors. The saved material does not define day-to-day supervision, access to company data or platforms, an internship, or intellectual-property terms. It also does not establish whether the work is primarily theoretical, algorithmic or systems-oriented.
Application and funding
Applicants should have a UK MSc with Distinction or high 2:1, or an overseas equivalent, in Electronic Engineering, Computer Science or a relevant field. The project also asks for networking and machine-learning experience, a good understanding of signal processing, and the ability to work independently. The UK MSc grade wording is unusual; Essex must assess an individual degree and overseas equivalence. Apply through the University portal for a PhD in Computer Science or Electronic Engineering, name both supervisors and use the advertised project title. When the portal asks for a research proposal, the stated requirement is one A4 page covering motivation, relevant skills, goals if appointed and long-term career plans. Informal enquiries may be sent to Professor Nikolaos Thomos at nthomos@essex.ac.uk.
The project information describes a three-year, full-time studentship covering Home or Overseas tuition fees and a UKRI-rate stipend. It lists £21,805 for 2026–27 and a Proficio training bursary for advanced skills training, conferences and travel. Later stipend rates, extension support and research costs are not specified. The £21,805 is a student stipend, not a confirmed employment salary.
The saved official project page gives 1 November 2026 as the deadline, while another project record gives 8 November; the material does not establish that the later date is an extension. As of 8 November 2026, the earlier date has passed and the later date is today. The closing time, time zone and whether the portal is still accepting applications are unverified, so the material does not establish that the project remains open. The listed start date is January 2027. Confirm the operative deadline and current application status with the University.
Research and application brief
Report generated: . This date does not confirm that recruitment remains open.
Information updated: . Recheck the original notice before applying.
Show report contents
University of Essex PhD: Cache-Enabled Semantic Immersive Video Delivery
This doctorate concerns the relationship between content semantics, caching decisions and network delivery of immersive video. The research question is more specific than applying machine learning to video: the work would need to explain how content information interacts with communication constraints. The saved overview does not set out a semantic representation, data or testbed, so these remain questions for the supervisors rather than defined work packages.
A strong research fit, but the application status is unverified. The project information describes a three-year full-time studentship in Colchester, a January 2027 start, Home or Overseas tuition coverage and a UKRI-rate stipend. It lists 1 November 2026 as the deadline, while another project record gives 8 November; no evidence supports treating the later date as an extension. As of 8 November 2026, the earlier date has passed and the later date is today. The closing time, time zone and current portal status are unverified, so the saved material does not establish that applications remain open. Confirm the operative date and application status with the University. Source: official Essex project page.
University and programme signal
The project sits in Essex’s School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering, with links to the 6G Lab and Network Convergence Laboratory. The CSEE research-degree page lists this studentship and describes research groups and postgraduate support. The available institutional information does not establish a dated, like-for-like university or subject ranking. The stronger basis for judging this opportunity is its communications/networking researchers, named 6G environment, funded degree route and fit to the proposed work. Sources: CSEE research degrees, Communications and Networks group, 6G Workshop.
Supervisor and lab assessment
Nikolaos Thomos is a strong lead-supervisor fit. His Essex profile and repository record show work in multimedia transmission, 360-degree video, caching, semantic communications and networking. Eirina Bourtsoulatze is also directly aligned: her official profile lists deep joint source-channel coding, deep video precoding, tile-based 360 video caching and network-coding-enabled video delivery. This is a clear match to cache-enabled immersive/semantic video delivery rather than a generic AI PhD. Sources: Nikolaos Thomos profile, Eirina Bourtsoulatze profile.
NexCache is named as industry partner on the official page. That increases applied value but also creates verification questions: what data, cache platform, IP terms, meeting cadence, placement or deliverable expectations will the company provide? The report treats NexCache as an official project partner, not as a guaranteed job pathway.
Recent publications and research quality
The project has a clear publication lineage. The 2020 IEEE Transactions on Multimedia paper by Maniotis, Bourtsoulatze and Thomos on tile-based joint caching and delivery of 360-degree videos is directly relevant to the immersive-video caching base. A 2021 IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology paper on tile-based edge caching for 360 live video streaming extends the live-video angle. Essex repository records also show a 2026 viewport-aware edge-caching paper for 360 video streaming using compact-state actor-critic methods, giving a recent RL/edge-caching link. Sources: TMM 2020, TCSVT 2021, Essex Thomos repository.
Bourtsoulatze’s 2026 task-oriented JSCC listing and 2020 deep video precoding paper support the machine-learning and semantic/source-channel side. Field literature on semantic communications and immersive communications in 6G reinforces that the topic is timely, but those survey papers should be used as field context rather than evidence of supervisor output. Sources: Bourtsoulatze profile, Deep Video Precoding, semantic communications survey, immersive communications in 6G.
The publication list establishes a relevant research lineage, not a validated result for this new doctorate. The 2020/2021 caching studies and later viewport-aware listing support the immersive-delivery background; the JSCC/precoding work supports a complementary learning and communication perspective. A paper title or repository entry alone does not establish its comparative gains, dataset transfer or a complete-paper appraisal. The available publication descriptions do not establish a uniform level of detail for every paper; titles and repository entries alone do not establish comparative gains, data transfer or the methods selected for this doctorate.
Research direction and field outlook
The project is well positioned: immersive video places heavy load on networks, and semantic delivery asks whether caching should be guided by what content means or what the receiver/task needs, rather than only by popularity or bitrate. A plausible technical chain includes 360/immersive video representation, viewport prediction, semantic features, cache placement, wireless/edge constraints, machine learning and signal-processing evaluation. This is an interpretation of the title and research lineage, not an advertised requirement to implement every component. Cache selection concerns what is stored and delivered; semantic representation concerns what content or task information informs that choice. A future evaluation must explain what improves under which network constraints, rather than equating the use of a semantic model with a demonstrated delivery gain.
The main uncertainty is that the official overview is concise. It does not specify datasets, simulator, testbed, exact semantic representation, NexCache platform access, or whether the PhD is more theoretical, algorithmic or systems-oriented. Applicants should prepare a one-page A4 statement that matches the official instruction: motivation, relevant skills, goals if appointed and long-term career aspirations, not a long speculative research plan.
Funding, living cost and application route
The project information states that the studentship covers Home or Overseas tuition fees and a UKRI-recommended stipend. It lists £21,805 for 2026-27, plus a Proficio training bursary for advanced skills training, conferences and travel. Duration is 3 years full time. The student should still ask whether the stipend changes after 2026-27, whether any extension is possible, and whether NexCache-related travel/data costs are funded. Sources: official project page, Essex research degree fees.
The application route is also explicit: apply online, select PhD Computer Science or PhD Electronic Engineering, use the studentship title as proposed topic, and state Thomos and Bourtsoulatze as supervisors. The project information gives 1 November 2026, while another project record lists 8 November; no extension is established. As of 8 November, the first date has passed and the second is today. Ask Essex which date applies, what closing time and time zone govern, and whether the portal is currently accepting applications. Source: official project page.
Chinese/international eligibility and fit
The stated overseas-fee coverage supports international applications, including consideration of Chinese applicants. Academic admission, English proof and the individual award decision remain separate; fee coverage alone does not approve a candidate. The project’s academic requirement is specific and high: Distinction or high 2:1 MSc from a UK university, or overseas equivalent, in Electronic Engineering, Computer Science or a relevant field. The vacancy also seeks a highly motivated and enthusiastic applicant who can think and work independently. A Chinese applicant should not rely on a generic bachelor's equivalence; they should verify whether their master’s grading, institution and transcript satisfy Essex’s interpretation. English requirements follow the chosen PhD course. Sources: Essex PhD Computer Science, Essex China country information.
Best-fit applicants will show networking, machine learning and signal-processing depth together. Strong evidence might include video coding/streaming, 360/VR/immersive media, edge caching, reinforcement learning, semantic communications, JSCC, PyTorch, network simulation, information theory or real network traces. A generic computer-vision or generic ML background is weaker unless it connects to communications constraints.
Career and risk assessment
The skill combination is relevant to 6G/edge computing, video delivery, XR/immersive media, network optimisation and applied ML roles; it does not establish vacancy numbers, salary or placement probability. UK wireless and digital strategy evidence supports field relevance, and the industry partnership adds applied exposure. The practical risks are project definition, industrial IP, data availability and the short 3-year duration. A student should seek a scoped first-year plan and publication strategy early. Sources: UK Wireless Infrastructure Strategy, Essex CSEE research degrees.
Verification questions
-
Ask Essex which of 1 November 2026 and 8 November applies, what closing time and time zone govern, and whether the portal is currently accepting applications.
-
Ask whether the £21,805 stipend is fixed for all three years or uprated after 2026-27.
-
Confirm whether the overseas fee waiver covers all three funded years and what happens if completion takes longer.
-
Ask what NexCache will provide: data, platform, supervision time, placement, IP terms and publication review.
-
Ask which datasets/simulators/testbeds will be used and what semantic representation is expected.
-
Confirm how Essex interprets “Distinction or high 2:1 MSc” for Chinese master’s transcripts.
Evidence and sources
The project information gives a deadline of 1 November 2026, while another record lists 8 November; the later date is not evidence of an extension. As of 8 November, the earlier date has passed and the later date is today, but the closing time, time zone and current portal status are not established in the saved material. The publications below illustrate relevant research directions, but they do not validate the advertised project or establish that each cited paper was assessed to the same depth. The semantic-communications papers are field context, not supervisor outputs.
Key sources include the official Essex project page, CSEE research degrees page, Nikolaos Thomos profile, Eirina Bourtsoulatze profile, Communications and Networks group, TMM 2020 360 video caching paper, TCSVT 2021 edge caching paper, semantic communications survey, Essex research-degree fees and Essex China country information.
Sources
The listing may come from a university or recruitment platform. Check the notice and official sources in the report for current application requirements. View the recruitment source
Explore related doctoral opportunities
Explore opportunities with related research or the same country, prioritising similar funding where relevant. Recheck each notice before applying.
University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom
Bell Burnell Graduate Scholarship | Edinburgh PhD Nomination Route
The opportunity information describes 3.5 years of UKRI-rate stipend, full tuition contribution and research support for successful nominees. IoP makes the final decision and describes individually agreed awards, normally covering fees and living support for up to four years. Edinburgh also considers nominees for separate University-funded awards. The final funder, amount, duration, fee contribution (including international fee gap) and research grant are not guaranteed by internal nomination and must be confirmed.
2026-11-27 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: p-adic group representations and arithmetic
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, duration, tuition coverage and eligibility details are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of East Anglia · United Kingdom
Mathematics PhD: Categorification and the local Langlands correspondence
The listing indicates a UK-student scholarship, but the amount, stipend, tuition coverage and duration are not specified; confirm the terms.
2026-11-30 (confirm the exact time with the source)
University of Birmingham · United Kingdom
PhD: How robotic metamaterial networks adapt after deployment
UK-home students only; tuition plus a UKRI-rate stipend currently £21,805/year for 42 months. International applicants need an alternative viable funding plan.
2027-01-06 (confirm the exact time with the source)
Imperial College London · United Kingdom
PhD: How ultraviolet exposure affects carbon-fibre composite performance
Full tuition and £23,805 annual tax-free stipend for 3.5 years; Home, EU and international applicants are eligible.
2027-01-04 (confirm the exact time with the source)